We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The little extras make the difference”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Stayed here when attending a wedding. Everything was excellent. The little touches (rubber ducky in room) and local foods (guinnes bread and home made jam) really made it.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesnKristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,183 - 1,189 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

Was there at Easter on a 2 night special deal - hotel was great, very clean, good rooms and location. Staff were keen to help and were friendly - bar staff and trainee manager could not have been more helpful and welcoming as well as giving helpful info about places to go, things to do etc and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was incredible....something for every taste. The only thing that I wasn't happy about was in relation to the meal included in the special deal - the sides had to be bought extra and the reality is no one is going to eat a meal without potatoes so that was an extra cost for each person which should have been included. However, all in all I enjoyed my stay at the everglades and would go back with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeltobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Overall the trip was lovely however, during our meal we chose 3 separate wines but were informed after each choice it wasn't available. Christopher in restaurant was very helpful and Sheila at reception was equally as helpful. We were given local knowledge of where to go as tourists by several members of staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ctina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Stayed at the Everglades Hotel with a tour group of 40. Nice Hotel when you walk in and the staff was nice althought the rooms were not ready at 4pm in the afternoon?
Once we received our room it was warm and stuffy (like the everglades) - No AIR or ventilation in our room - had to prop open a window to get some air in there.
The hotel only seemed to be half full - but yet the next morning held surprises for those who wanted a Hot Shower. If you got up at 6am you had hot water. If you got up after 6:30 am you did not get hot water. It was ICE cold.
After the Cold Shower we went down to the dining room where only 1 poor girl had to work the whole dinning room with 40 from our tour group and about 8 other hotel guests. GROSSly understaffed and the 1 cook could not seem to keep up with the food needed during that half hour from 7am to 7:30.
Also on a side note - when i paid my bar tab after my cold shower - they asked if i wanted my card billed in U.S. dollars - as i thought this would save me being charged the 3% conversion fee by my credit card i agreed. Later i saw they charged me a 3.58% conversion fee - so i paid extra for my tab.
No on seemed to care about the lack of hot water - almost like it is an everyday occurance.

Room Tip: Not 4 Star - They cannot handle groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2011

Dear The Skell,

Thankyou for taking the time to leave your review, i would like to apologise sincerely for your poor experience. i assure you your comments will be investigated fully as they do not reflect our normal standards of service. we are constantly praised for the experience we provide in the hotel.

i hope one day to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel

kind regards

Stephen Redden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I recently stayed at the Everglades with my son and as usual everyone was very polite and helpful a hearty breakfast to start the day,the room is always spotless and the staff are very good tommy son I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Derry thanks again to all the staff at the Everglades, mr towers and son.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We ( 2 adults , 2 children 16 & 12 ) stayed four nights. All of a staff were very friendly ( a special mention to Sheila on reception & Finnian in the bar ).
The food , especially breakfast was very good.
The Everglades is a five minute drive from Derry city centre & 2 mins from the City Of Derry Golf course.
The location is ideal for touring Donegal & the Antrim coast.
We will definetely be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarryGourock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2011

Dear GarryGourock,

Thankyou for your review, i know that both Sheila & Finnian will be delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay,

we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Hotel


Kind regards

Stephen Redden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

My husband and I had an overnight stay at the Everglades Hotel and we really enjoyed the experience. Dinner was excellent, it was a really lovely meal and the service, attention and friendliness of the staff was second to none. Our room was comfortable, clean and well presented. The only negative comment we would make was breakfast was a little overcooked we had the full english breakfast, but there was plenty of other choices. We would certainly return

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMcC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,095 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.0 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
546 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
2.8 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £68 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing