We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food terrible service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great food terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Recently attended two functions in this hotel over a period of a few months. The food was excellent but the service was slow & terrible. Guests were waiting on food while others were on ready for the next course.
It doesn't live up to its name.

Room Tip: haven't seen the rooms so just going on hearsay but some need a revamp apparently..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tMCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    134
    57
    31
    19
See reviews for
129
362
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here for a night whilst attending a wedding with my wife and two young children.

From the minute we checked in, we were made to feel very welcome by the pleasant staff. We were delighted with the room, very clean, very well appointed, decor was lovely - plenty of space for us all.

The hotel building is a period house with sympathetic additions set in beautiful grounds - we felt we were deep in the countryside although we were only 5 minutes or so from Derry City centre.

Really enjoyed our meal here, good quality ingredients, cooked well and presented beautifully by the staff - the service from all the staff we met was excellent and all should be commended.

Enjoyed our stay immensely, would be delighted to return and wouldn't hesitate for a second to recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMH20001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay here on a two nights B+B and one dinner package. The hotel is very pleasantly situated in acres of woodland with many walks and water features. It's only a couple of miles from the centre of Derry, so overall the location is good.

Service was mainly friendly and efficient and we had no complaints at all about the room, which was clean and a good size. The meal we had in the restaurant was very nice and tasty.We would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rover022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked a table for a recent family dinner. It was an exceptional evening, thoroughly enjoyed by all. The staff were friendly, efficient and attentive and well presented. Food presentation was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night dinner bed and breakfast. Beautiful setting and fantastic room- one of the most comfortable beds ever! Friendly helpful staff especially Ashleigh (hope I spelled it right!) on reception who looked after us so well. Delicious dinner.Will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jclarke38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night. The grounds are beautiful and there are number of nice trails through the property. The history of the place is quite interesting, too. We had dinner and breakfast, and both were very good. I loved the bread selection at dinner. Our room was nice, clean, and quiet. We would return if we ever travel in Ireland again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank k_squared2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here recently. It was a wonderful find - found on Trip Advisor UK. Definitely recommend it - lovely big room, massive bed, friendly and attentive staff, good food, lovely grounds and the place steeped in history.

Just about walking distance to the centre of the city via the peace bridge. The city centre was wonderful - better than I had expected. Well worth a visit. Guildhall is fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CouncillorNorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
3.6 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Property: Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing