We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We heard about this hotel by word of mouth and everything lived up to expectations. We had called in for lunch. We had the set lunch menu and everything was excellent , very flavoursome food and good value for money. All the staff were very friendly and couldn t do enough for us. We will definitely b back maybe for an overnight stay.
Highly recommended

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kerryonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    134
    58
    31
    19
See reviews for
130
369
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

If you like like good food, good drink and a relaxed (but sometimes quite lively) atmosphere, then this is the place for you. Have never stayed as I'm a local, but you never hear bad reports.

The place is full of character and the owners of the establishment couldn't make people feel anymore welcome, have had countless meals out there, had my wife's 40th birthday party out there and to say it is pretty much faultless would be an accurate assessment of the Beech Hill

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kacald1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

From start to finish I wasn't overly pleased with the Beech Hill.
First impression was fantastic! The gardens are lovely and the bar area is very nice.
I booked my room via expedia which I've done on several occasions for hotels worldwide. This is the first time I've had a hotel say the room wasn't kept because expedia didn't forward them the details. Funnily enough I was told that a family from the other side of the world had checked in earlier that day with the same surname. Possible coincidence but I think they gave my room away. The pictures online did not look anything like the room we were given.
Arriving at around 8pm on a Friday evening my girlfriend and I were told the room wasn't kept but luckily there was 1 left, not to panic. So we got a complimentary drink in the bar which was nice.
The hotel staff tried their best but overall value for money the hotel isn't worth it.
It's rated as a 4 star. The room was tiny, very old and looked pretty awful to be honest. I've stayed in 'classic' style rooms before but the one we were in was just done.

The shower was quite good. The room was very very warm, no mini bar which would've been nice. I didn't have breakfast the next day, I opted for a late check out instead.

After all that had happened, I expected when I checked out that the room rate would be reduced but it wasn't therefore I'll never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first that you are paying for and maybe it will change your mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank armedwithamind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is a great country hotel away from the noise and set in amazing grounds, loaded with history and interesting walks. The ground are incredible.
The rooms are large and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful.
The hotel lets itself down with its tired menu and expensive wine list. It has a huge working kitchen garden but the chef doesn't seem to make use of its potential ( or if she/he does, that don't mention it to any degree). The wine list is limited and over priced and again could be fixed with little effort. Ask for a table in the main dining room away from the ante room where we were seated next to the swinging kitchen door, baby seat storage area and plastic coated tables and piano, oh and the elevator music playing from crappy speakers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent excellent day and over night stay here. Day started with family wedding with every small touch taken care of. Wedding was in marquee which was gorgeous and meal went smooth with plenty to eat and attentive staff. Homemade breads are to die for.
Our Bedroom overlooked the marquee and I didn't find it noisy. Bedroom was old school chic. Exactly what I love.
In full my family and bridal party all stayed and not one could fault the experience. Thanks to staff for all making it an experience to remember.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fua3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

great day and will return again,staff friendly and helpful,food was excellent and my apple crumble to die for. If are in the Derry area for pleasure or business would call in even for tea and cakes just to see and vist the hotel. just think how much you can name drop to your friends that you and former president Bill cliton and endless other high profile quest have been to beechhill.

Room Tip: I prefer the older part of hotel,just like the old world charm and rooms have the modern facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We recently attended a wedding here and availed of the 2 nights and dinner offer. We were told on check in that there was a wedding and the music would finish at 1am!
The Dinner was excellent and staff very attentive.
Bedroom was big but overlooked the marque.
We may have gone to the wedding as we heard every bit of music until 1am and the singing afterwards.
Beautiful walks around the grounds next morning. Followed by a good wedding and stayed up until 1am!
Very interesting history to the hotel.
Look for a room away from the wedding marque!!

Room Tip: Stay away from the marque!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
3.6 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Property: Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing