We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for parties”

Icon Restaurant & Winebar
Ranked #51 of 189 Restaurants in Derry
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: European, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for parties”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I must say we had a great night in the icon last night. 50%Off all food and drink "great value". We had an excellent meal "from a group of 20 not one complaint" great service from the staff. I previously had a bad experience in this restaurant and was quick to write a negative review so i thought it was only right to come back and give praise as we had such a good night.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IconRestaurant14-16, Public Relations Manager at Icon Restaurant & Winebar, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Hi stephen
Thank you returning and also for writing a response. We are delighted you all had a great night and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Regards
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    70
    43
    36
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can only sAy it was NYE for worst meal ever”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Been a lot of times and always better than most but NYE food wad appalling. Steak only fit for dog, partners chicken must been sitting all day and reheated and another portion if the non garlic garlic potatoes cut to such sizes u wud be split if 1 were to hit you on the head. Is it really difficult to put garlic into garlic potatoes? Staff good as usual, food heavily overpriced to such levels that the discounts still make it dearer than most. Alcohol lot dearer than the stairs which the owner owns so discount is not actually genuine discount when drinks are marked up significantly. All in all the WORSE meal we have ever had.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yummimummy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IconRestaurant14-16, General Manager at Icon Restaurant & Winebar, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hello,
Let me start by saying we apologise you did not enjoy your meal. However we have a thorough method of recording food complaints, it appears at no point did you tell staff re your dislike of the food, as we would have immediately done our best to fix this for you.
With regard to our pricing, we have price matched our food and drink to every other restaurant offering these discounts and are not more expensive on any item.
Drink prices in a restaurant and winebar are generally higher than in a public bar, and this is not something unexpected.
Again we apologise you did not enjoy your experience, but we urge people to tell staff at the time o allow us to immediately rectify the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus uK
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Family Pre Christmas Dinner”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We were visiting the City for Christmas and my nephews and niece were staying with us overnight for a sleepover in the Premier Inn. We decided to eat out though as we have been to Icon before and had a good experience.

The place was packed but the staff coped really well and we had a great experience. Christmas colouring in competition for the kids which kept them busy while we waited for the food! Again love the fact they do Slushies for the kids (I'm sure it is used for alcoholic cocktails as well but non alcoholic fruit flavours a great novel ideal for the kids!)

The food was good - steak was tender and portion sizes were perfect. Would recommended here and will be back

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skinkaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IconRestaurant14-16, Manager at Icon Restaurant & Winebar, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hi there,
We would like to thank you for your lovely words, and also say thank you for your families continues support of our restaurant.
December was incredibly busy for us, breaking all records and we are delighted that we maintained our high standards
Look forward to seeing you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Good food, clean but a little pricy. Not bad but plenty of others are better. I remember a good meal but not memorable food.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lbm1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food and service just ok.”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Was in for the first time on saturday night for a meal with a few friends, food was ok but they seemed to have a problem with a dish washer witch nearly stank us out of the place then all the windows were opened it was like sitting in the north pole, if they had explained to us what happened it wouldnt a been so bad, but nobody came to offer an explanation to what had happened.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jake1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Icon Restaurant & Winebar also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Icon Restaurant & Winebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing