We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2009

just back from our second stay at this beautiful hotel. We were received with a warm welcome.The food and staff were great. A big thanks to them all. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dottydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2009

One of the best Manor houses in Ireland. This is a very charming, relaxed and service oriented place - run by an extended local family - they know how to do it! We found the guest rooms to be very well appointed, with high quality furnishings and fittings, very well maintained - and spacious. The grounds are perfect in a quiet and tranquil country setting, yet close to Derry. We ate in the restaurant twice, and found the quality and choices exceptional. This is a great little gem if you are looking for that manor house experience. I suggest you splurge on the Junior or Master suites, which are at affordable rates and have exceptional amenities. We were a family of 4 in the Master Suite - perfect accomodations, although we visited the Junior suites and they were of the same caliber. For the standard rooms, ask to stay in the new wing or the back of the hotel. We will be back - and many thanks to Patsy, Seamus and family - keep doing what you are doing!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

I spent the day at Beech Hill with four girls. We were celebrating a 40th Birthday. We had lovely treatments from the therapist, bubbled away in the Jacuzzi and then indulged in the best Afternoon Tea we have ever had. Everything was superb. The staff were fantastic, a credit to The Beech Hill. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spalover33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

I spent a Sunday evening at the hotel towards the end of February with my boyfriend. This has to be Derry's best kept secret! The hotel is extremely charming with a real family, intimate feel about it. From the luxurious suite bedroom with two bathrooms and separate living area through to the 6ft bed with fabulous interior design. We had the early bird evening dinner which was fabulous and excellent value for money. The restauarnt haslovely views over the garden and the river and the staff and level of service was excellent. The breakfast was also excellent and we couldnt resist but to have a full irish fry which was cooked to perfection. This hotel has such a lovely setting and is the perfect short break hideaway. I would certainly recommend it anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guapagamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

My wife and I came here for a relaxing break and found exactly what we were looking for. The staff and service were excellent, polite, charming, willing to help and offer advice at a seconds notice. The food was locally sourced and of the highest quality, we ate several excellent meals here. It had one of the best breakfast menus I've ever come across. The location was superb - we travelled around the Inishowen peninsula and spent time around Derry. A true find, and one which I'll be recommending to my friends!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ_IRISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We wanted somewhere relaxed and comfortable to celebrate our mum's birthday and we got the perfect result at the Beech Hill. Everyone there was friendly and helpful, ever pleasant and ready to answer any local questions we had.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and breakfast plentiful. Dinner was very enjoyable and the only criticism would be that while the dining room was made cosy with the drapes down, it didn't take advantage of the very pleasant grounds which could be lit to wonderful effect.
A very pleasant couple of days and thoroughly enjoyed by our birthday girl - a lovely touch by the chef at dinner - thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAL50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

my husband and i stayed here for a saturday night, very very basic, dingy and drab.
we had sunday lunch, which was terrible, duck was burnt to a cinder, lamb and beef not tender, portions very small, they didnt even get the dessert sticky toffee pudding right it was burnt.
i forwarded an email to them but 4 weeks later never got a reply !!
enough said !!
this would hardly pass for a 2 * hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sunflowerRiverview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
742 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,131 reviews
2.7 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
2.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,337 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £79 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing