We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2009

this hotel is quite classy,just outside the walled town and over the river. a short taxi ride,but worth it as this is one of the nicer hotels. lovely room,great afternoon tea.lovely bar area and friendly helpfull staff. would stay here again. ps great bar life in derry. and the people were fun and welcoming. had a great 3day stay.

Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
1  Thank thegilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,235 - 1,241 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2009

Just had two night break in your hotel. It was perfect, Staff were extremely helpful, friendly & courteous. You have a staff to be proud of, nothing was a problem for them, one nicer than the other. One minor complaint is that the breakfast on Saturday, served as selfservice was a bit cold where as the breakfast we got on Friday which was waiter served was first class. It was our first trip to Derry and you and your staff helped make it a memorable one.
Thanks again.
Mary & Mark Cribbin

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkmy2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I have just returned from a 2 night break in the Everglades with friends. Everything from the welcome to the food and drink to the most comfortable bed was excellent. From we arrived we were greated by an extremely professional and friendly receptionist. On the first night we ate in the bar, the menu was just what we were looking for at keen prices. On the second night we ate in the restaurant, and this was a very special experience, from the menu to the service, the whole meal was just an excellent experience. The accommodation was very modern with flat screen tv and ipod docking stations to the most comfortable bed i have ever had the pleasure of staying in. Over all the experience and the service is second to none. I stay in hotels all of the time through work, but staying at the Everglades just wasn't another night in a hotel, but a excellent experience. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMCDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

My wife and myself have just returned from a fabulous weekend at the Everglades hotel. The staff were really welcoming, and in particular I would like to mention the reception staff who were always on hand to provide info on shopping, attractions etc. We only ate in the hotel on one of the nights, but the standard of food was excellent, and the service, as in all parts of the hotel really good. My only comment would be that wine was a bit pricey.
Derry itself is a lovely city, and my wife enjoyed spending lots of MY MONEY in the local shops!!
I will be returning to Derry in the not so distant future and will definately be staying at the Everglades.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertslinda14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2009

Stayed here one Friday night. Felt hotel lacked atmosphere. Bedroom decor was dated. Bed seemed to have a waterproof sheet which was very clammy. Unlikely to stay again. Staff friendly though.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequenttraveller083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2009

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased that you took the time to compliment our staff, as we put alot of time and effort into our customer service and I appreciate your kind remarks. I am dissapointed however, to hear that your overall experience was less than 100%, and I apologise for the inconvenience caused.
Feedback is very important to us, and I can assure you that I will take your comments onboard, to futher improve standards within the hotel. If you would like to discuss your comments further, I would be delighted to hear from you.
Kindest Regards
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a fabulous weekend stay at the hotel. The food, service and overall ambience of the hotel were great. On the Saturday night there was entertainment in the lounge and it was great to relax in lovely surroundings. I will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jozy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

we recently attended a friends wedding at this hotel and i have to say we had a great experience.
on arrival a large party of americans were checking in at the same time,but no delay here we were checked in promply and efficently and directed to our rooms by Brian the concierge.
The wedding reception was as impressive with great food and served by smartly dressed waiters,.the grand ballroom is indeed grand with its wonderful chandliers and the ambience is just great.
Bedrooms have been recently refubished and the beds are the most comfortable that we have found .

All in all a great week -end,well done Hastings .

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank oldred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,079 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
546 reviews
2.5 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £68 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing