We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Midweek break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Midweek break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We came by train and it was a pleasant 20 minute walk from the station. The hotel is on the other bank of the Foyle river from the walled city of Derry/Londonderry. We took a taxi back one evening and it cost £3.75. One morning we took the local bus into the city, which passes the side gate of Everglades, going every hour in the morning, but infrequently later in the day.
We stayed for two nights which included a dinner and a walking tour of the city, a special deal.
The breakfast buffet was very good, with fruit salad and compote, cereals, a variety of breads, cheeses, etc., several juices including Armagh apple, and there were ban-maries of hots including black and white pudding, mushrooms, tomatoes, eggs, bacon, sausage. Beverages were brought to the table.
Staff throughout were very friendly. It was quite quiet when we stayed. We had dinner in the restaurant which was very good, a more detailed menu was available, but as we had it included we had their set menu of three courses, with several choices. We had a drink in the bar beforehand and there was just one other person there, but only one kind of sherry, a sweet one!
Beds were very comfortable and our room had a double and a single bed. The place was very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear guest

It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for being so detailed into the areas that you enjoyed.
Myself and my team work hard to make things great for our guests, from me and my team I would like to thank you for pointing alot of these out.

We hope to host you again upon your return.

warmest regards

Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    193
    72
    23
    14
See reviews for
248
420
26
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend booked a weekend away into a superior double room. Was absolutely beautiful and the staff where so friendly and the room was so clean. Only downfall was when I had rang to confirm the booking they had said that the difference between a double and a superior room was that I would get fruit and slippers and a gown in the room. Was looking forward to the fruit but wasn't there. Not a major thing but it's just the fact that they said it was going to be there when it wasn't. Next time I would be staying I would just get a standard double room as I don't know if it was worth the extra money.
Overall really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely be back. Beautiful place and the people are so lovely from Londonderry.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed in the Everglades last weekend 28 February. From the minute I arrived the staff were so warm and friendly and couldn't have done more to make me feel welcome. The room was lovely with the now famous Hastings Hotel bed, one of the best you'll ever have the pleasure of sleeping in!

I was there for a dinner and the staff at the function continued the friendly and professional service with gorgeous food all the way through.

Breakfast the next morning was a sumptuous affair with a well-stocked hot and cold buffet of great quality local produce. I love a decent selection of local breads and this certainly didn't disappoint.
Sadly I was only there for one night but I'll definitely be back for a longer stay soon to really enjoy the relaxing atmosphere and great staff.

Great value too!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiobhanMcGui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Last year we went to a hastings hotel for a special occasion and upgraded to a suite (andrew jackson) and we were very impressed. We were celebrating another occasion last week and decided to try out another Hastings hotel, this time opting for the Everglades. After much deliberation we upgraded to a suite- and we were so glad we did- the suite we stayed in was huge!, absolutely spotless and just absolute and total luxury.
We had a beautiful array of traybakes on arrival and excellent technicl systems, iphone docking station, charger, widescreen TV with every channel you could think of!.
We both suffer with bad backs and often have difficulty sleeping- not this trip!!, the bed was massive and I never woke the whole night.
We had 4 course meal in the a la carte resturant which was really nice though the menu in the bar area looked good also. Make sure you get an irish coffee after your meal, they were made to perfection. Unfortunately we never got to experience the other resturant as it is being renovated though it sounds like its going to be great.
Hotel is 5 minutes from the city and there is an aquarium a stones throw away, as are nice walks.
Staff were amazing, we really felt like we got the personal touch and my absolute favouirte was the breakfast, it really frlt like we were experiencing the whole of the north with the Crossgar eggs, the fresh armagh apple juice, etc etc.
I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and our experience there,and the upgrade to the suite was well worth the money- the only disadvantage was the face that we had only stayed one night!!, we will 100 percent be back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjohn0909090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I took my elderly mother out for lunch in The Everglades Hotel, we had a lovely experience and the staff were not only very friendly, but also very accommodating especially for my mother and her poor mobility. The food was spectacular with a beautiful variety of salads and desserts. I would recommend the lunch to anyone and everyone! first class.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

8 of us booked a weekend break in the Everglades hotel, end Feb 2014
Great hospitality, fantastic rooms, quality food and friendly staff and a well stocked whiskey shelf.
Great breakfast, including bushmills on your porridge

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear guest

Thank you so much from all the staff and Management here at the Everglades Hotel.
We are delighted you and the rest of your party enjoyed your stay.

We hope you choose us again when you decide to return to the city.

Warm regards

Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife & I were invited to a recent event at the everglades hotel and we decided to stay over. From reception to room we were treated at a 5 star rate! The room was of very high standard with all the extras. The event went off fantastic & a very successful, the food was second to none, well done chef! The service staff excellent! Great night's sleep,full breakfast with a wide range of choices, perfect end to a wonderful stay! thanks everglades, we'll be back! Garvin & Marie

Room Tip: Have no doubt all rooms are accepable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martiDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear guest,

Myself and all my staff here at the Everglades Hotel are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you kindly for taking the time to write such a glowing review.
We are delighted you enjoyed what was a very special evening.
I know my chef Colman and his team will be very pleased to see they got a great mention from yourself.

Look forward to having you back soon.

Warmest regards

Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
3.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Property: Everglades Hotel
Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing