We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent country house experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed three nights in Beech Hill Country House recently (midweek), and had a very comfortable and cosy stay. There are rooms in both the older house and in the newer extension, but both are very well furnished, there are period pieces of furniture and at least one room has a four poster bed! The lounge is a great place to laze away an inclement afternoon reading, getting afternoon tea, or having a drink: the two fires at either end of the room make it warm and provide a focus. For the more energetic there are some 32 acres of wooded grounds with paths laid out, and recently more walks have been created. The restaurant provides both table d'hote and a la carte very reasonably priced menus, the food is nicely prepared and presented, and the wine list contains a good range both by geographical region and by price. Breakfast has a wide choice of dishes (for example pancakes with smoked salmon or fresh fruit).The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful - the advantage of an independently run and owned establishment. Highly recommended for that short break to Derry/Donegal, without staying in the city of Derry, or for that wedding or a business meeting (there is a large room suitable for these purposes and there is also free wifi).

Room Tip: They are all different! However they have recently added a new room with a "wet room" bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajpdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

We had 5 large rooms and all different but all good. The restaurant serves excellent food, the staff are friendly and helpful. It is a quiet location with attractive grounds and although a wedding party was there during our stay it was unobtrusive. We would be very happy to go back. We stayed for 2 nights as part of our tour of Ireland and on the middle day went to the Giants Causeway. That was a mistake as it was a Saturday, the hottest day of the year and thousands of others also went to see the Giants Causeway. We did have lunch at the pretty harbour at Ballintoy which was well worth a visit.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Blueqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Decided to book an overnight stay here for my partners birthday and, i have to say, it was lovely. We had a standard room which was in the new wing, everything was shiny and new. Big comfy bed, ample storage space and a fab ensuite wet room.
The heating wasnt on in the room when we arrived but all it took as a call to reception and within half an hour the room was toasty warm.
The grounds were lovely, yes, i agree that they are not finished and the paths were a bit muddy but the weather has been awful this year. For a gentle stroll, they are fine.
The restaurant early evening dinner menu as great - £21.95 for 3 courses and each course was a healthy size. The wine was a bit pricey but we are in a 4 * hotel.
Breakfast was very good, plenty of breads, fruits and juices, and a very good choice of menu.
The Beech Hill was very good and I would not hesitate to stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamelab1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

we had traveld to Londonderry for a stay and popped in to have a look around for a future trip.
the welcome from the hotel was wonderful, shown around the hotel to many bedroom to see.and then given a tour of all public rooms.followed by coffee compliments of the hotel.
this is old fashioned exceptional service,
and so glad to have found it and the wonderful location in spacious grounds, yet just three miles away from the city.
i can not wait till June next year and our week long stay
this place is a jewel

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blucruiser64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed in Beech Hill this time with friends from Australia. Again a fantastic stay the room was large spotlessly clean and the views from the room were wonderful, the check in was smooth and the food was so tasty and service was fantastic both at dinner and breakfast.Our friends had never stayed in such a awesome place before and were overwhelmed by the hotel, food and the service. We are going back later in the year its the best hotel for couples my husband and I have ever stayed in throughout all Ireland.

Room Tip: Depends if you want an old type room or modern your pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wentaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My first stay wont be my last,A step back in time from you drive into the grounds as you then walk through the doors witch was once a base for us marines and then with a warm welcome from Brenda on reception and shown to are large room with comfy very large bed in the new wing, the grounds are well looked after and nice for walking the dog in this pet friendly hotel, on the first nite we sat outside and had a meal from the early option menu and a drink from the bar, the free wi fi is handy with a good nites sleep followed by a tasty breakfast and ready to start a new day, we stayed for five nites and enjoyed a good evening meal from the menu witch changed each day with most of the veg coming from the hotel garden and there was also the al la cart menu to choose from, Patsy always had time for a chat and warm smile and Brenda always helpful aswell as the rest of the staff i can see why Bill Clinton has stayed here a few times

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALANCODOWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

There was a friedly welcome. We could park the motorbike directly in front of the reception outside the front window. Our room was nice furnitured and with ocean view. There was delicious food and good service in the restaurant. Next morning we got a perfect breakfast.
Free complimentary WIFI would bring the 5th point...

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wichmannm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
639 reviews
2.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,267 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.1 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
2.7 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £91 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing