We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be pretty good. Could try better though”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights as a weekend break to see derry and donegal area. The coastline of donegal is amazing and would recommend malin head very much. However the hotel was a little bit disapppointing. Good bits first. Front desk amd bar/lounge was very good. Comfy and relaxing with a good welcome that felt sincere. The breakfast was fantastic and was a real highlight of the stay with great locally sourced everything and wonderful tastes. The bad. Rooms (allegedly executive doubles) were a bit small and basically a standard with a dressing gown in it. Rooms were hot. Small window with no air con. So warm we had to sleep on top of duvet. Bathroom sink and bath had tide marks in (apart from that the bathroom was clean and the shower was great). Evening meal was ok, but nothing exciting.
Could have been so much more of an experience, but the little things let it down. And at this price point the little things are important.
Having said all that, the area is not festooned with amazing hotels, it is a poor area getting back on its feet after the troubles. And at no point did i feel i had to raise a complaint. Just feel that its just a rough diamond that needs a bit more polish.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowden7056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,107 - 1,113 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

We spent one Saturday night in the Everglades while on a city break in Derry.

The hotel is reasonably well-located for exploring the city and surrounding area, albeit you will need a car, as it is a couple of miles away from the city centre.

On arrival the reception staff were welcoming and friendly and our first impressions were that it is a nicely appointed hotel, with a pleasant bar area, although it is somewhat disappointing that a hotel billed as 4 star does not have a swimming pool, spa, or even a rudimentary gym.

The room was excellent, with my only slight complaint being that, lacking air conditioning, it was necessary to keep the window open and, as there are no net curtains installed, we did feel a bit over-looked by the houses across the road.

The service from the waiting staff at dinner was attentive and helpful, without being intrusive. The starters of duck and bruschetta were disappointing - both were overcooked and the duck was served in a very unusually shaped bowl that made eating it a bit of a chore. Happily, the chef more than redeemed himself with the two rib eye steaks, which were superb. Overall, the meal was very good and barring the starters, my only issue was with after being told that we couldn't have a table until 9pm due to the number of reservations, turning up at the appointed hour to find the dining room almost deserted.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMJM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend. Room spotless, with a huge bed that has to be one of the most comfortable I've ever stayed in! Breakfast good and bar area lovely. Staff very helpful and only about 15-20 min walk into town or £3.50 in a cab.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at Everglades Hotel for two nights during a coach tour through Ireland in August 2012. We found the hotel to be well-appointed, with a very nice bar/lounge area and excellent breakfast buffet. The dinner in their restaurant was just okay; service was generally quite slow for both breakfast and dinner. Otherwise, staff was very helpful and friendly, and the rooms were nice. The hotel was a short cab ride (5 pounds) into the city center and it was located in a nice residential neighborhood. I don't think there is a gym here. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Everglades Hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bosley02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I was here for a wedding, i must say the staff are very attentive and courteous. i have to mention Pat who was excellent and treated us great. I am not from Derry but would love to come and stay here for a weekend with my husband!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

we stayed at this hotel unfortunately there was a wedding on at the same time which in most hotels this would not be a problem ,this hotel seems to have a problem with people drinking there own off sales drinks out of the boot of parked cars and bedrooms within the hotel,we had to complain due to nosie outside our room to the desk who were very nice and sent for the manager who sorted the problem straight away, girls on desk very helpful , bar staff were very friendly nothing was to much trouble ,the room was very clean and a good size,breakfast was excellent.

down side no air con in room,or free wifi, no net curtain on bedroom window at front of hotel, as hotel is over looked by private houses you need to keep curtains closed

would stay again no question

Room Tip: asked for room at back hotel next to road better veiws , have a net curtain on windows and is not ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gordon8186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Everglades Hotel. The front desk, restaurant and cocktail lounge staff are all very helpful and attentive. The large, inviting cocktail lounge is furnished like a living room. Our room was large and very nicely furnished in contemporary style. The lovely front desk staff arranged a Derry taxi tour which provided us with a background of Irish history, the famous walls of Derry, a look at the Catholic and Protestant residential areas and the peace bridge spanning the river, offering a time of great hope in Derry.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mililanimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
550 reviews
2.5 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
2.8 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £70 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing