We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My dear mother, sister and I had the pleasure of a wonderful weekend at the Beech Hill last weekend. We would like to complement Ashleigh on looking after us and going the extra mile to ensure our rooms and everything was to our satisfaction. Also, we would like to thank all the lovely restaurant and bar staff who also went the extra mile to ensure we were happy with the excellent service. Well done. We hope to be back. Kind Regards

Room Tip: Request a room in the original house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Accommodations are not easy to come by in or near to Derry and Beech Hill Country House fills up early. It is a country house that has been modified a bit to serve as a quaintly lovely hotel. You might find a bathtub right in your room - Victorian country houses don't convert to modern streamlined hotels.
You will certainly find a most charming house - browse the library - and a cozy dining area with excellent faire.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger than others and at least one has a bathtub at the foot of the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saramatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent one night here last Friday and I couldn't say enough about the place. It was absolutely magical and really old world. The drive up to the hotel from the entrance gate was lovely and the when the house comes into view it is such a nice surprise! The staff are excellent, as is the food (dinner and breakfast) and we have a lovely few drinks by the fire in the bar area. The lady on reception was so friendly and helpful. It was such an escape from city life! I could have spent a week here easily just relaxing! Very romantic as well. We got a suite with its own viewing platform over the wooded area. Beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxy3626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I together with a friend have just enjoyed the most wonderful break here and can't speak highly enough of the quality service we were given. Not only is the service superb (especially from Ashiegh and her colleges in Reception) the room was luxurious and the surroundings enchanting .The breakfast was one of the best I have ever enjoyed. We can not wait to return !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LimavadyBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Have stayed here on a number of occasions it feels like coming home every time I walk through the door ! From the lovely welcome, cleanliness, ambiance, fresh flowers, walks in the grounds to the fabulous meals, comfy beds, free wi-fi - the list is endless. Rather than stay in the noisy city centre this is ideal for peace and quiet relaxation at the end of a busy day. (My only wish was that my home was as grand as this !)

Room Tip: Having stayed in quite a few - don't think there is a bad one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here in July 2013 and enjoyed our visit. We take trip regularly as we are retired and I found the Beech hill atmosphere very inviting and the staff great to give your extra help. Nothing was any trouble.

We liked the atmosphere of being in a friendly environment but that you could also enjoy your privacy as the staff are very professional. The whole place is relaxing and we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellady692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just returned after a lovely break at the Beech Hill. This must be our favorite hotel in the North.
It has been over 2 years since we stayed in the hotel but we were pleased to see the same staff still working in the hotel, some of which remembered us by name.
We enjoyed a very relaxing afternoon walking in the well kept grounds of the hotel and then at the fire in the lounge.
We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant on Sunday evening. Served by very friendly efficient staff and the food was excellent.
We did note the change to the breakfast menu and loved the selection of cooked breakfasts. The fresh fruit and honey crepe was delicious.
We did miss seeing Jake on this visit but we were informed that he was still very much part of the hotel. (Jake is a black Labrador)
Thanks again to all the staff who made our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineAnnCrossgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
642 reviews
2.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,273 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.1 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
2.7 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £91 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing