We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best conference service I have ever had!”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I run between 60-80 evening educational seminars all around the UK and I have to say the service at the event held at the Everglades Hotel has to be the best I have ever had. I am used to the hotel staff manning the food and drinks stations as we request but James' team were very organised, had everything out on time and actually engaged with my customers to ensure they had a relaxing night. James was very attentive, friendly and accommodating. His team were friendly and made sure guests had their drinks topped up regularly and food cleared for desserts to be served.

Thank you for the great service, it means my customers are happy and I can relax and focus on the job I am there to do.
I look forward to hold my next seminar there.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank Lynette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,102 - 1,108 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

This is my fourth time visiting the Everglades for lunch.I have on all the occasions chose from the bar menu as it is very good value for money.The service is very good extra little treats like tray bakes with ur coffee make it feel more special.Drinks from the bar panninis and chips coffee tea and deserts all came to just over 20 per head very good value.The food arrived very quick even though the hotel was busy we were asked continually if we needed anything more or if everything was ok.It all couldn't have been better.The food was of very high quality and the surroundings were perfect.I have not had the pleasure of staying in the hotel but it's first on my list for my next night away .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Myself and my husband stay for one night on the 9th Sept 2012. WE loved the hotel reception very friendly, Room clean warm and large, The bed was BEST bed we have ever slept in!!! AMAZING. We had evening meal in the hotel wish was lovely everything warm and tasted good serve a little slow but we were not in any rush. Breakfast also good choice of food.

Room Tip: Room number 205 is was lovely but was on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoAntrimGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Everglades for a week. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we registered. The room was spotless, the bed extremely large and comfortable
and the staff were extremely responsive to our requests. This is a well run hotel and everyone smiled continually. The food was excellent, particularly breakfast and we signed out with a
feeling that we had really enjoyed the experience Would definitely recommend this hotel to
anyone seeking an enjoyable holiday. Well done to everyone who made our stay so enjoyable and relaxing, you are a credit to your hotel.

Room Tip: The staff are so helpful and understanding when you explain your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobgeorge_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights as a weekend break to see derry and donegal area. The coastline of donegal is amazing and would recommend malin head very much. However the hotel was a little bit disapppointing. Good bits first. Front desk amd bar/lounge was very good. Comfy and relaxing with a good welcome that felt sincere. The breakfast was fantastic and was a real highlight of the stay with great locally sourced everything and wonderful tastes. The bad. Rooms (allegedly executive doubles) were a bit small and basically a standard with a dressing gown in it. Rooms were hot. Small window with no air con. So warm we had to sleep on top of duvet. Bathroom sink and bath had tide marks in (apart from that the bathroom was clean and the shower was great). Evening meal was ok, but nothing exciting.
Could have been so much more of an experience, but the little things let it down. And at this price point the little things are important.
Having said all that, the area is not festooned with amazing hotels, it is a poor area getting back on its feet after the troubles. And at no point did i feel i had to raise a complaint. Just feel that its just a rough diamond that needs a bit more polish.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowden7056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We spent one Saturday night in the Everglades while on a city break in Derry.

The hotel is reasonably well-located for exploring the city and surrounding area, albeit you will need a car, as it is a couple of miles away from the city centre.

On arrival the reception staff were welcoming and friendly and our first impressions were that it is a nicely appointed hotel, with a pleasant bar area, although it is somewhat disappointing that a hotel billed as 4 star does not have a swimming pool, spa, or even a rudimentary gym.

The room was excellent, with my only slight complaint being that, lacking air conditioning, it was necessary to keep the window open and, as there are no net curtains installed, we did feel a bit over-looked by the houses across the road.

The service from the waiting staff at dinner was attentive and helpful, without being intrusive. The starters of duck and bruschetta were disappointing - both were overcooked and the duck was served in a very unusually shaped bowl that made eating it a bit of a chore. Happily, the chef more than redeemed himself with the two rib eye steaks, which were superb. Overall, the meal was very good and barring the starters, my only issue was with after being told that we couldn't have a table until 9pm due to the number of reservations, turning up at the appointed hour to find the dining room almost deserted.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMJM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend. Room spotless, with a huge bed that has to be one of the most comfortable I've ever stayed in! Breakfast good and bar area lovely. Staff very helpful and only about 15-20 min walk into town or £3.50 in a cab.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
548 reviews
2.5 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
2.8 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £69 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing