We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but a bit tired!”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The hotel is fine but needs a bit of a revamp. Suburban location on a busy road and far from town. Breakfast ok but not exceptional. The best thing is the fact that there is plenty of space for lounging about and a reasonably friendly staff.
It is a very relaxing place to be except for the noise of the road at night.

Room Tip: try to get rooms which are not near the busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 240fedora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,113 - 1,119 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

Couldn't have asked for anything better, it was truly a wonderful experience. The hotel was exquisite and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and polite,it's value for money and would have no problem recommending this wonderful hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Having just returned from The Everglades, where we held our wedding reception this weekend, I would just like to highly recommend this hotel to others. The staff were friendly and helpful and our wedding guests were so impressed. Everyone made us feel so welcome and couldn't do enough for us. Food was lovely and a £4 taxi journey into city centre made it accessible for all our guests. We are already looking forward to our complimentary first anniversary stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 515Mrandmrsm515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here 1 night on a bus tour of Ireland. On arriving the reception area and surrounds were full of wedding quests making it a bit difficult to go to the room. The room was a good size and really clean. Very heavy doona. The hotel is a little way from city. Food was good. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night last week.
The staff at this hotel were friendly. The rooms were very clean and with comfortable decoration.
But this hotel is situated at a busy road – Victoria Road. One side (i.e. half) of their rooms are aside this busy road, the other side is facing the car park and an internal small road (which is slightly quiet than the front side). Unfortunately I was assigned with a room facing the busy road. Due to the reason that the room temperature is rather hot but the room is without air-conditioning, and even couldn’t get a fan, thus I have no way but to open the windows for few inches to allow some fresh air comes in. But the traffic at the road was very busy, it was very noisy after I opened the window.
I tried to ask for change of room but was unsuccessful, as the front desk staff politely told me that no more room facing the internal small road is available. The heavy traffic noise was all through the whole night that couldn’t allow me even have a short sleep. It was a very uncomfortable night that I never had in other hotels before.
I will not recommend this hotel unless you are sure that you can get a room facing the internal small road.

Room Tip: Not to get a room facing Victoria Road which is a very busy road just aside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KY_Steve0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We were travelling in a Trafalgar tour and so can't comment about price. Not very impressed with this hotel. Our room was hot, the windows opened a few inches, but that didn't help as we were below ground level, with a good view of car park and could hear next doors conversation through the open window. A 6 inch fan was supplied to try and combat the stuffiness. Cold showers are the norm if you're not an early riser, we were unfortunate enough to stay for 2 nights. Not overly clean or comfortable. The tap fell off into the basin, not hot on maintenance obviously. Staff were pleasant enough. The breakfasts were just ok and dinner was good. Bar prices were pricey, normal for a hotel maybe.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are any. Busy road one side, car park and road the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zigzagMandurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We were here for a wedding at the weekend and all of the wedding party agreed that the customer service was outstanding. In particular the front of house managers James and Niall couldnt do enough for us and helped us plan a great surprise for the bride and groom, which involved a lot of technical support and security! They really made the night for us - so flexible and accomodating. All the staff were helpful and courteous, the food was delicious and the setting was palacial. I recommend this highly for anyone looking for a wedding venue!!

Room Tip: Room 101 is the best - its nearest the restaurant and bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,098 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.0 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
547 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £69 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing