We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everglades Hotel - Derry”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Turkey
Level Contributor
251 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Everglades Hotel - Derry”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a nice hotel in a good location. We stopped for two nights under separate bookings and both times had a good experience. Check in is timely, welcoming and efficient and the rooms are spacious enough with very comfortable beds.

The hotels has all the creature comforts that you would expect although there is a separate charge for Wi-Fi in your room they do have communal internet access. Tea and coffee facilities are provided and even when our kettle refused to work on our second stay this was quickly rectified. The only down side of the entire stay was that even with the windows closed you can still here the traffic on the busy main A2 outside.

The hotel is situated about a mile and a half from Derry but its a nice walk along the river if you feel inclined to take your time and go for a walk. There is nothing near the hotel so if you want snacks or anything other than what you will find at the restaurant then be sure to take it with you since there are no vending machines on site or food behind the bar.

The hotels is used for wedding venues and other functions so you might find it can get quite busy at times. However, the staff at this hotel are very friendly and pleasant and everything is to a high standard. A good place to stay if you find yourself visiting Londonderry or also as a base for exploring the Giants Causeway Coast.

Room Tip: If you can try and get a room at the rear of the hotel rather than facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAVAKLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    198
    74
    23
    14
See reviews for
256
433
26
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked two nights B and B with one evening meal. We were told that only a twin room was available as hotel almost full up. We agreed. Arrived to find renovations in place with temp foyer, workmen and work tools etc scattered about. However the biggest shock was the room which was small and cramped.Net curtains on windows stained and a hole in them. Window surround mouldy. Next shock was Bathroom which resembled a cubby hole. There was nowhere to place toothbrush etc except on the actual sink. The small shower had mould surrounding the base both inside and out. In spite of our shock and disappointment we actually spent one night in this room before complaining. I am still at a loss as to why we accepted this room. I can only think tiredness and shock numbed our responses.
The following morning however sanity had prevailed and we complained to the General Manager.
Within an hour we were moved to a suite. A beautiful suite with with all the comforts that a suite in a four star hotel would offer.We did not receive any explanation from Hotel management as to why such a sub standard room would be offered to any guest in a four star Hastings hotel or any other hotel for that matter.The meals in the hotel were very good. The staff efficient and friendly. It is such a pity we are left with the memory of our first night in the Everglades and continue to be puzzled as to why we or any other guest would be allocated this room in the first place.

Room Tip: Suites are large and well furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great hotel with even better staff! We stayed for two nights in the Everglades. The first night we were in a lovely double room with a large modern bathroom. The bed was very comfy and there was also a great flat-screen t.v. The second night we treated ourselves and stayed in the Woodrow Wilson suite. What an experience! Large comfy bed, two couches, large screen t.v. and a spacious bathroom.

We ate dinner in the hotel on the first night. Beautiful meal, would recommend the crab cakes! The second day we had our lunch which was equally as nice.

We can't say enough about the staff! Whether in the bar, restaurant or at the reception we were looked after so well. We had the pleasure of meeting Neil the general manager on a few occasions and he made us feel so welcome in his beautiful hotel!

We would recommend The Everglades Hotel to anyone visiting Derry. 5 stars!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear guest

It was a pleasure to have you at our hotel. Thank you from all the staff and management here at the Everglades Hotel. We are very thankful you took the time to write such an amazing review of our hotel and thank you kindly for your comments, it was also a pleasure to meet you both.

we look forward to welcoming you back soon


regards

Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just back from a few days stay in this hotel, the staff were extremely welcoming and attentive throughout our stay. We had the pleasure of staying in one of their beautifully decorated suites which was such a treat. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal in the restaurant staff and service was excellent. I cannot recommend this hotel enough for a city break.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamck25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest


Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review on the Everglades Hotel.
On behalf of myself and all the staff and management here we thank you for your business and for your generous words.

warm wishes

Neil Devlin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A lovely hotel, better than I was expecting, we had a really spacious luxurious room. Loved the buffet breakfast, especially the museli and thoroughly enjoyed two evening meals in the restaurant. Very friendly staff. There was an entertainer on one evening who sang rat pack type songs by the piano, very entertaining. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llilaclinds111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Hotel in good spot just outside city centre.Was greeted well by staff but did have to wait for room in bar.
Once in room I was little let down as the bar, restaurant and lounge areas were excellent. All grand with character and style. But the room was just plain and did not match the rest of the hotel for me. Don't get me wrong the bed was comfortable and bathroom was a great size too.. but you just expect more once you have been around the hotel.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was outstanding as the service. Would highly recommend eating there. They have and offer 2courses and bottle of wine for 35 pound before 7.

Bar is lovely and Fin the main bar man is worth his weight in gold. Great man, was running around helping everyone but still had the time for a chat.

Breakfast was also excellent. Irish buffet with a lot of choice and continental.

Overall I was very happy with my stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel is close to the city without being exactly in the city. Taxi ride to the city center is 4.5 pounds.
Depending on what you are looking for, it can be a great place because you avoid the city noise.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Property: Everglades Hotel
Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing