We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mixed Bag”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2009

I stayed in this hotel for a long weekend visit to Derry/Londonderry.

It is easy to find, being right on the main A5 road into the city from the south. Parking is more than ample and the welcome at reception was warm. Getting into the city from here is no real problem - only 10 minutes or so by car or taxi.

My room was large and comfortable. The heating was adequate - just as well on this rather cool, breezy weekend - and the bathroom well appointed. The cleaner, however, had a rather patchy attitude towards restocking the in-room tea and coffee making facilities, piles of coffee sachets and a complete lack of teabags being the result!

The easy-to-find location means that there is rather a lot of traffic noise even if, as in my case, your room is not on the side of the hotel next to the road.

The restaurant and bar are nice, with a good selection. The menu in the former is, however, rather expensive. The staff are variable. On my visit, some of the younger servers in particular were inattentive to the point of surliness.

Not bad on the whole, however - you could certainly do a lot worse.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Commodore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,208 - 1,214 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2009

This is a wonderful hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful from the manager right the way down. We spent a weekend here for my 50th birthday. The food was wonderful. Breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. The evening meal was great. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It is a lovely hotel for a romantic break and we will be heading back there again in the near future we hope.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

The Positives;
Great bar and lounge areas,very comfortable.The staff (and there was lots of them)were polite, friendly and helpful,they were also dressed smartly which was nice to see.The proximity to Deri was great and we could walk into Town with ease.It was also a good location for exploring the surrounding areas and the Antrim coast
The negatives
We booked the Hotel based on the reviews on TA,to achieve a 85% positive return takes some doing.Yet I find it difficult to agree with the majority of the comments.We booked into room 208 which is at the back of the hotel,for some reason there was a dreadful smell in the room.In fairness when we mentioned to one of the managers they immediately moved us to room 121.This was an upgrade which we also appreciated and was at the front of the hotel.Unfortunately there is a very,very busy main road at the front of the Hotel.The traffic noise was constant and gave a new meaning to the term sleep deprivation.I'm sure if we had mentioned it to the staff they would have moved us ....but hang on,that would have been 3 moves in 3 nights in a 4 star Hotel.Yet there is little reference to the impact of the traffic within the TA reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesShadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2009

Dear WalesShadwell,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am pleased that you found the staff to be polite,friendly and helpful and that the hotels location was excellent for exploring the surrounding areas. I am also pleased that you found the bar to be great and lounge areas comfortable.
I apologise if your first room had a smell in it, but am pleased that my team reacted accordingly to relocate you to a different room to prevent any inconvenience.
With regards the road noise, we do not hide the fact that the hotel is located beside a major road, however the road noise is minimal between the hours of 9pm and 7am.
With regards to there being no mention of the road noise on trip advisor, I can only summise that this has not been a factor for previous reviewers.
I thank you for taking the time ro review the hotel, and your feedback is extremely important to us.
Kind Regards
Stephen Meldrum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We had a great stay in this hotel!! We have stayed in numerous Hastings Hotels and we have to say the service we recieved is fantastic! We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was first class! There is a very warm atmosphere in the restaurant and the bar. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanMojoBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed at the Everglades on the second night of a weekend visit to Northern Ireland. We chose this hotel as it happened to come up first in a search we did of hotels in Derry and we weren't disappointed with our choice.

All our dealings with reception staff were pleasant and productive, the staff employed at front of house were really very good at welcoming you to the hotel and helping out during your stay. We checked in with no problems at all during a very busy period, a good start to any stay!

Our room was fine for both size and facilities. In addition to the now ubiquitous flat screen tv we also had a radio with iPod dock. A very nice addition! Room was clean and had plenty of space and the bed was great, we both had a very good night's sleep here. Our room was next to the main road into Derry but wasn't a problem at all as the windows must be well sound-proofed and we hardly heard the traffic.

Rather than have dinner at the hotel we decided to go into Derry. Don't be put off by the hotel not being in Derry itself, the taxis here are cheap and the drivers are helpful. We managed to get a restaurant recommendation from ours and weren't disappointed.

Breakfast at the hotel the next morning was another pleasant experience. Staff were attentive and helpful, making sure that plates were cleared away as we finished and checking that we had everything we wanted. Choice of food was plentiful, with several choices sourced locally or from other parts of Northern Ireland, a really nice touch!

All in all, we really enjoyed our short stay at this hotel. We did notice that there are some less than favourable reviews but can only assume that the Everglades has paid attention to these and improved service as we had no complaints at all.

This is a good base to explore the area from. Only one point of warning, don't expect to find any shops open on a Sunday morning in Derry, the receptionist told us there's not much on the go before 1pm. Not a problem for us as we had a lovely quiet wander of the town and its famous walls but worth bearing in mind.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghYogachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We recently celebrated our wedding at the Hastings Everglades Prehen(August 2009). As with any bride and groom we were keen that the‘do’ would reflect us as a couple and put in lots of effort when planning the reception. From the outset, our events manager, Mairead was friendly and helpful in explaining our options. Mairead took on our preferences and gave recommendations that suited our taste. We received all the flexibility needed when deciding, room layout, mealchoices and room reservations etc. When we finally settled on decisions Mairead and fellow staff were efficient in putting the arrangements in place and kept us fully informed of any changes the occurred along the way.

On the day, we didn’t give any thought to all the preparation we had made as we had every confidence that the Everglades were looking after them. As with any wedding couple the day itself flew past in a bit of a daze - but the atmosphere in the lobby and main room was just as we’d hoped. It was a thrill to catch little moments from the toptable as our guests enjoyed all the personal touches we’d brought into our day with the help of the hotel. The meal, course-by-course and catering service throughout the day were superb. Delicious, prompt and hot! Any fears that a kitchen could not provide so many good steaks was unfounded – reference to the main course remains one of the favoured compliments of some male guests who are not easily impressed by dresses, flowers and singing! Victoria,the banqueting manager ensured that the set pieces ran smoothly andcoped well with an impromptu arrival of celebrity guests Messrs T Markham and S Maguire.

For us, the wedding couple, the evening flew and we didn’t get to dance, or to chat, or to relax as much as we would have liked - such is the nature of these exciting and wonderful days. But with thirty odd rooms booked by our own guests we got a comprehensive selection of opinions on the hotel the next day. The room, meal, buffet and staffall got high praise. Special mention was given to bed-comfort, breakfast and the friendliness of the staff - especially from seasoned traveller friends!

Overall, top marks to the Everglades. We continue to acceptcompliments on their behalf as we catch up on all the ‘buzz’ sincereturning from our honeymoon!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuddyHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

after arriving from a long flight from sri lanka i was greeted with a warn welcome from concierge and reception alike.the receptionist explained meal times in a freindly way and offered me the option of the wine and dine menu which was a varied array of dishs and a very reasonable price, which included a bottle of wine!reception also told me of local attractions in the city and if i required transport that could be arranged to suit.the room was very comfortable and relaxing.i have stayed in many 5 star hotels but the bed in which i slepped in at the everglades by far exceedes any other bed, 5 star or not.the breakfast was a good variety of continental foods and the cooked breakfast was a great selection of local produce,all of which were sorced within northern ierland.i stayed close to a week and never tired of the hotel,staff and the standards that were in placei will be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,075 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
545 reviews
2.5 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £69 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing