We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Groarty House & Manor B&B
Ranked #14 of 43 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Very warm and friendly house, rooms are very spacious, new and clean. Friendly staff and nice breakfast. It is in a very quiet area, great location if you wish to visit Derry and have a nice night sleep in the surroundings. Thanks for a great time in your BB .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    33
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
117
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very warm and friendly house, rooms are very spacious, new and and clean. Friendly staff and nice breakfast. It is in a very quiet area, great location if you wish to visit Derry and have a nice night sleep in the surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el3nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A modern well appointed BnB with large rooms. Margaret was very welcoming and we had a great cooked breakfast. The shower was hot and strong, the best we have had in Ireland so far. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome from Margaret on our arrival. Very relaxed atmosphere and beautiful surroundings. We had a party in Derry and cab was only £4, which shocked us as used to London prices.

Had everything we needed and able to have a good nights sleep in the quiet surroundings. Decided not to have a full Irish breakfast but the scrabbled egg was great!

If you are looking for a quiet location but great access to Derry and the coast, this is a great location and very good price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

After traveling for several weeks in the same price range, Groarty House B&B was like a bit of fresh air. Everything was clean, fresh, quiet and relaxing in this accomodation that was built only 6 years ago specifically to be a bed and breakfast. Plenty of open shelving, an in-room safe and that great shower in a large room with windows on two sides. Ample free and secure parking. Located only 3 miles from downtown, it was nice to wake up to the sound of cows instead of delivery trucks. Breakfast was very good and included good healthy options like a variety of fresh fruit, as well as, good cereal choices and yogurts. When we decided not to drive into Londonderry, we found the cab to be only 4 eros. The owners went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and share their knowlege of the area. We were directed to Quay West which was a really nice restaurant that offered good food and had a great promotion happening where everything was 30% off. I would definitely go back to Groarty and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

From the warm welcome to the outstanding view from the manor this was one the best places I have stayed in while working around northern Ireland. The owners were very welcoming and went over and above for me. A definite must place to stay at if you are planning a visit to Derry or surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonicboom2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Going by other peoples' reviews I was looking forward to staying at Groarty House for one night while I was in the area. I stayed in the older of the two buildings and had breakfast in the new building. The room was a good size and I thought the eclectic mix of older style furniture suited the house. The bed was very comfortable and the shower and TV were fine. Groarty House is in a lovely peaceful country location and isn't too hard to find with sat nav and a map. Margaret is very friendly and welcoming and everything got off to a good start.
However, a man in the next room talked loudly until nearly midnight and kept me awake. I turned the sound up on the TV to drown him out. I didn't want to complain because it wasn't that late for people on holiday but I had meetings the next day and I was looking forward to a long sleep. Maybe the walls are thin. The bathroom is OK but could do with an update. It is a bit dim and the light over the sink didn't work at all so I had to do my makeup by the bedroom window. One on the bedside lamps wasn't working either. There were cigarette butts on either side of the front door. Obviously people can't smoke in the house so maybe there should be a ash tray provided outside. Or at the very least sweep up the butts. I was looking forward to the breakfast based on other peoples' comments but I was disappointed. I had bacon and egg. The egg was cooked to order but the bacon had been cooked earlier and wasn't nice. There is some clutter in parts of the house which would look better if it was tidied away.
All in all this is a nice place to stay but with a bit more care it could be great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellygreen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.5 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,993 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
541 reviews
2.5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,232 reviews
3.9 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 12 in Derry
517 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#4 of 43 in Derry
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Groarty House & Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groarty House & Manor B&B

Property: Groarty House & Manor B&B
Address: 62/64 Groarty Road, Derry BT48 0JY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Groarty House & Manor B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Groarty House & Manor B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groarty House & Manor B&B Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing