We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
rome
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed overnight at the Everglades Hotel - first class.
A friendly welcoming hotel - every member of staff we spoke to made us feel really welcome.
There was a problem with the Internet access - we were offered complimentary lunch in place of this. We declined this offer simply because we were so full from a tasty breakfast.
The hotel is under going some reservations due to an incident which occurred a short time ago so allowances do need to be made.
We have stayed in all the a Hastings a Group hotels - this has to be our favourite!!
We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the busy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belfastcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    198
    74
    23
    14
See reviews for
257
434
26
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,120 reviews
300 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Not centrally located, initial room was smokey (which was corrected). Rooms fine, breakfast good, nice clean larger bathrooms, bedrooms good but need minor repairs, in room safe wonderful, staff seem busy because of construction causing changes to front desk but trying, Therefore Ok for a stay but room for improvement.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of the CIE Tour. Hotel rooms are in a desperate need of refurbishing. Our room had two twin beds - was on the first floor - no air conditioning and could not open the window due to being on the first floor and our room overlooking a busy highway. Bathroom was very small with no counter to place your bathroom items, no tub and shower was small. Our tour director told us that there was a small incident of a firebomb about 2 weeks before we arrived, made us feel uneasy. The hotel was repairing the damage and when you walked into the restaurant you could smell the construction going on, i.e., plaster board, paint, etc. Not a very pleasant dinner smell. Dinner was good in the restaurant despite the smell. After the walking tour of Derry some of us stayed in Derry to attend Mass. None of us had pounds since our tour was only staying one night in Northern Ireland. The hotel could not assist us in changing Euros to Pounds. We were lucky that one person had Pounds to use on a taxi to get us back. Hotel is not situated near the city center - the only way you could get there is by using a taxi. Wi-Fi was not available in the room only in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review here.
Apologies that you were not satisfied with your stay.
Its unfortunate that you were not made aware that we are a £3 taxi to the centre of the city.

I apologise you did not get to experience our hotel at its finest, due to the recent incident at the hotel that was out of our control, we have had to act quickly to refurbish the building and I apologise that this was during your stay.

If you should decide to return to the North West I would be delighted to arrange your booking for you personally . Just email me on genmanager@egh.hastingshotels.com

Best wishes

Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast NIreland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed for an overnight whilst on business not long after a firebomb attack. Despite having to relocate reception and breakfast the hotel was friendly and comfortable. Much better value than City centre hotels and only a short, cheap taxi ride from the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryconnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel.
We appreciate not only your business, but your kind comments.
We recently went through an unfortunate incident at the hotel which was out of our control and your comments are much appreciated during this time.

If you should decide to return to the North West I would be delighted to arrange your booking for you personally . Just email me on genmanager@egh.hastingshotels.com

Best Wishes

Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

stayed for bed and breakfast after watching fantastic tribute band. Room was pleasant and staff on check in and in the evening could not fault very professional and friendly, Only big let down was the breakfast. Did not complain as we stayed shortly after the fire damage and I put it down to that incident. Since then I have heard that this was the case before the incident that some people had stayed and were not happy with the breakfast. The room had no atmosphere and felt more like a poor bed and breakfast. The breakfast was cold and the eggs I could not eat they resembled a rubber poached egg from a joke shop, The breakfast containers did not keep the food warm and only continued to cook it at a very low temperature. The breakfast was a total let down and spoilt the great evening we had the evening before. We will not be returning and cannot recommend this hotel. We have stayed at Hastings Hotels and have always had great service room and food and have always recommended them to friends and family and have always posted great reviews. Am disappointed to have to write my first negative hotel review.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review here.
Apologies that you were not satisfied with your stay.
I do thank you for pointing out how nice my staff were and I am sure had you raised your concerns with them they would have tried to accommodate you the best they could.

I apologise you did not get to experience our hotel at its finest, due to the recent incident at the hotel that was out of our control, we have had to act quickly to refurbish the building and I apologise that this was during your stay.

If you should decide to return to the North West I would be delighted to arrange your booking for you personally . Just email me on genmanager@egh.hastingshotels.com

Best wishes


Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here on a CIE tour. Unfortunately the hotel was the victim of a recent firebombing and is under renovation in the lobby area. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Our room was on the side away from the highway and was quiet, comfortable and clean. We enjoyed our visit and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Others have commented on the noisy highway side which would best be avoided.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank60616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel.
Thank you for your support and kind words.
I appreciate you stayed during a time when we have not been at our best due to an incident that was out of our control.
But it is encouraging and welcoming to read your comments to my staff.
For that I thank you.
I understand this may not happen soon, but should you decide to return to the North West I would be delighted to arrange your booking for you personally . Just email me on genmanager@egh.hastingshotels.com


Warm wishes

Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in June whilst working in the area. Firstly I would like to say staff are extremely helpful and offer great service. Food is good, breakfast and dinner. I stayed in a room on the roadside which I have to say was a lovely room but extremely noisy due to traffic. It did have secondary glazing but It felt like this was going to fall to bits every time I went to close it. Air conditioning would have been beneficial as due to the noise the windows had to be shut. The hotel was undergoing major refurbishment during my visit following the cowardly attack and when it is complete will look fantastic. Leisure facilities would be a major benefit to this hotel and is all it is really lacking. Car parking was excellent as was everything else. Overall a really pleasant stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PIW1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest


Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel.
Thank you for your support and kind words.
I appreciate you stayed during a time when we have not been at our best due to an incident that was out of our control.
But it is encouraging and welcoming to read your comments to my staff.
For that I thank you.
I understand this may not happen soon, but should you decide to return to the North West I would be delighted to arrange your booking for you personally . Just email me on genmanager@egh.hastingshotels.com


Best Wishes

Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 12 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Property: Everglades Hotel
Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing