We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The pick of the bunch!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The pick of the bunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

the Everglades is a lovely hotel a few minutes away from Derry City. Situated in a wooded areas it offers a truly relaxing and comfortable holiday to weary travellers!
great staff, great food and a lovely relaxed, informal atmosphere make this hotel a very good choice. rooms are spacious and comfortable and the whole thing is tastefully decorated and not gaudy and over-the-top!

would definitely recommend this hotel and I would go back there myself.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 240fedora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    193
    72
    23
    14
See reviews for
249
420
26
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

this hotel is quite classy,just outside the walled town and over the river. a short taxi ride,but worth it as this is one of the nicer hotels. lovely room,great afternoon tea.lovely bar area and friendly helpfull staff. would stay here again. ps great bar life in derry. and the people were fun and welcoming. had a great 3day stay.

Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thegilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leixlip, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

Just had two night break in your hotel. It was perfect, Staff were extremely helpful, friendly & courteous. You have a staff to be proud of, nothing was a problem for them, one nicer than the other. One minor complaint is that the breakfast on Saturday, served as selfservice was a bit cold where as the breakfast we got on Friday which was waiter served was first class. It was our first trip to Derry and you and your staff helped make it a memorable one.
Thanks again.
Mary & Mark Cribbin

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkmy2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

I have just returned from a 2 night break in the Everglades with friends. Everything from the welcome to the food and drink to the most comfortable bed was excellent. From we arrived we were greated by an extremely professional and friendly receptionist. On the first night we ate in the bar, the menu was just what we were looking for at keen prices. On the second night we ate in the restaurant, and this was a very special experience, from the menu to the service, the whole meal was just an excellent experience. The accommodation was very modern with flat screen tv and ipod docking stations to the most comfortable bed i have ever had the pleasure of staying in. Over all the experience and the service is second to none. I stay in hotels all of the time through work, but staying at the Everglades just wasn't another night in a hotel, but a excellent experience. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMCDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

My wife and myself have just returned from a fabulous weekend at the Everglades hotel. The staff were really welcoming, and in particular I would like to mention the reception staff who were always on hand to provide info on shopping, attractions etc. We only ate in the hotel on one of the nights, but the standard of food was excellent, and the service, as in all parts of the hotel really good. My only comment would be that wine was a bit pricey.
Derry itself is a lovely city, and my wife enjoyed spending lots of MY MONEY in the local shops!!
I will be returning to Derry in the not so distant future and will definately be staying at the Everglades.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertslinda14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

Stayed here one Friday night. Felt hotel lacked atmosphere. Bedroom decor was dated. Bed seemed to have a waterproof sheet which was very clammy. Unlikely to stay again. Staff friendly though.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequenttraveller083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2009
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased that you took the time to compliment our staff, as we put alot of time and effort into our customer service and I appreciate your kind remarks. I am dissapointed however, to hear that your overall experience was less than 100%, and I apologise for the inconvenience caused.
Feedback is very important to us, and I can assure you that I will take your comments onboard, to futher improve standards within the hotel. If you would like to discuss your comments further, I would be delighted to hear from you.
Kindest Regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jozy36
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a fabulous weekend stay at the hotel. The food, service and overall ambience of the hotel were great. On the Saturday night there was entertainment in the lounge and it was great to relax in lovely surroundings. I will definately be returning.

  • Liked — The Great Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jozy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
3.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Property: Everglades Hotel
Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing