We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas getaway break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Christmas getaway break”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay here over christmas it was our second stay here and it was great we were even put in the same room which was perfect this hotel is outstanding and the staff can't do enough for you . Would highly recommend a stay here for anyone at anytime of the year ,

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bigrig1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    143
    59
    32
    20
See reviews for
138
386
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Ambience is everything.
The reception were very welcoming.
The hall was nicely decorated with christmas decorations.
We were escorted to our room which was a mile away from reception.
It didn't matter. the room was huge. Bed magnificent. Bathroom neat and clean. Towels too small.
We stayed for dinner because of the rain and winds- good decision. the early evening menu is giood value and the food very good. I took the Salmon followed by apple crumble. It tasted as though the chef really cared.
Breakfast was excellent - Muesli with fresh fruits- Ulster fry and pain au chocolat. Excellent flavours and a view over the lake and mill wheel.
We came back to the hotel for afternoot tea which was nearly as good as the Ritz in London.
Sitting at teh warm fire- there was no better way to spend a winter evening.
i'd recommend it to anybody!

Room Tip: Room 58 overlooks the wedding Marquee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seeburg3Leixfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehead
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband, myself and a friend stayed for New Year's Eve. Gourmet meal was beautiful, and served well on a very busy night Surroundings are great and staff were attentive. I had upgraded to a master suite. The suite was spacious and luxurious but to be picky I expected bath robes and the phone didn't work. Overall we had a lovely time in the cosy atmosphere and would definately recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shamrock35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft lauderdale
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

What a great find in Derry, classic country house hotel, very spacious rooms, clean, attentive staff, lovely restaurant and bar, food was excellent, we were there on a very busy Christmas party night, staff were under pressure but very professional and attentive.

Room Tip: Great place for a special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishaFtlauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Heard so much good things about this place and I was really looking forward to our stay, however it was nothing special, it was actually one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed. Rooms were fine, could do with some new lick of paints but they were ok to stay a night or two. The staff were nice and friendly except this particular woman at the reception, she was old fashioned and rude. Maybe it's just me, when I stayed in hotels I would like to feel welcomed and not made to feel as I am intruding someone's life, to be fair the hotel was buzzing with a wedding party and there were few couples looking to view the place for the wedding however it still doesn't give excuses for rudeness. It's a nice hotel with plenty of history and rich characters but not for me.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SuShi_luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Staying at Beech Hill Country House in Derry is always a treat. The hotel is a wonderful old building with a new wing added to it.

The house is steeped in history - the house and grounds served as an American base for many years and has a wonderful display of artifacts to illustrate it including a quoset hut on the grounds. The grounds are extensive and there is a great set of walking trails that you can use to walk off the fabulous food that you will eat there.

Beech Hill has one of the best hotel restaurants that I have eaten in a country house hotel. The food is imaginatively prepared with fresh locally sourced food. Everything is tasty and comes in a well sized portion. I have had the fortune to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner at Beech Hill and have enjoyed all three equally. Breakfast was cooked to order and lovely.

My room was in the old wing - it was HUGE with lovely antique furnishings augmented by the mod cons of strong wifi and and a good flat screen television. The bathroom was a bit cavernous but had a great stocky of fluffy towels and plenty of hot water.

The family that owns Beech Hill are delightful and when they have time are happy to tell you the stories of the photos of famous people on their wall. A lot of the peace negotiations in recent years have taken place on their property.

A short drive from the centre of Derry - it is well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old house are done in antiques. The rooms in the new wing are a bit more contemporary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachellejv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverview
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

went for Boxing Day 2013 sunday lunch,
I have a 9 month old, there is no baby facilities, told by rude female at reception to use a day room, another words, change your baby on the sofa !! her attitude was terrible, and most unapproachable !! this is not good enough for a so called hotel !!!!!!
baby chair was cheap plastic and broken, when asked for another it was also broken also !!
where is the safety for babies !!!!
main course duck came out cold and on cold plates for 3 of our party, when we told staff they did replace it warm!!
rip off price for child 2 plain sausages (no chip)s and 1 ice cream cost £9
overall our 3rd time in the past year and no improvements....do not ever intend on going back and we live local, there are many better hotels and restaurant's in the area !!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunflowerRiverview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
565 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
2.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,237 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
3.6 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Property: Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing