We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by management at the wedding entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We booked a family wedding and agrees that as long as we took so many rooms we could have the music playing to 3.00am. So we booked a band first then a disco for later.
When it came to 1.00am Patsy went to the DJ, who had only been playing for 5mins and told him to pack up.
Very disappointed as we had taken the rooms as requested, we did not need the rooms as we lived local, Watch what you agree, get it in writing, our only mistake.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank georgefrombelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2011

We had our wedding on 15th April for 220 guests and it was an amazing day - the canapes to begin with we apparently fantastic - although the wedding party didn't get any which was a pity, the dinner was first class and everyone had their meat cooked to their liking - there was no shortage of wine top ups! The service was amazing and all the staff at the Beech Hill were very attentive and accomodating! We stayed for the weekend along with many of our guests and were treated fantastically!!!

Room Tip: The suites are lovely and reasonable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KELLEYMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

The Beech Hill is a beautiful, charming hotel not far from Derry city centre. We had our wedding here and Patsy and her staff arranged the whole day perfectly. We could not fault anything, the food and wine was excellent, the grounds are kept beautifully, it really is a hidden gem in Derry. If you are looking for somewhere quiet and relaxing then you have to stay in this hotel.

We stayed in the Master Suite, tucked away in the main house, which has lots of character with views overlooking the grounds. Family stayed in the new extension, which is just as beautiful which looked directly out onto the lawn and surrounding grounds.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Country_girl005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

As a business trip location for Derry area this is the best. I have been a number of times and always come back despite the choice in the area.
Location is rural yet 5 minutes out of Derry. Over 30 acres of land with lakes, waterfalls, country walks (bring jogging shoes for the walks).
Every bedroom furnished differently including antique furniture in keeping with the age of the hotel which goes back to the 1700s and part Victorian. If you dont like the old rooms ask to stay in the rooms built 2000.
Award winning restaurant, current Derry restaurant of the year. Organic foods.
Excellent English Chef.
Family owned and very welcoming what more can I say.
There is a lift if you are disabled

Room Tip: I ask for the Executive suites 50 and 51
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

The food sold this place to me. Although, the gardens, rooms, staff and charm are also wonderful. Forget about your standardised. boring and characterless hotel rooms. This place has oodles of charm, reflects the changing and erratic history of the building and embraces all that is best to offer in this beautiful area.

Whilst I found all to be in good order I would like to highlight, in particular, the wonderful two dinners I had at this hotel.. The roast lamb was simply the best I have ever had. Patsy (owner) explained to me how they source all their meats and vegetables and was very proud to let me know that the animals they use are their own, bred, reared and kept on a farm for the their own use. And she said "you can taste the difference".

I am going back. Already booked!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

This is a lovely country house hotel with such a helpful and friendly staff that it felt just like being at home. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the food and service of a high standard. I would heartily recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing break where it is not necessary to leave the hotel and grounds but as it is situated only a few miles from Londonderry centre there is a lot to see and do in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShangrilaPortadown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Just back from a fantastic stay at the Beech Hill, thanks to Patsy and her wonderful staff we spent a very special 2 days there to celebrate my Mum and Dads golden wedding anniversary, we had afternoon tea when we arrived with freshly baked scones, sandwiches, and pastries which were all delicious, dinner and breakfast were equally delicious, the salmon and rib eye steak which my husband and i had for dinner were so good and the breakfast with the choice of cereal, toast, porridge, fresh fruit or a full irish breakfast was all so tasty.
The superior rooms were huge, luxurious and the beds were so comfortable.
Take a walk through the beautiful gardens with the little bridges and the waterwheel, lovely for photos, two wedding parties actually stopped by to get photos taken in the gardens while we were there.
Patsy was such a welcoming host and had a chat with everyone, nothing was too much trouble for her and her staff and we will definitely be back at the Beech Hill in the very near future

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nrobinson62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
698 reviews
2.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,308 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.1 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
2.7 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £81 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing