We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar Food”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I went here for a light meal. We were taken to a table straight away and presented with a very exclusive menu. Food was really well presented and absolutely beautiful. I would highly recommend the Chorizo chicken. The staff were very friendly and eager to help. We will definitely be back. The Hotel lobby is looking spectacular after it's recent refurbishment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Attended a friends wedding here in July, the lobby looks really bright and welcoming, the staff were really friendly and professional especially the Manager Niall who looked after us all so well during our meal which was really gorgeous and so filling. Everyone agreed that it was such a great wedding from start to finish, would highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jpcderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

From arrival until departure my stay was everything I could have wished for. Probably the most friendly, welcoming staff I've ever encountered in any hotel - reception, front of house, bars, dining room and housekeeping nothing was ever too much trouble. The genuine warmth of smiles and cheery word is such a welcome change from the banal "have a nice day" you so often encounter these days.

The hotel itself has, unfortunately recently been subject to some unwelcome disturbance, but this was so well managed it never once impinged on the quality of stay. The public areas are beautifully furnished, light, bright and airy.

My room was superbly comfortable and afforded me three nights of blissful, uninterrupted sleep. It was tastefully furnished complete with in-room safe and lots of storage space. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The bathroom was huge with a most generous sized shower and again clean, bright and airy.

I ate in the Grill restaurant and could not fault one single item. I seemed to have Mairead as my exclusive waitress and her natural cheeriness was always a joy to behold. Breakfast consisted of the full range of continental and cooked fayre. Lots of choice and piping hot. All food was presented beautifully and a sheer pleasure to look at before eating. This was most definitely not the usual standard hotel food. Chef obviously works hard and it shows on the plate.

Finally, on Saturday evening there was wonderful (free!) entertainment provided by a young pianist called Aidan. This young man would put many a "professional" entertainer to shame. We were treated to a superb repertoire of Irish classics, mixed with more modern tunes. We then were treated to the wonderful singing of Noella who accompanied herself on guitar.

All in all, I cannot fault the Everglades Hotel. But by far the outstanding memory is the friendliness of the staff. A real credit to the Hastings Group.

Room Tip: My room was at the rear of the hotel and I would consider these to be quieter than the ones at the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed in this sad place for one night. The hotel unfortunately had an 'incident' the night before our arrival. CIE tours, instead of moving us to another hotel, insisted that we should stay at the Everglades to show our support! Can you believe this? So we were in this sorry place they called a hotel. My room was miserable - it was hot as there was no air conditioning. The bathroom was small with no amenities. Most of the front of the hotel - except a make shift reception -was bolted up for repairs due to the firebomb the night before. There was no internet, no wi-fi, no foreign exchange. The worst was to come the next morning when there was no hot water and all the 40 of us had cold showers!

The saving grace was the nice dinner and breakfast they laid out. The staff was gracious and trying to make the best of things.

Room Tip: The best advice I can say is to avoid this hotel until it is completely repaired and refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Attended a function at the Everglades and stayed overnight. Staff were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. Room was a good size and very comfortable- it seemed to have been refurbished recently. Good location, just a short drive from the city centre. Look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed overnight at the Everglades Hotel - first class.
A friendly welcoming hotel - every member of staff we spoke to made us feel really welcome.
There was a problem with the Internet access - we were offered complimentary lunch in place of this. We declined this offer simply because we were so full from a tasty breakfast.
The hotel is under going some reservations due to an incident which occurred a short time ago so allowances do need to be made.
We have stayed in all the a Hastings a Group hotels - this has to be our favourite!!
We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the busy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belfastcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Not centrally located, initial room was smokey (which was corrected). Rooms fine, breakfast good, nice clean larger bathrooms, bedrooms good but need minor repairs, in room safe wonderful, staff seem busy because of construction causing changes to front desk but trying, Therefore Ok for a stay but room for improvement.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
548 reviews
2.5 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
2.8 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £68 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing