We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay! :)”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay! :)”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Stayed at the hotel at the weekend with a group of friends, had an excellent time, staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was a bother! Sunday Carvery was beautiful, definitely recommend it! Would definitely stay there again, it was a pleasure!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanne y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thankyou for leaving a comment regarding your stay, we are all very happy you had a great time with us.
It was a pleasure meeting you and im so glad you enjoyed Our Sunday Carvery, we are very proud of it and its great you felt it was 'beautiful'.
See you again in 2013
many thanks

James Caldwell
Banqueting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    917
    203
    75
    23
    14
See reviews for
258
438
27
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel just after xmas and new year, great way to wind down would definitely recommend this hotel, and will definitely be back. Friendly staff, excellent food and rooms. Great surroundings close to all amenities, great atmosphere and entertainment.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaneen100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thankyou for your very positive comments regarding your stay with us. We are glad you were able to relax and recharge your batteries with us after christmas.
Have a great 2013 and we will see you again soon.
many thanks

James Caldwell
Banqueting manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Just home from an overnight stay, had a great relaxing time. The staff were very accommodating and friendly and I would definitely recommend eating in the grill restaurant, the steaks are out of this world! service is excellent. In the lobby they have an open fire, perfect place to sit especially on a cold evening. Thank you to all the staff who looked after us we will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweets14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review the hotel,
Im really happy you enjoyed your stay and especially your meal in the restaurant, we pride ourselves on the finest, locally sourced ingrediants.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Banqueting Manager
James Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed here for a friends wedding on dec 22nd and had the pleasure of enjoying a suite. Definitely recommend this as the room was huge while still being homely. The food on the day was superb and I struggled to finish the main meal which says something as I love my food! Staff were efficient having worked in a hotel myself for two years, but they were also friendly! Bring cash as no cash machine on site but other than that a brilliant stay and would be back in the future

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My Boyfriend and I spend New years eve in the hotel and really enjoyed it. The hotel lobby and resturant are lovely with nice large sofas and chairs. We ate in the resturant and it was delicious the meal was fabulous and the service excellent. When we moved out to lobby there was no sofas left as it was busy as it was new years eve, but the staff were more then accommodating and moved 2 large arm chairs from the entrance area into the lounge area so we could sit in comfort. it was nice to see that nothing was too much trouble.

The breakfast was lovely with a great of selction and good qualityy food there was also plenty of tea and coffee available.

Check out was at 11am but when we phoned reception and asked would we be able to delay check in until 12 they said that it was no problem.

Lovely hotel and would stay again the only down side was that we had booked a executive room and it stated on the website that there was robes and fudge in the room but this was not a case. i understand that this way have been an oversight and wouldnt let it put me off returning to the hotel but worth a mention.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 211elede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My wife and i were in 2 minds as to how we would see in the new year. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. The everglades is a beautiful hotel, very relaxing and friendly.
Our room was very clean and comfortable.
We dined in the restaurant, the food was fantastic from start to finish. My wife especially loved the sorbet "heavenly" she said.
As it was new year it was great to have entertainment that was do fitting for the hotel. There was a 2 piece playing and singing. Even the general manager sang a song for the guests. Not bad either!!
The staff were friendly and very attentive.
We will definately be back to stay atctge everglades.
Thank you to the staff and Happy New Year

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johndoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Well Thank you very much for taking the time so quickly after your stay to put up such a glowing review of The Everglades Hotel. I mean it when I say "We" really appreciate your business and I think now I may have to sing every weekend night with that reaction.
Look forward to seeing you back here and hopefully sooner rather than later.

Best Wishes for 2013

Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I attended a wedding at this hotel recently & I have to say it was fantastic! The function room was decorated beautifully & the meal was not only delicious it was also very generous in its portion size.

The day ran like clock work thanks to the staff of the Everglades, the were all lovely & done everything they could to ensure the day ran smoothly; with particular mention to Manager Aaron & wedding Co-ordinator James who both went above & beyond to ensure the bride, groom & their guests enjoyed their day.

I would highly recommend this hotel & will be sure to return in the future

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the day and I will be congratulating James & Aaron on their excellent customer service they provided that day. I know your comments will have made their day.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon hopefully.

Warm regards

Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,994 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
541 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 12 in Derry
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Property: Everglades Hotel
Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing