We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Excellent Staff”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012

From the moment we arrived we were so well looked after. The staff at this hotel are fantastic and so friendly, especially Pat and Finian who looked after us in the bar & restaurant. The food in the restaurant was fantastic the meal we had on Saturday night was one of the best ever!
The bar and lounge area's were lovely and there was live music on Saturday evening. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with all that you could need.
I must finish by saying this is one of the best hotels I have ever been in and I will definately be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,166 - 1,172 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

Lovely hotel the foyer and bar areas are really nice and our room was nice too. We upgraded to an executive room which included sweets, water, slippers and dressing gowns. Loved the wee rubber duck in our bathroom. The staff in this hotel are excellent. Leanne dealt with our reservation over the phone and was so helpful. I also want to mention Finian who works in the bar, it was no bother for him to get us crisps and even sandwiches at 12 o clock that night, service with a smile. The only thing that let the hotel down for us was the fact that our room was located right next to rooms were most of a wedding party was staying. The noise went on till 5.30 am and then at 7.30 am children were knocking our door and people were ringing our room. Not really the fault of the hotel but we went home v tired the next day

Room Tip: Ask to be located somewhere quiet away from guests who are attending a wedding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciara05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My elderly parent (“EP”) and I stayed for a couple of nights at the Everglades in May. Both EP and I really liked the hotel and its amenities.

The Foyle River runs through Derry. The Everglades is located on the “Waterside” of the river. It’s about a 3 – 4 Euro taxi ride from the Everglades to the taxi rank beside the Guildhall on the other side of the river (“Bogside”) where many of the historical sights are located (e.g., walls, Tower Museum and so on). I was advised that we could walk from the hotel along the river and across the bridge to the Guildhall in about ½ hour. However, due to mobility issues, we were unable to walk that far.

Given its location between two busy roads, the interior of the hotel was remarkably quiet. I had no difficulty sleeping and spoke with one guest who was able to sleep with her window open. (I was unable to find the catch to open the window – look to end of each window behind the curtain.)

Our rooms were well-appointed and clean. Our beds were comfortable. The bathrooms even had washcloths (which we did not encounter in some of the other hotels on our trip). The public rooms at the hotel – both the sitting area in front of the fireplace and the bar - were very attractive.

Breakfast was ample, whether one chose from the continental bar or the “Irish breakfast” bar. We ate one lunch in the bar and one dinner in the dining room. In both cases, the meals were delicious and well-presented.

Two relatively small quibbles – there was only one elevator. It never proved to be a problem while we were there, although I could see that there might be delays if bus tour luggage was being carried down by hotel staff in the mornings. Also, the computer for guest use was in a very public area, with the screen clearly visible to persons coming in the hotel entrance. That could result in privacy concerns by guests.

However, on balance, both EP and I felt that the Everglades was a “keeper”.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchyfeet090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We liked this hotel which was our base for one night while on tour. It was very nice, with a large excellent bar. We had a very good dinner and breakfast buffet . Service and rooms are excellent and this quite convenient to Derry. Great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cands2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at The Everglades Hotel (one of the Hastings chain of hotels) in April, apparently a 4 star, but I’m not sure how this rating is awarded – while the staff are excellent, and the public areas are schmick and even a little plush, the rooms need some attention to raise the standard. While our room was an executive room, it was crowded with furniture, it didn’t have a bar fridge (although, that may be a UK thing?) and there were no privacy curtains – only the heavy drapes, which meant that the houses opposite the car park could see right into the room in unless the drapes were closed. The shower head only had one setting for pressure - which was full on, and sometimes actually painful. The room was always cleaned well, though.

Am also not impressed that all of the Hastings hotels don’t have free wifi – subscribing to BT Open Zone for internet access (at £6 an hour) is inconvenient, archaic and sometimes quite unreliable. Tedious, really. I thought it might be a UK thing, but apparently there are other hotels that offer the complimentary access. Actually, even your 3 star B&B offers free wifi! This really is something that they need to address.

The location out of the town (had to drive in) wasn't really a problem - it meant that we were away from the loud night noise, and parking was cheap when we did go in.

But the staff and public areas of the hotel were very good, so I can see how it has remained so high on the list of Derry hotels for so long.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bontaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Bontaks,

thankyou for your feedback, i am delighted to here the staff looked after you so well. the Hotel only recently recieved its annual award of 4 stars, from the tourist board and remains the standard required to achieve this. Free wifi & bar fridges are not requirements of a 4 star standard. i am disappointed to here the service was unreliable and i will investigate this with the providers.
all of our bedrooms are fitted with net curtains and standard curtains for your convenience. if you would please contact me direct i would like to make sure this is the case for the room you stayed in, and also revisit the layout of the room and see if it can be improved.

many thanks

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

Recently I have stayed at this hotel while visiting my chiropodist and pediatrist, and I have to commend the staff on their excellent manners with both a friendly and helpful approach. 

The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and catered to my every want. The decor of the whole place left nothing to be desired. Needless to say, nothing short of excellence. 

May I add, the restaurant staff, bar attendants and housekeeping were all in top notch. The girl who served us at dinner and again at breakfast- Mary, was the epitome of professionalism and friendly, and was without fault while continuously attending to my needs. To mention another helpful few by name, I had found Barbara and Finnian also to have excellent customer service and great confidence in the service they provided. 


I would most certainly recommend that anyone who was looking for a relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelBrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Michael,

it was a pleasure to welcome you and your colleagues to the city, i glad to hear the staff gave you such a positive experience during your stay. thankyou for your feedback. we look forward to welcoming you back in the future, hopefully during 2013 when we will be the UK's first city of culture

kind regards

Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very clean nice staff and the service was great as well. The food was excellent had a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stormmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,151 reviews
1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
779 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.2 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
3 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £82 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing