We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We stopped for lunch and wished we could have stayed for days!”
Review of Cafe del Mondo - CLOSED

Cafe del Mondo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$60
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Cafe Del Mondo is a very popular award winning bistro in the historic centre of Derry City. Situated in the beautiful Craft Village it offers a high quality service and ambience. It offers a multicultural Bistro menu until 6pm and then an incredible evening menu until 11pm. Cafe Del Mondo offers great value for wholesome home made food sourced locally and where possible using only organic and ethically locally sourced produce. Don't miss this gem shining brightly in the City of Culture for 2013.Share the joy and love the City
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We stopped for lunch and wished we could have stayed for days!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Cathy was very nice to us, discussing the fresh catch of the day. We were there for lunch but wished we could have stayed for dinner, Cathy having described her arrangement with the local fishermen who bring in their catch, fresh that afternoon, ready for a great chef to prep. The meal we _did_ have blew us away! Fantastic!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jwrobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    46
    17
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ballybofey, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Have the Fish and Chips.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Every time my sister and I go shopping in Derry we stop at the Cafe Del Mondo for the Fish and Chips. We have tried this dish in various other lovely restaurants in Northern Ireland, and although they were good, the comment always seems to be 'not as good as Cafe Del Mondo'.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenSteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just a brilliant place, full stop.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I've been to Cafe del Mondo probably 30 times at this point and the reason i keep going back is simple;

Great food, great people, great atmosphere, reasonable prices and good location.

Enough said.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank daveitf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food great service slow alcohol a little pricey”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Food and food prices were great and when we were served the staff were very friendly however it was slow and out food once we finally ordered took almost 1 hour to arrive. We were only their for lunch. We were offered and received a free round of drinks which helped. My group of friends found the food prices great but the drinks were overpriced.... I would like to see more staff and a better price list on alcohol. Apart from that though the atmosphere was great and we could sit as long as we liked at our table without feeling any pressure to leave after lunch which is a gem to find in a busy setting these days. A very cool wee cafe both inside and out!

Helpful?
1 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“they redeemed themselves”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Being in Derry for the jazz festival, and having had lunch here once before (last summer) it looked like a good choice for lunch. It was very busy and the staff were rushed off their feet, but none the less took time to smile and say hello. We ordered our lunch and waited, and waited, and watched other tables fill up, place orders and receive their food...during this time we had been asked what we were waiting for so were hopeful our lunch was on its way. When the table next to us were served their food,having ordered quite a while after us, we asked about ours. Eventually we were told there had been a mix up but we would be served asap. Then the owner came by and apologised, insisting there would be no charge for our lunch. Is have to say the food was well worth the wait! I was impressed by how we were dealt with, and will definitely return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe del Mondo also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing