We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Groarty House & Manor B&B
Ranked #13 of 46 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Took my girlfriend here for her birthday and was very impressed. The family there were very friendly and helpful. They have a great knowledge of the local hotspots and restaurants and even went so far as to drive us into the town centre for a night out. It's situated in a beautiful area surrounded by countryside and some great views and it's really peaceful and quiet. I would recommend this to anyone and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurence b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

My family spent two nights at the Groarty House and we were very please. The room was large and spacious. We had a quiet's nights rest. John and Margaret were wonderful. They took care of us like we were family. The breakfast was great. I highly recommend a stay at Groarty House and Manor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The owners are the most welcoming and helpful I have ever met. Lovely accommodation in a quiet country setting yet only five minutes from shops and the city biz.
For a real joy turn left out the drive and in a few minutes you are in wonderful Donegal.

Room Tip: Don't miss the "famine village". The historical info is brill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband, my 1-year-old daughter and I stayed at this beautiful B&B for 4 nights, and we loved it!! The house itself is in great condition, the room was spacious and bright and the bathroom really big. The bed is huge and very comfortable. The outdoor area is beautiful. Breakfast is very good and plentiful. The staff was very helpful. It is located just a short drive from Derry city center, but that isn't a problem if you're traveling by car. And private parking is available.
If you're looking for peace and quiet at night, this is your best choice in Derry.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaHeFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groarty, Owner at Groarty House & Manor B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write this review,
The staff and management do appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

From the minute we arrived we were welcomed by John and Margaret, a short drive from Londonderry, car parking was easy and quiet (ideal for our classic car trip), our room was spacious, very clean and all facilities were modern and to a very good standard. John helped us choose a great place for dinner in Londonderry. Breakfast was fresh and plentyful - more than we could manage. We cannot recommend Groarty House highly enough. Thank you.

Room Tip: Our room had a great view of Londonderry - particularly at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groarty, Owner at Groarty House & Manor B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Thanks Robert
Your kind remarks and positive feedback is much appreciated by ourselves and our staff,
Your Morgan is a beautiful car, and the photos came out well
Hope we can be of service to you is the future and if no you tell your friends.
Regards
All at Groarty House/ Manor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Outdoor area very pretty. That's it. Best to stay outside- you may have to because if you arrive even a minute before check in from Mon-Friday you will not be allowed in. Very poor attention to detail. Messy. Our room had a beautiful big window that looked out on to debris and the garbage bins just adjacent to it. A large piece of property and these certainly had many alternative locations. Bathroom had dried soap scum on the soap dish, 2 dead plants and many dead midges on the windowsills. When we mentioned this we were told it would be attended to while we were out but it was not. If it hadn't been so late, and we weren't so exhausted, we would have left. We slept, had a bad breakfast where the leftover bread and cold toast from another table's basket was thrown on our table. "This will get you started." The owner actually asked us to go on trip advisor and give a positive review because the place hasn't been doing as well as he hoped. This is a second income business for the owners and it is clear that they don't have the time or desire to make it the place it could be. I am shocked and appalled that it had such a high rating in trip advisor. Have a high index of suspicion regarding this place.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmagc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groarty, Owner at Groarty House & Manor B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Sorry your stay with us at Groarty House & Manor was not up to your expectations. We have been providing accommodation since 1993 and this is the first review headed “Terrible” we have received in all those years. Now to address the issues you have raised in your review.
You arrived on the evening of Thursday 16th August, a member of staff was in the house at 4.30pm. She has told us that it was a considerable time after her arrival before you came to the door. Regarding Check-In time, it clearly states on your reservation confirmation letter that Check –In, Monday – Friday is 5p.m.
Regarding the room. The staff member who showed you to your room that you reserved, which was a Double room with separate bathroom. This is the cheapest room we have and whether you were expecting an ensuite room for £50.00 and were disappointed, I don’t know. But we could have offered you an upgrade to an ensuite room for £10 more if you had said.
Our staff member said there was no mention of dead plants or Dead Midges in the bathroom windowsill. This bedroom has a view of the farm yard and the back door of the house and yes there are 2 Wheelie bins which have never been a problem before!
Regarding Breakfast! If you think we would put our reputation at risk by recycling cold toast from another table and in your words “was thrown on your table”, this did not and would not happen.
Regarding TripAdvisor! TripAdvisor do encourage us to ask guests to leave a review on the TripAdvisor web site, which we do. Some guests do, but most do not!
Your last two points regarding our attention to our Accommodation Provision, work life and our high rating on TripAdvisor, we take great offence at your inference that they are in some way untrue and manufactured as I’am sure TripAdvisor admin. staff would be of the same opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Groarty House & Manor B&B is located just a short drive from Derry city in beautiful countryside. We booked a room at the B&B for one night whilst touring around Northern Ireland. A very friendly welcome from host Margaret on arrival, we were shown to our room which was in Groarty House. Room was located on the ground floor and the bathroom was upstairs. The house was definitely in need of some modernisation although it was very cozy and comfortable. Breakfast was served in Groarty Manor next door which is a new house and very nicely done out to a high standard inside. We were asked on arrival what we'd like for breakfast and at what time we'd like it served. Free wi-fi was available which was very useful. The B&B is located just a short drive out of Derry and Margaret gave us a useful map to assist us in getting back into the city centre in the evening.
All in a good place to stay which we'd recommend but preferably in Groarty Manor instead of Groarty House.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in Groarty Manor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePurpleScorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
2.7 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#2 of 46 in Derry
91 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Abbey Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Serendipity House
Serendipity House
#8 of 46 in Derry
318 reviews
2.1 mi away
City Centre B&B
City Centre B&B
#24 of 46 in Derry
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Groarty House & Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groarty House & Manor B&B

Address: 62/64 Groarty Road, Derry BT48 0JY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: £42 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Groarty House & Manor B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Groarty House & Manor B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groarty House & Manor B&B Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing