We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Class”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Staff were very friendly and food was superb. I had the pleasure of experiencing what the Everglades Hotel had to offer during the Jazz Festival. I will be back again next year. The entertainment was exceptional. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMcK1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    917
    203
    75
    23
    14
See reviews for
258
438
27
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel 6 May. The name of the hotel is a bit confusing.
The Everglades in Florida are far removed from the Irish countryside of the outskirts of Londonderry. I think that the names of the conference rooms etc is more down to an appreciation of the american visitors to this hotel.

We got there a bit early before the 3pm booking in time and so had to leave our bags at the reception and have a drink at the bar for half an hour. There turned out to be a problem with our booking as the Hastings Hotel internet system had overidden the booking I made with Expedia. It showed that we had booked in for two nights instead of one. The receptionist, named Keylagh Dawn (I think) was so helpful and sorted it out quickly and efficiently. She was so apologetic, stating truthfully that it had been a problem with their system and gave us a free breakfast in compensation. She is a terrific asset to this hotel and deserves much praise for sorting this out.

The hotel, whilst having an impressive exterior, was a little gloomy inside, owing to the lack of natural light, but it did have nice open fires and plenty of seating available. The bedrooms were very clean and both dinner and breakfast were very good indeed. The beds were superb. Waiting staff in the hotel deserve special mention as they were friendly and professional. The price of dinner in the Grill Room was fairly expensive for what it was, but still acceptable.

All in all a good hotel to stay in when visiting Londonderry.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the "old road" into and out of Londonderry as the A5 main road t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Everglades hotel for 5 nights on business. Without a doubt it is 5* quality and service all round. I arrived and checked in on the Monday afternoon and initial greeting from the receptionist was both warm and welcoming. I arrived before my scheduled check-in time but it was not a problem getting a room almost immediately.

When I got to the room, it was clean, stocked with fresh towels, music playing and a nice gesture of shortbread and tray bakes awaited me. It is all of the finer details that really make the stay more worthwhile. The housekeeping staff maintained my room thoroughly and stocking up the coffee and tea supply within my room regularly which was a bonus as I spent a lot of time working from the desk within my room.

Notably the food was outstanding and the level of service was 5*! I dined in the library bar usually at lunch times and then dined in the Grill in the evenings. The food was absolutely delicious and especially notable was their use of locally sourced produce. Over the course of my stay there were a few staff who especially looked after me and must be commended on their level of customer service namely, Ruairi, Niall and Finnian. They are a credit to themselves and the Hastings group.

Couldn’t recommend this hotel enough! I will be returning without hesitation!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyp4st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Everglades for one night wish it could have been for longer! We were kindly upgraded to one of the suites and it was perfect. We had dinner at the hotel and the food was delicious. The staff were really friendly in the restaurant. The breakfast was great as well. We enjoyed everything about this hotel and on our next visit to Derry this is where we will be staying

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Went here last Saturday for afternoon tea with the girls. Great value. Top Class Service. Ruairi (spelling) was soo attentive and the great welcome with the red carpet made the day special. As for the food. Enough t

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank leanne y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you kindly for taking the time out to write such a glowing review of our hotel.
Thank you for pointing out Ruairi also. He will be delighted to read this and I know my chef Colman and his team will be delighted you enjoyed their afternoon tea.

warmest regards

Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Superb stay. Great staff. Great food. Stayed few months ago and will be back. A lot of help from staff throughout stay. We done the city wall tour with MartinMcCrossan. First class. We will most definitely be back to the city.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NYC20133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your time here at The Everglades Hotel.
We hope to see you back soon someday.

Regards

Neil Devlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my husband as a wedding gift from family. Perfect. .. can't say any more ... All staff were friendly and helpful. .. but particularly Mairead in The Grill restaurant. .. she was fantastic ... helpful, professional and great banter ...her and the amazing food are the reason we will be back and why we will be recommending to our friends and family.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrssambora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,994 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
541 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 12 in Derry
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Property: Everglades Hotel
Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing