We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming staff”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and welcoming staff”
Reviewed 8 August 2008

My family and I have just returned from a a two day break in Derry. This was my first visit to the City and I was really impressed with every aspect (apart from the weather, but whats new for Northern Ireland!!)
We opted to stay at the Everglades as we have previously stayed in other Hastings Hotels properties and have always thoroughly enjoyed it. We were not to be dissapointed with our choice. The hotel, as previous reviewers have said, has been extensively refurbed, and in particular the lobby and lounge are very welcoming. Our room, although on the small side was beautifully appointed with all the modern amenities you would expect.
However with this all said the staff were by far its greatest asset. Everyone we encountered were friendly, welcoming and really went out of our way to be helpful. In particular, Brian the concierge was very helpful in organising taxis and giving us directions and info on places to visit.
I would definately recommend this hotel and also the Tower Museum which was excellent.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — No leisure facilities on site
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JT1NorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    203
    75
    23
    14
See reviews for
260
440
27
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

A group of us stayed at the hotel to celebrate my friend's hen night. Lets just say we stood out! The other guests were mostly older couples and a few families, but it seemed mostly older couples.

Its a lovely hotel and the service was excellent, we had a lovely room, the beds were so comfy! Staff very friendly and quick to help. We had dinner in the restaurant and really enjoyed every morsel. We only had a short, very reasonably priced drive into the city! The residents bar was actually closed when we came back that night at only 12:30 (just an example of how quiet it actually is there).

I very highly recommend the hotel but probably more so for people looking for a very quiet stay.

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabMammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

I recently stayed in the Everglades for a 2 night break with my wife and two young children. The hotel was great. It is a little far out from the city, but the location is quiet. It is situtated near some main roads but we did not find any road noise to be problematic.

The rooms have been recently refurbished and in very good condition. (Although the refurb stopped a little short and some other aspects could have been included especially in the bathroom along with some repaint here as well). But all in all a very pleasant environment.

We found the hotel to be very quiet. There was very little life around and it was far from busy. However, this suited us as the kids could run around the hotel lobby without annoying anyone. There were a number of coach parties stopping over in the hotel mostly with older guests and they went to their rooms pretty early on. The staff were great and very relaxed as well as helpful.

The bar food was okay--not a wide choice and not overly expensive given it's a captive environment. It's a shame that the bar food stops at 7.00pm though--which means that your only other choice for food (apart from room service) is the main restaurant which is quite pricey and a little formal. we avoided this and drove to the city for dinner. The breakfasts, also served in this restaurant, were buffet affairs with a reasonably good choice (but limited on continental pastry side, no fruit yoghurts, etc). The cooked breakfast buffet was pretty good as well.

The bar prices are again aligned with a captive audience, although GBP7 for a glass of wine was a little sickening.

If you are thinking of booking take the time to look for a good rate. The rack rate is GBP140 for a double room B&B, which is pretty steep. The hotel website offers a bed only rate of GBP80 so that suggests GBP60 for breakfast for 2! I called the hotel and they offered a B&B rate of GBP120, so still pretty expensive at GBP40 for breakfast for 2! Their other specials on the website don't add up and seem inconsistent. Anyhow, I searched on Google and found a B&B rate for GBP80 with a discount hotel search engine. So at that price it was great value.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Good value, clean and above average rooms
  • Disliked — Published room rates--search for a better deal on the web.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KMcCorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2008

Have just returned from a weekend at the Everglades (courtesy of Tesco Clubcard!) and found it to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Our room was beautifully furnished,with a huge bed and as well as the usual amenities had a music player and even a little jar of bolied sweets! The bathroom had a separate shower as well as a bath and I loved the little rubber duck supplied.
On our second night ,we had a problem with our room being serviced (which might have been my fault) and when the concierge arrived with our clean towels, he brought a platter of fresh fruit by way of apology which was much appreciated.
I found the restaurant to be bright and airy and breakfast was excellent -lots of choice and the hot food was certainly hot.
My only negative about the hotel is it's location. Walking into Derry city would take at least 30mins which is not good when you know you're going to walking around the city for the rest of the day. However we found the parking to be really cheap and there is also a bus stop at the front of the hotel. The bus takes you into the city centre.
I would definitely recommend the Everglades-you will enjoy your stay

  • Liked — The accommodation and the excellent, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Janey 3352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

Stayed for only one night and it was a nice triple room, beds were comfy and bathroom was the cleanest I have ever seen in a hotel!

Just a couple of little niggles - room wasn't ready at 4pm, check in is from 3 so we had to wait but not for long.

There was no hot water in the morning - i did endure a cold shower as i thought i had not figured out the shower tap, but tried sink also and no hot water there. Called Reception and they said they weren't aware of any problems. About 10 minutes later they let us know that the problem was only on our floor and was being looked at. We waited about another hour and hubby called to see if any news. They told him it was already fixed, a phone call to let us know that would have been nice. He went to shower and ran the water but still not hot.

We decided to check out as we had to be go visiting at the hospital, and on mentioning the hot water problem, they were very apologetic. It's never happened before etc. And it's now fixed you can check out late if you'd like to go have a shower. Thanks but we really have to go now. In the end we had to ask for a discount and did receive it, but it would have been nice to have it offered up front for the inconvenience.

I know it's one of those things and could happen anywhere, i just think it could have been handled better.

Breakfast was fine, didn't notice much road noise.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sojoflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2008

We stayed in The Everglades overnight in an absolutely lovely room (no issues at all with noise). My only gripe is over breakfast!! It's one of these loathsome DIY affairs which is bad enough, but the morning after our stay, what remained of breakfast was inedible. The what looked like left-overs were cold and the picked-over bread which we were required to toast (we didn't) was cold & hard ... this is precisely what I would urge management to take in relation to breakfast at The Everglades ... a cold hard look, & ask is it worth spoiling an otherwise enjoyable experience for the sake of a buffet breakfast??? At the very VERY least then, ensure a steady supply of HOT freshly prepared food, and in the name of all that matters in the hospitality industry, please serve the toast at table!!!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank DerryMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2008

One thing of note is that this hotel is about 2 miles outside of the main areas of the city, and situated between 2 busy roads. The distance into the city may be walkable during the day but probably not at night (though a taxi was only about 4 Sterling). While overall the hotel was fine if you're ok with the location (reception service was excellent, as were the common areas which were quite welcoming), there were a few things that we weren't extrememly happy about. There seems to be little if any soundproofing, either to the hall noise or the road traffic outside. Housekeeping made a good fuss in the morning, opening and letting slam shut every room door in our hallway (we were at the end of an empty hall) and then proceeded to walk into our room before we had a chance to answer that someone was in there. Hairdryer was broken (I know, minor, but in an empty hotel and with a bad wakeup it didn't help). Derry itself was interesting and City Tours (arranged through the Tourist Board) was very good.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller200802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,016 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
566 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 13 in Derry
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Property: Everglades Hotel
Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing