We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad spot for a weekend in Londonderry City of Culture.”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Hotel is showing its age and is in need of some refurbishment, however we enjoyed our stay very much. Room was good, parking was plentiful, public areas were good and spacious with roaring fires.

Breakfast good and plentiful but disappointed to be turned away from restaurant in the evening as we had not booked, restaurant at this pont had four or five tables filled, same amount filled when we left the hotel to find somewhere to eat an hour later and not many more were occupied on our return. Bar a bit limited too, no vanilla vodka available and no cold soft drinks!!!

Did not let these problems spoil our trip

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,027 - 1,033 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

In Londonderry on business and stopped for lunch which was very good. Staff very friendly and attentive. Food was freshly cooked and reasonably priced. Worth a visit if your in the area . Great setting. Would definitely use again.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank beekeeper16328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I stayed over for 2 nights in Derry,the first night was in the presidential suite and it does exactly was it says,,what a room -the biggest I have seen in a long while. We had dinner on the second night and even though it was very busy and we hasn't booked the staff moved mountains to accommodate us. Breakfast is a real treat, I ESP.loved porridge with whiskey honey and cream. Perfect for my wee hangover.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leahbaby2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I stayed at the Everglades in Derry for 2 nights in January 2013 with my partner and a few friends. I thought it was excellent. The lobby was spacious and nicely finished and the great atmosphere made me feel relaxed. Our room was spacious, spotless and the bed was really comfortable.
I had thought the hotel was further away from Derry City so was pleased to find it was just a short taxi ride away. Getting in and out of the city for shopping on Saturday was hassle-free.
Had a fantastic meal in The Grill on Saturday evening, the food was delicious, followed by a night out in Derry City. Back in the hotel, we were able to relax in front of the open fire until the small hours. All of the staff were warm and friendly and I would especially like to thank Finian for his excellent service-he really went the extra mile to ensure we were well cared for!
All in all, our trip to the Everglades was a fantastic experience-the hotel was excellent, the staff are first-class. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I had to travel to Derry last weekend for work, but also took in an extra day to see the City. I've stayed in a few different hotels in Derry before and whilst they were good, I wont be going anywhere else next time I'm back. There's a great atmosphere to this hotel, mainly due to attitude of the staff who couldnt have been nicer in a genuine way. Late night bites to eat when the kitchen was closed, rearranging seats to suit us etc etc all no bother.
We ate in the city on the Friday night (£4 taxi fare), but tried the restaurant on the Saturday. Food was superb with a great wine list too.
Everything else, cleanliness, rooms (definitely upgrade to a suite if you can!!), location mean I will be back soon and looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ch1nook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Travelling in Northwest and stopped to use the loo ! - Hotel was so warm and friendly decided to have a coffee - ended up staying for dinner.
Lovely hotel - great setting - friendly helpful staff - delicious and reasonable food.
I WILL be back.

Room Tip: Get a room on the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I stayed for one night on business the staff were lovely, the room was warm (once I turned the radiator on) and the room service of fish and chips was delicious. I would definately stay again. One small criticism would be that a £5 tray charge for room service is the dearest I have ever been charged ... even in the centre of London, I was a 30 second walk from the bar!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarasNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
549 reviews
2.5 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
2.8 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £70 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing