We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Buncrana, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and good food”
Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

Tis hotel is really lovely ans set in a remote locate which is very accessible to Derry city council. The food is really really good and service is brilliant

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    146
    60
    32
    20
See reviews for
141
392
19
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Had a lovely stay at Beech Hill, grounds are really lovely for a nice stroll before bed. En-suite was very basic, had obviously been part of the bedroom, however was clean & functional, plus there was a large roll-top bath in the bedroom! The only negative point was that the cooked breakfast was not cooked fresh for you but kept warm in hot plates so unless you were down early enough the bread gets really tough.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lap06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We had the absolute pleasure to hold our daughter's Holy Communion Meal at the Beech Hill last Saturday & a real pleasure it was too! From very obligingly accomdating us on our menu options prior to the event, to the exceptional standard of the food on the day and the extremely attentive service at table, we had the most pleasurable dining experience. We were also granted a private room (the library) which really added to the occasion. Some of our party were first timers to this venue and were also highly impressed. Attention to detail really pays off at the Beech Hill and we intend to repeat the experience many times in the future. Well done and a big thank you to all. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oystersstrabane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Our room was standard double which was small. Two very small chairs for sitting on - sat on the bed most of the time. We tried to book the restaurant at 3.30pm for an evening meal but was told there was nothing available until 8.30 pm, because all the staff were being used for a wedding. Went to our room and looked the book in the room which stated the restaurant was available from 6.00pm. It did not say anywhere that this would vary if there was a wedding on. They offer a lighter options menu, and we decided that would do us. We went back to reception and the receptionist went to enquire for us and came back and said 'sorry'. There was a second receptionist on and she asked us "were we residents?", to which we replied "yes". She said she would enquire for us, and she came back and said "you are booked for 5pm". The food is excellent but very disappointing about booking the restaurant. It seems a wedding takes precedence over other residents.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BELFAST
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My wife and I stayed a few weeks back, it was a sunny day and the gardens and hotel looked stunning. The check-in staff were pleasant and as our key was being located my wife and I were whispering 'why haven't we heard of this place before?' The reasons why we hadn't heard of the hotel before we needed somewhere in Derry became clear fairly quickly. Shaving light out in ensuite, two large ornaments in room are actually lamps with the light fixtures cut off, the king size bed is two singes pushed together, the 'library' is a weird room with a musty smell and very few books, breakfast was an absolute shambles with no bacon / potato bread / fried egg and the coffee arrived 30 mins after arriving in the breakfast room. Having paid 120 for the night I expected a lot better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We took the opportunity of a late deal at Easter. The room was a lovely but somewhat tired- eg hook on the back of door not screwed on properly, shaving mirror light not working, towel ring broken.However, it was comfortable and adequate. On the landing outside our room the roof was leaking, and a bucket was catching the drips!! Hardly what you expect!
The choice at dinner ( one meal included in deal ) was very limited- with only 3 starters, mains and desserts. However, what we ordered was quite delicious and well served.
The grounds were very attractive and our dog was made very welcome. The staff were all very friendly.
It was a good break, and we would return- but only on a deal.
Note that despite what it says on some sites- there is no leisure suite.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Food is five star and I'm extremely picky. I went here for as a birthday treat and was treated like royalty. I got three courses for £20, which for what I got was great value. The soup was seasoned so well I didn't need salt or pepper. The fish, some of the best I've had, the chocolate pudding divine. I'm a real foodie and I've eaten in so many places. This was a memorable experience. I did not stay over but would consider it. Staff were so attentive but not in your face.

Room Tip: If you go early in the evening the restaurant is quieter and really peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
592 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,048 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,251 reviews
2.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
534 reviews
3.6 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Property: Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing