We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Everglades Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

My partner and I stayed for two nights in the Everglades. We went to the Christmas Party night and I have to say the food and the atmosphere were amazing! The General Manager Neil has a fantastic team working for him - the staff were amazing and very attentive. I absolutely LOVED my stay and I can't wait to book my next trip!!

Room Tip: Make sure you try the afternoon tea!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    193
    72
    23
    14
See reviews for
249
420
26
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
londonderry, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We booked in and went straight to our room which was the room we had stayed in on our wedding night. The room was warm and cosy and we got ready for dinner. We went to the bar for a drink before dinner and even though we were a little early were told to go through to the dining room when we were ready, that we did not have to wait until the time we had said we would like to dine at, Our waiter was 'Christopher' who was most attentive to our needs and was a very pleasant waiter. The meal was absolutely wonderful and cooked to perfection - thank you to the chef - 'Tomas' - for a wonderful meal. Our night was very enjoyable and we had breakfast the next morning - thank you to' Barbara' for looking after us and the breakfast was lovely. Thank you also to' Theresa' for coffee!
The warmness of the Reception Staff and managers of this hotel make it an extremely pleasant stay for all! The Management and Staff of The Everglades Hotel are a credit to 'The Hastings Group'.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caryn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Just back from an overnight stay in this stunning hotel. Me and my fiancée had planned to visit and explore the walled city of Derry. But on arrival of the hotel we were greeted by the general manager, this is always good as I like to find out some details of the property. He give us loads of his time and showed us the Grand Ball Room which was set up for a Christmas dinner, the room was outstanding. We are due to get married next year and we would definitely recommend this place. The manager has a good vision forf the future of this hotel.

We stayed in The Jackson Suite which was super in size and style. We had a gorgeous meal in The Grill that evening, nice fresh Salmon which was very pleasing on the pallet. This was a brilliant experience and we didn't even leave the hotel. All we got to see of Derry was the amazing view of the River Foyle from our window.

All around great stay, hotel and staff.

10 out of 10.

Top notch.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Mr Morrison,


I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our hotel. Myself and all my staff here at The Everglades Hotel were delighted to read this fantastic review. Thank you for pointing out our glorious Grand Ballroom.
Our Christmas Party night function for 300ppl went really well.
I am delighted you liked the layout, and maybe give you some ideas for your big day.
We really appreciate you commenting that you would recommend us to anyone. This is the best form of advertising for us.

Again thank you so much for your review and from all the staff and management here we would like to wish you a Merry Christmas & Happy New Year with lots of luck for your big day in 2014.


Best wishes


Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

My wife and I stayed recently at the Everglades hotel in Derry/Londonderry - we arrived from a recent stay at a nearby hotel in Co Donegal, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

We booked an exclusive room but were somewhat disappointed by the overall size of the room which contained a super king-sized bed - the bed totally dominated the room leaving little space around it.

The bedrooms seemed to be stuck in a 'time wharp' and could do with a major revamp.

We booked into the restaurant for our evening meal and were disappointed - as we booked an inclusive dinner deal we were offered a secondary menu which lacked imagination and falir, same old, same old . . .

Overall, we were very disappointed with the ambience and standard of the decor of the hotel, it needs some major investment to take it out of the last century into the present . . .

Room Tip: Ask for one a the back of the hotel away from the busy main road . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueWilz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to explain to us your recent experience at our hotel.
Thank you for pointing out that my reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
I apologise that you did not enjoy the layout of your room or the hotel itself, The bed that you mentioned is a king coil pillow top mattress, that we at Hastings Hotels have invested highly in.
We are very proud to have our Four Star certification from the Northern Ireland Tourist Board , a mystery inspection which just occured last week. We were awarded a very high four star.

Our decor and ambiance is in keeping with all of our successful Hastings Hotels, i.e providing the finest in Irish Hospitality with style and excellence.

I appreciate you taking the time to write this review and if we had of known about your discomfort during your stay, my team would have tried to accommodate you in any way they could.

Warm regards

Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Recently went to experience the wonderful all u can eat Sunday lunch buffet at the Everglades hotel. OMG! Never have my eyes seen a more delicious and bountiful spread in all my days of eating out! My eyes couldn't take it all in. Absolutely amazing and thanks to NIall the duty manager for a unique insight as to how the whole thing works! Niall wonderfully attentive to my elderly parents who were with me. I wld recommend it to all and sitting by the fire with a full belly can't be beat. A wonderful hotel with the most amazingly helpful staff. I'm going back for more and so should u the first chance u get!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write such a fantastic review of our Everglades Hotel. It means alot to read your wonderful comments and I am delighted to share this review with my entire team.
Not alot of people take the time as you have and for that we are very thankful.

Warmest regards

Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

The fantastic staff at The Everglades ensured our stay there was comfortable and enjoyable. A special mention to Finian in the Library Bar and the two outstanding lady receptionists. That said the restaurant staff were excellent too.
My room was comfortable and clean and the food was very good too. There is only one place to stay in Derry in my book - even if the hotel is just outside the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GI6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear guest,

From myself and my entire team , thank you so much for your fabulous review about The Everglades Hotel. Thank you personally for pointing out my staff, it means alot that you recognised this. I will of course be sharin this my team.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Do not hesitate to contact myself when you do decide to return.

Warm regards

Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

My sister and I stayed a Saturday night recently and we really enjoyed the hotel. The recepeption staff were really friendly & helpful, the rooms were a nice size, great comfy beds & had an iPod docking station. We didn't have dinner but the breakfast was fab, lovely fresh food with lots to choose from. The hotel was really relaxing and cosy. would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Revar1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of all the staff and management here at The Everglades Hotel. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel.
We appreciate your kind words and I will be sharing these comments with my entire team.
I am delighted they have exceeded your expectations.

Warmest regards


Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
3.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Property: Everglades Hotel
Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing