We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top wedding marks for the Hasting Everglades, Prehen”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We recently celebrated our wedding at the Hastings Everglades Prehen(August 2009). As with any bride and groom we were keen that the‘do’ would reflect us as a couple and put in lots of effort when planning the reception. From the outset, our events manager, Mairead was friendly and helpful in explaining our options. Mairead took on our preferences and gave recommendations that suited our taste. We received all the flexibility needed when deciding, room layout, mealchoices and room reservations etc. When we finally settled on decisions Mairead and fellow staff were efficient in putting the arrangements in place and kept us fully informed of any changes the occurred along the way.

On the day, we didn’t give any thought to all the preparation we had made as we had every confidence that the Everglades were looking after them. As with any wedding couple the day itself flew past in a bit of a daze - but the atmosphere in the lobby and main room was just as we’d hoped. It was a thrill to catch little moments from the toptable as our guests enjoyed all the personal touches we’d brought into our day with the help of the hotel. The meal, course-by-course and catering service throughout the day were superb. Delicious, prompt and hot! Any fears that a kitchen could not provide so many good steaks was unfounded – reference to the main course remains one of the favoured compliments of some male guests who are not easily impressed by dresses, flowers and singing! Victoria,the banqueting manager ensured that the set pieces ran smoothly andcoped well with an impromptu arrival of celebrity guests Messrs T Markham and S Maguire.

For us, the wedding couple, the evening flew and we didn’t get to dance, or to chat, or to relax as much as we would have liked - such is the nature of these exciting and wonderful days. But with thirty odd rooms booked by our own guests we got a comprehensive selection of opinions on the hotel the next day. The room, meal, buffet and staffall got high praise. Special mention was given to bed-comfort, breakfast and the friendliness of the staff - especially from seasoned traveller friends!

Overall, top marks to the Everglades. We continue to acceptcompliments on their behalf as we catch up on all the ‘buzz’ sincereturning from our honeymoon!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuddyHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,256 - 1,262 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2009

after arriving from a long flight from sri lanka i was greeted with a warn welcome from concierge and reception alike.the receptionist explained meal times in a freindly way and offered me the option of the wine and dine menu which was a varied array of dishs and a very reasonable price, which included a bottle of wine!reception also told me of local attractions in the city and if i required transport that could be arranged to suit.the room was very comfortable and relaxing.i have stayed in many 5 star hotels but the bed in which i slepped in at the everglades by far exceedes any other bed, 5 star or not.the breakfast was a good variety of continental foods and the cooked breakfast was a great selection of local produce,all of which were sorced within northern ierland.i stayed close to a week and never tired of the hotel,staff and the standards that were in placei will be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

My boyfriend stayed at the Everglades Hotel on our anniversary...this hotel is simply outstanding. From the roaring open fire and friendly welcome on arrival, to the gastronomic feast that awaited us at dinner, you could not ask for a more wholesome stay. Check in was very efficient and the room was outstanding, I walked in to fine champers and flowers!! These of course were not complimentary, but had been arranged through the fabulous staff at the everglades. Very nice! This theme continued for the durations of our stay, the entire staff could not do enough for us.
On our two night’s stay we eat in house....exquisite is the only word that comes close to describing our meal. The menu was simple and yet varied, with a full selection of meat and fish dishes. We both decided upon the steak and these came exactly the way they were ordered...compliments to the chef, and with a three course meal, a bottle of wine and 2 glasses of desert wine all coming in at under £90, we were very pleasantly surprised.
For breakfast we decided upon room service, this was on time and nice and warm when it reached us, there was an abundance of food which was all very well presented.
For any one who is thinking about staying in Derry/Londonderry, the Everglades hotel ticks all the boxes...u will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nahm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Stayed on a 2 night package which included dinner. Twin Room was clean and comfortable but no air conditioning or double glazing. Hotel is situated between 2 busy roads. Bathroom had a shower only and towels / toiletries for one only.

Restaurant was a bit characterless but the food was excellent. The staff were pleasant but the quality of service was poor and very slow. Trying to catch the attention of staff requires a flare-gun! Some of our dishes went to other tables before we got them and the sitting was not busy. Water was not left on the table and asking for some took three seperate attempts. Pity the menu was not supported by well trained staff. Breakfast was substantial with fine whiskey on offer with the porridge!

The foyer / bar was comfortable but was really annoyed by the DREADFUL muzac / lift music piped throughout the public spaces. It was so loud at one stage it was difficult to hold a convesation. We asked at reception and they kindly turned it down apologising that they were immune to it!

A nice hotel but missing that focus on customer comfort. Internet was a REDICULOUS price at £6 for 90 mins nor were day vouchers available as advertised. Minimal facilities in general. Better hotels on offer closer to the town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IT-nerd-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2009

Dear IT Nerd on-the-road,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on trip advisor. I am pleased that you thought the infrastructure of the hotel was good, and in particular commented on the good food, the substantial breakfast, and the clean and comfortable bedrooms.
I aplogise if the service in the restaurant was poor and very slow. Our staff undergo rigorous training and we are regularly commended on the high level of service that we provide.
Our bedrooms on the floor you stayed in are fitted with secondary glazing to dampen any external noise, and we rarely receive any complaints regarding this.
The music on our lounge/lobby area is of a high quality and changed on a regular basis, and I have never received any complaints regarding it. I apologise if you found it to be loud.
Regarding internet access, we work very closely with BT and BT openzone our provider of wireless internet access throughout the entire property. Due to the high demand we do on occasions run out of 24 hour vouchers, but 'minutes' can be purchased directly from the internet provider via the login screen. We find BT openzone offer an exemplary service and coverage and is very much the leader in the market place.
Thank you once again for your comments, and should you wish to discuss any of your points further, please contact me directly.
Kindest Regards
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

hotel was great from start to finish. wish i had been staying longer.reception was efficient . room was very large and comfortable. everywhere was spotlessly clean and tidy and all the staff were friendly.
meal was a little dearer than i would usually pay but would have been worth twice the price.perfectly cooked and very tasty.restuarant staff were very unintrusive and you felt you could relax for hours over dinner.
bed was extremely large and comfortable although room was a little warm .

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beansandtoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

This was probably the nicest place I stayed at on my trip to Ireland and NI. Rooms were nice and comfortable. Hotel is acoss the river from the center city but easy to get to. Overall this was an excellent place to stay.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank stevenbFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Stayed at the Everglades for nice and relaxing night and boy thats what we had. From check in to check out. Service was nothing but excellent in all public areas from the bar, to reception, The food and service were out of this world with portions and very pleasing on the eye, something no less than 5 star quality. All Staff were very helpful with nothing we asked for being a problem or without a fuss.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingcobra82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
1.2 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £70 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing