We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a lovely hotel with great staff who are extremely helpful and polite.
There is a nice small lounge area with a bar for pre dinner drinks. We had a very enjoyable
dinner, again with very good efficient service. The hotel is a little old fashioned but very quirky and we will most definitely return soon. Rooms are lovely with great space, toiletries could be of
a better standard. Overall this is a lovely place for a nice quiet break and it's real strong point
are the helpful and caring staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damian044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Went here for a weekend break, booked late, so it wasn't cheap, but all in all it was worth it. If you are wanting the most up to date facilities, ease of access etc this is not the place for you. But for an old fashioned, country house hotel in beautiful surroundings, with good food and friendly, efficient service, this place would be hard to beat. The en suite in our bedroom could perhaps do with a wee bit of tlc to bring in up to contemporary 4 star status, but there is little else I would complain about. The mini-museum on the role of Beech Hill in WW2 and its connection with the US Marines is another bonus for history buffs.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DACampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

My wife & I stayed here on Friday night for a little treat for ourselves. Great history accompanied the equally great room, service and fantastically tasty food. Plus the bar stocked my favourite Talisker single malt scotch! Breakfast was superb also with a wide range on offer. Will definitely be going back here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doc42travel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed as a party of five for one night. The rooms were excellent, one had four poster bed and a suite of furniture and an amazing bathroom, one was huge and well equipped and the third room (ours) was modern with everything we could possibly want. The staff were welcoming and friendly. We had dinner in the restaurant which was also very good. Quite small portions though delicious and beautifully presented. Breakfast was excellent with a super choice and variety of food on offer. This was my third visit and yet again the hotel lived up to its great reputation. Will be back soon,,

Room Tip: Room 20 if you fancy a four poster bed, or the new rooms.....but all the rooms have a charm of their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We were there for a post-Christmas surprise getaway. The house is beautiful and full of history. We checked into a spacious dual-facing room that gets plenty of sunlight and a lovely view. We were exhausted after the Christmas rush and the big comfortable bed was welcoming. The bathroom is dated but very clean, with plenty of clean towels. However it was equipped with a shower instead of a bath, which was a disappointment.
The Ardmore restaurant is very well run and serves a very good breakfast and an excellent dinner. The lounge was my favourite cosy spot for a few drinks with fireplaces for a romantic setting, but you'd get a commentary if an order for hot whiskey is taken.
The service cannot be faulted. The bartender even gave us a tour of the museum with an enchanting history of the estate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We were married in the Beech Hill. It was an extraordinary day and the setting and staff had a huge part to play in that. They were endlessly willing to help with arrangements where they could, very welcoming on the day and they took great care of us and all of our guests. The grounds are one big photo opportunity. The food was of a faultless high standard. (Definitely go for the cooked breakfast!) We'd recommend the Beech Hill for weddings big and small. Another bonus: it's very close to the town but it's secluded enough to feel like you are in deep countryside.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StrutN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Martin of Enniskillen must have checked into the wrong establishment!!

I have been to Beech Hill Hotel Derry on a number of occasions all for different reasons. Wedding, business and pleasure. Having stayed in most room types I feel I can give a fair overall viewpoint.

The standard room I stayed in the old part of the hotel, when attending a wedding approx. 7 years ago, while small I found it suitable for my one night stay, clean, comfortable and suffice for the price.

On another occasion I was there on business during mid week visit. Having been given a free upgrade to a Superior Room which was really very nice, in the new part of the hotel. A colleague of mine was upgraded to a Junior Suite which we used to conduct our business meetings during 2 day stay. The stay proved very cost effective to our business and we would use Beech Hill again.

My 3rd visit was during Valentines Weekend. This time I stayed in the Master Suite, with partner. Sunday evening booking, taking up on the special offer, B&B & Evening Meal, ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS and well worth the slightly extra cost. She thought it is the best place she has ever stayed in. And the Master Suite "fit for a princess." She said. A lounge, bedroom, bathroom all separate. Two 50 inch flat screen televisions. French Windows onto rear patio area. (Unfortunately Beech Hill could not arrange the weather that weekend, ha ha !!). Though nothing else was a problem to them.

Staff at Beech Hill are among the best I have come across. Martin and I agree on this, however he commented on the general appearance and how he felt it did not warrant 4 star status. Beech Hill must stay as it is. It is part of the local and international history with US Marine Corp being billeted there during WWII. Lots of very interesting items and historic items to view while relaxing around the hotel. It is homely, yet has a stately feel, and is very authentic. Unlike the corporate looking spaces we see in some hotels these days.

Anyone wishing to stay there will note it is in the countryside, it has a country manor feeling, however 10 minute drive you can also be in the wonderful historic and yet contemporary 'Ancient Walled City of Derry'.

Food and service are exemplary. Cannot be faulted. With large open lounges, with open fires, comfortable large sofa type seating, and so on. I have stayed in 5 star hotels, including the recently famed resort hotel in Enniskillen. And the Donegal one beside the lough and castle. Beech Hill I enjoyed as much as either of these 5 star hotels. It also caters very well for weddings and various sized family occasions with a medium size events annex built in the grounds.

Conclusion - I believe Beech Hill is well worth a visit even if it is just for a meal, afternoon tea, or a short stay. It well deserves the 4 Star rating. And if you look at the various pictures on the walls of the hotel you will note the US Presidents and various types of celebrity and very famous people have stayed or visit Beech Hill. Check out for their special offers, (you can get 2 star prices there, for 4 star services), you know what you are paying before you arrive there, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Foodie1263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
742 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,131 reviews
2.7 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
2.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,337 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £79 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing