We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch experience was perfection”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch experience was perfection”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

My family & I went to the Everglades hotel for our Sunday Lunch,from the second we entered the hotel the staff were excellent,even booking our dinner the receptionist Kealey made sure everything was going to be perfect.We were showing to our table by Pat who I can only describe as a gentleman & it's not hard to know he's a manager because his staff has had a great teacher,Ruairi,Finnian and Aaron were all friendly,professional,attentive,polite the list goes on,we eat out most Sundays in hotels but by far the Everglades are miles ahead,their staff are miles ahead,their chefs are miles ahead.The display if food was outstanding and then to top it off the selection & taste of the food was something else,no corners have been cut at this hotel and it shows.If anyone is anywhere near Derry book the Sunday lunch and try for yourself.I would call it the Sunday experience because that's what it was.Even after dinner we relaxed in the hotels comfy settings for a drink and got spoilt by Finnian.Thank you Everglades hotel for our Sunday experience.Ted.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derry40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear guest.

On behalf of all the staff and management here including the Chefs. We would like to thank you for your excellent comments regarding our Sunday Buffet offering. This is an area we have done alot of work on and "we" here at The Everglades Hotel are proud of all the locally sourced produce that we provide every sunday. I thank you also for your generous comments regarding our staff and in particular Pat, Aaron, Ruairi & Finnian, I will be sure to share this great review with them.

Thanks again and hopefully you again this sunday.

Warm regards

Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    203
    75
    23
    14
See reviews for
260
440
27
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Five friends and I stayed in the hotel to celebrate a birthday and we were given five star treatment. From the moment we walked into the hotel, we found the atmosphere warm and inviting and the staff could honestly not do enough to make sure we had everything we needed. As it was particularly hot on our particular weekend, electric fans were placed in each of our rooms. We had booked a dinner package and we were completely blown away by the food - the chef is amazing and each course was fabulous - it has really been a very long time since I have had such a great meal which tasted every bit as good as it looked. We were looked after by Ruairi in the dining room and we were really given five star treatment. He kept our glasses topped up and catered to our every need - he made sure that our friend had a fantastic birthday celebration and he is a complete asset to the hotel. Although I have singled our Ruairi, all of the staff were fabulous and John the night porter was so kind to us in the Resident's Bar and sorted out breakfast in our rooms for the following morning. The Reception Staff were so friendly and checked train times and booked taxis for our group. We really would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be going back again - good for a break with friends and with family and central to the centre of Derry. The staff really make this a fab hotel and go above and beyond to make your stay comfy and memorable. Check out the Christmas Dinner stay and dine package - we are considering travelling from Belfast for our staff dinner because of the treatment we received and the food we were served!

Room Tip: We had three separate rooms and all were of a high quality - no air con but staff will provide a fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amfallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My partner and i stayed 3 nights in this hotel. First impressions were not bad , however, the first impressions did not last 1 hour. Our room was grubby and in need of some maintenance, the toilets in the main hotel needed a good clean as did the main bar which is always disappointing to find. The majority of staff were disinterested, un attentive and although not rude not overly polite either. It came across that everything was an effort or a problem. The food was just ok not hotel standard and the bar was dear, poorly stocked and unclean. All in all I would never stay in this hotel again and all areas need looked at to come up to standard with other places we visited during our stay. Disappointed it cost so much to enjoy so little.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My family & I recently stayed at the Everglades hotel! The staff catered to our every need day & night! The food was exquisite & the rooms spacious & delightful! The hotel is very family friendly & we were made feel right at home!! We shall indeed be booking to stay in the Everglades hotel in June of this year! A big thank in particular to the hotel manager!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauramccourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel, situated in the countryside but just a short drive, walk or £4 taxi ride to the centre of the fascinating city of Derry, which is a fabulous place to visit this year with its impressive list of activities as the Cultural Capital of 2013. We stayed in a large, quiet and comfortable room, just what we needed after days spent exploring the city, and with a spacious and well-equipped bathroom. The staff were very friendly and extremely attentive to all our needs. The excellent breakfast service offers a large range of tasty, locally-produced choices, including the best components of a traditional Ulster fry and the most delicious mushrooms I have ever come across. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here - our base for a first rate, interesting visit to the city of Derry/Londonderry. This is a large hotel with elegant public rooms, smartly furnished bedrooms, lovely green garden/woodland setting, and just a short drive into the city. We used the excellent, inexpensive local taxis for the 5 minute journey into the city to avoid parking problems and to enable us to sample the pubs and restaurants without worry. Breakfasts and dinner in the hotel restaurant were very good.
We particularly want to mention the staff - all of whom were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. They were keen to make our stay in Derry a memorable one, and were justifiably proud of their city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_farrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundonald, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had won an overnight b&b stay at an awards evening and stayed last Friday..19th July.The hotel gave us the Andrew Jackson suite as our room which is superb.We were made welcome from check in to check out.We had a meal in their restaurant and the food,service and vfm was top class...If you are considering visiting the northwest this is the place to stay and if you are looking a weekend away then i would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanner1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of All the staff and management here at The Everglades Hotel, we would like to thank you for your excellent feedback and compliments of our hotel and staff.

We are delighted you enjoyed and look forward to welcoming you back soon hopefully.

Warmest regards


Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,013 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
565 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 13 in Derry
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Property: Everglades Hotel
Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing