We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Limavady, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

On Sunday night a group of us decided to eat in the grill (the restaurant in the Everglades hotel) . I must say it was the best meal I have had in a long time! The quality of their food could be clearly seen by the presentation and the taste. I travelled up from where I live in limavady which is aprox 20miles away and I look forward to my next meal there very soon.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorne23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    197
    74
    23
    14
See reviews for
253
427
26
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed with wife and two kids for one night .From the second we arrived the staff have been helpful, friendly and genuinely interested in how we were getting on.Dinner was a lot better than I was expecting for a 4 star hotel and breakfast even better .Staff and food definitely five star

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rambofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stopped for a meal after shopping in Derry, went to the Library bar and were very quickly served by Finian who took our order and within a few minutes he arrived with mash & gravy for our daughter. We both had the stuffed chicken which was absolutely beautiful. Very reasonable price and very good food, look forward to hopefully going back for a stay as we were very impressed by the look of the hotel

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KevinHampsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My family & I had the best Sunday buffet ever at the Everglades hotel Derry,I do not say this lightly,the whole experience starts the minute you walk in the door with a real warm welcome from the receptionist called Sara then the restaurant staff who were superb and so so friendly,the food is the best we've ever had,the display excellent,the choice excellent,the comfort excellent,the staff excellent,quality excellent.A bar man called Finnian was shaking hands with a man and welcoming him back to the restaurant,that's what companies are missing these days,pure genuine friendly staff.The staff make you feel like your family is their friends,other companies should strive to train their staff to the same level as the Everglades.Well well done Everglades we will be back & we will bring others back,top class from a top class hotel by top class staff,management take a bow you have the best staff & food.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derry40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limavady
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We held a conference in the grand ballroom on the 8th November. The facilities and venue were excellent, all our needs we're catered for from very professional staff. The catering was complemented by all the delegates on the course and the overall atmosphere within the hotel on the day was warm and welcoming. I would certainly highly recommend the Everglades for a conference, as your needs are their priority this all leads to a stress free day.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

My 1 night stay at the Everglades was short but very pleasant. Easy check-in, friendly desk staff. Comfortable rooms with teapot for late night "cuppa". Dinner was delicious and bar area was cozy. Nice variety at breakfast. Free wifi, easy check-out.....what more do you need?

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eurogirl1454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the taking the time to use this site and write a review of our property.
I will be sharing your kind and generous comments with my staff and in particular my front desk team that checked you in so efficiently. I know my F&B team and Chef will be delighted to read that you enjoyed our food and service.

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back soon hopefully


Warm regards


Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I have enjoyed stays at this hotel on a number of occasions. When I visit Derry it is my first choice. Everything is perfect and it takes a great deal of hard work by each and every member of staff to achieve this perfection. Every member of staff gives 100% to ensure that my stay is every bit as good as the it was on my last visit. The public areas are particularly comfortable, relaxing and peaceful. It is this peacefullness that stays in my memory and it is what I look forward to when I visit. Excellent bar food and even better in the restaurant. Always a friendly welcome, always a clean comfortable room, always a well fitted bathroom, always a good nights sleep.

Its not too often that I look forward to visiting any one particular hotel, but I am definite looking forward to my next visit to the Everglades in early December. It is my first choice when I visit Derry and it should also be yours..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobLaight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear guest,


Thank you kindly for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our property here at The Everglades Hotel. Thank you for pointing out our staff service. This is an area we work very hard on, as I believe staff service is free. I will of course be sharing your wonderful review with all my team and I know they will be delighted to read it.
I am even more delighted to read that you will be returning in early December.
Please before booking if you emailed myself. genmanager@egh.hastingshotels.com I would personally like to re arrange your return visit.


Warmest regards


Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Property: Everglades Hotel
Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing