We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with couple of small drawbacks”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hotel was having work done when I visited but it still looked very nice and can only imagine what it will be like when it is finished. Rooms were good with the main disappointment being the pressure in the shower when you turn the temp up. With that and the very spotty wi-fi it's down to four stars but otherwise all good

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have just returned from a very pleasant stay in this Hotel. Right from the outset everything was perfect. I was greeted by friendly, courteous and highly competent receptionists. The room that I was allocated is simply outstanding and the attention to detail is second to none. For example, there was a welcome message from the General Manager bearing my club crest, and on my second evening the young waitress informed me that she had already checked with the Chef what I could eat as I have a gluten intolerance. The food is totally scrumptious and the service in the restaurant is cheerful and attentive. Indeed the friendliness of the staff in general is something which struck me greatly. I can honestly say that having stayed in quite a few hotels in Derry that the Everglades is far and away my favourite. I cannot fault it in any way and I shall look forward to my next stay. It is truly a home away from home.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I needed a last minute one night B&B in Derry last weekend. I as always had a look online to see all options however it is so hard to pass the Everglades for 100% all round. From arrival to departure what a pleasant experience. Reception area is currently under construction but temporary measures are currently in place. The room was amazing a Junior Suite. The breakfast was unbelievable and included local produce which was a delight. A great experience all round. We are looking forward to our next visit already.

Room Tip: Suite - Room 202 Highly Recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Hotel is located outside town so you need to drive to go anywhere. The house must have seen better days but at least the entrance area is under reconstruction. The rooms would need the same. Due to reconstruction and a private event food was served in temporary restaurant. Not really a nice set-up but the food was ok. Breakfast was equally uninspiring. We did not notice any noise from the wedding party as some other visitors noticed.

Room Tip: Room to the parking lot rather than the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Visited the hotel on Saturday afternoon for lunch with my wife.
Despite the recent incident at the hotel it business as usual and great to see so many people buzzing around.
We had a delicious meal and staff where excellent and very attentive.
Congratulations to the management and staff for keeping things rubbing so smooth despite the refurbishment taking place.
I look forward to our next visit.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank reca123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, relaxing night away from Belfast. We spotted the Everglades and booked straight away. It couldn't have been any better!! It's a beautiful hotel, (Reception currently under renovation, though this is no reason to be put off) the room was immaculate as were the linens and towels. To say the food was amazing is an understatement!!!! We could quite happily eat in The Grill for the rest of our days!!! The biggest highlight for us has to be the encounters we had with your staff - What a lovely bunch of people! If you could bottle and sell that, the Hastings group would be onto a winner!! There wasn't a thing that was too much trouble. I'm just sad that I didn't get their names for you to pass on our gratitude personally :( We were in The Grill whilst there was a large coach tour group having their dinner, and whilst the staff were very busy attending to them, the young lady who tended to us was amazing! Always a smile and nothing was too much! Even the gentleman from the bar was in helping. I say gentleman - This word doesn't do him justice! The most pleasant member of staff in any bar/restaurant that we have ever came across! And this is the Everglades unique selling point for me - The staff. They are a credit to the Hastings Group! Thanks again for a wonderful stay, and all the best for getting the new reception area up and running!

Warmest regards,
Angela & Robert Albert

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I went here for a light meal. We were taken to a table straight away and presented with a very exclusive menu. Food was really well presented and absolutely beautiful. I would highly recommend the Chorizo chicken. The staff were very friendly and eager to help. We will definitely be back. The Hotel lobby is looking spectacular after it's recent refurbishment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
549 reviews
2.5 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
2.8 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £69 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing