We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
N Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Old Wordly Hotel. Had lovely meal. Very Attentive staff, bedrooms spotlessly clean. Bed extremely comfortable.

All in all lovely overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inanticipation!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2011
Dear inanticipation!,

thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay, i hope you visit us soon so you can see first hand the redecoration we have just completed in the hotel. i hope to see you again some time soon


Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    203
    75
    23
    14
See reviews for
260
440
27
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We stayed for one night in Jan and we had a great time. We booked an offer than included a four course meal in the restaurant in the evening, irish breakfast in the morning and the hotel included a free ticket to the city walking tour. It was an excellent value for money package.

The food was excellent both for dinner and breakfast.

The staff at the hotel were very helpful, they booked us a taxi tour of the murals and when we returned gave us a complimentary tea to heat us when we returned. All staff that we met were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is probably 20 mins walk from the centre of Derry along a busy road (with pavements.) We walked it a couple of times and found it fine, people we met on the road were very friendly and said hello. Taxi to the town would not be expensive if want to avoid the walk.

I must admit, a very good stay indeed. I am recommending my parents stay there this summer.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Hutchison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2011
Hi Chris,

i am delighted to hear the staff and indeed the people of the city, treated you so well. i am very proud of the team here at the hotel, they are all dedicated to ensureing you have the best stay possible. i know your parents will love their stay to.


stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Me & my new husband got married in the Everlglades in October 2010. We originally booked a venue over the boarder but then decided to change to the Everglades as we had a lot of people coming from England and it was easier to have everything happen in Derry.

I cannot speak highly enough of Stephen and his team. Our wedding day was magical and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Our wedding coordinator Mairead was professional every step of the way. We had a lot of guests who stayed in the Everglades for the weekend and also praised the customer service and facilities. Myself and a lot of my guests also work in the hotel business.

For anybody who is considering having their wedding reception over the boarder I would suggest you take a look at the Everglades first. Their function room is lovely, food great and customer service is 5*. The bar prices work out cheaper for your guests and nobody needs to worry about the expense of staying over or paying expensive taxi fares back to Derry.

I wish the Everglades best wishes for the future - a fabulous hotel with fabulous staff who make the hotel a special venue.

Claire & Nav

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon55werk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EvergladesManager, General Manager at Everglades Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2011
Dear Claire & Nav,

thank you for your kind words, it was an honour for me and my team to be a part of your special day. i am delighted to hear you and you family had a great time. i hope you both had a great hooneymoon and are settling in to life as normal again. please come back and see us when you can.


Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

The hotel is definitely in a class of its own. Nice tray of fruit in the room, fudge and boiled sweets. Beautiful suite, decorated to a high standard. Large bed very comfortable, solid building, not street noise. Looking forward to the next stay

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

My husband and I stayed there over Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly.It was excellent value for money. The room was very comfortable, spotless and very warm. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwouldlovetogoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

My husband and I stayed here in September to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From booking our break right through to check-out, the staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Our room was bright and spacious. The bathroom was spotless and there was plenty of towels and bathrobes provided.

We had dinner in the restaurant which we could not fault. The bar was lovely..and I really enjoyed the cosmopolitans (maybe a bit too much!)

Breakfast was plentiful and all was well cooked and very tasty. I would definitely go back here, in fact my husband and I have recently been talking about returning (maybe for his birthday later this month)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northern_munchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We were there for 3 nights.

The staff at this hotel are amazing. I've stayed at a variety of hotels, including the Ritz, etc. and the service was comparable.

I have multiple food allergies and the meals they pulled together for me were amazing.I have never been so well acccommodated on this front.

Our travel plans kept changing due to incredible flight delays and they communicated very well via email (I was on my iPhone - I didn't want to make various roaming/long distance calls from airports all over the world).

We were there during "the coldest winter in years" so they were trying to keep up with heating. They did a pretty good job. Hotels across Northern Ireland were closing due to problems related to the weather, but the Everglades stayed open and kept the standard high.

The rooms were pretty nice. There is no central air, which I think is somewhat normal for NI, so it felt a little humid - but this is NI in December. A few days in a row, the cleaning staff forgot to bring towels, but when I called the front desk, towels were brought in under 3 minutes and with apologies.

I needed clothes laundered but all the landry services were closed due to bank holidays. Somehow they got my clothes washed and folded. I think a staff member did it on off hours. I was so incredibly impressed.

In any case, I will always stay at the Everglades when I travel to Derry. It seems to be, by far, the best option in town.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayths27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,014 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
565 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 13 in Derry
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Property: Everglades Hotel
Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing