We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful friendly and relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful friendly and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night on our way back from ballyliffin spa and lough eske castle. Came into beechill house and a welcome like no other. An upgrade was given without even asking. Ashley I want to thank you for the tour and if you where at the front of some of the places we have been, well I'd go back and back we are coming to beechill house. The grounds and the staff are truly lovely and I can see why so many famous people stay. Thank you again and see you soon x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    134
    58
    31
    19
See reviews for
129
363
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed one night in this fine hotel as we were in town for a birthday party. Quaint, distinctive and full of history it is a great spot if you want a hotel close enough to the city but away from the bustle. Our room boasted two windows with views across the lawns, a huge bed and was as clean as a whistle. We dined well and enjoyed a leisurely breakfast next morning, in company with the wedding party from the day before. The staff are fantastic, nothing too much trouble and all done with a smile. For those interested in history there is a room with memorabilia of the US Marines based in the big house during the second World War. The hotel retains its links with the Marines and you can read the story around the walls. There are a series of easy walks around the extensive wooded grounds. Give yourself a treat and stay a night or two in this gem in the North West.

Room Tip: Try for one with views across the lawns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
226 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We were at Beech Hill for two nights, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Beech Hill is the former home of one of the major players in the Irish judicial system. He had to sell the home during "The Troubles" because the British army concluded that there was no way to provide the necessary security - it is an old country estate that was actually a major US Marine base prior to and during WWII, so the house is surrounded by woods with walking trails. It was also used as the place of residence for the investigators who looked into the Good Friday Massacre, and previous guests include Bill and Hilary Clinton. While it is too far to practically walk to downtown Derry, the walking trails surrounding the hotel provide more than enough opportunity for exercise.

Our room was in the old part of the hotel. The room was small and quaint, but comfortable. The bathroom offered ample hot water, but limited space for the dopp bag and toiletries that inevitably accompany travelers.

The hotel offers free WiFi, and while we were able to access the net from our room, signal strength was limited.

The staff were friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: While we enjoyed our room in the historic part of the hotel, I suspect the new wing would be more co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monophoto-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We ended a long day of driving in N. Ireland at Beech Hill. What a great, restful surprise. Since our stay was in the middle of the week, both couples traveling were upgraded to Jr. Suites. HUGE rooms, all the amenities anyone would expect and a very relaxing, quiet evening.

Once we freshened up, we went to dinner, and what a delicious, amazing dinner! We were seated by the windows overlooking the pond and grounds; very nice. I would encourage you to stay @ Beech Hill and definitely eat there. Brkfst the next morning was excellent, service great, a wide selection to choose from on the continential brkfst, I had a delicious omlete, great coffee.

I'd also say the Beech Hill is in a great location, just a few minutes from the city. If you want ideas for shopping or sight-seeing, we found the receptionist extremely friendly and very helpful. You can't go wrong with Beech Hill!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrLandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had a two night stay at the Beech Hill in a beautiful spacious bedroom overlooking the well kept garden. The setting of this country hotel is both peaceful and restful with the walks and the water wheel to enjoy.The hotel houses a small museum illustrating the involvement of the American troops stay during the second world war and also many photos of famous people who have stayed.
The food is of a very high quality presented well. All the staff were excellent and helpful in advising us about attractions etc.
We hope to return early next year .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 351Mackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We found this hotel to be a very welcoming and efficient surprise - after leaving a very disappointing hotel in Donegal. Food was well prepared and presented by pleasant staff. The hotel is nicely furnished and Room 75 comfortable and nice to sleep in!!
We found this hotel to be the best in our tour of Ireland and look forward to returning before the Winter arrived.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken77708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
245 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

This is a huge mansion that was converted into a hotel. Everything about the place is is warm and welcoming. The rooms were a nice size and well equipped with everything except for a coffee / tea maker. From a cleanliness perspective, everything on the property was maintained and cleaned immaculately. You will find nothing out of place. There is much history in this place. Bill Clinton stayed here when he helped to broker a peace settlement between the northern and southern parts of Ireland. Besides Bill Clinton, a number of famous military officers have stayed at Beech Hill.
Although there are wifi routers all over the place on all floors, I had a very difficult time picking up even a 2G wifi signal.
Beech Hill is one of those places where you always feel underdressed. You kind of feel that you should have a jacket and tie on just to walk through the lobby and the bar area. As for dinner, anything less that a suit with tie would probably make you feel out of place. We did not have dinner at the hotel because the 45 pound charge for a complete five course dinner was not within our budget. The included breakfast was very nice and the buffet was well stocked. Hot items such as eggs, sausage, and omelets were cooked to order.
In summary, we stayed at the Beech Hill because it was part of a tour package that we purchased. This is the type of place where you would take your spouse for a romantic weekend away from everyone, not necessarily for a casual getaway. Still, there is very little you could complain about at this hotel.

Room Tip: You will get a much better wifi signal on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evans81051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
3.6 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Property: Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing