We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has a lot of potential, but falls short...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has a lot of potential, but falls short...”
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Original bedroom (room 30) allocated was two single bases & mattresses pushed together with double bed sized linen, which made for an extremely uncomfortable first nights sleep. Should have been advertised as twin room rather than double. This was rectified without hassle the following morning and we were moved to another room.
Was unusually warm weather (20-25C). Requested a fan (which was supplied but had very low wattage and made no difference) and asked for an air conditioned room, was told that there were no rooms with AC (despite brochures advertising otherwise). The room (room 30) was above the front door so when other guests went out to have a smoke, we could smell the cigarette smoke in our room which was very unpleasant. Suggest dedicated smoking area. The delivery/service trucks arriving was also very noisy and disturbed sleep. Did not seem to be dedicated service entry/delivery area.
The room that we were moved to was much more comfortable and away from trucks arriving. It overlooked a very pretty garden area Slept much better the next two nights! The TVs were angled at a very odd position in the rooms. We didn't watch them anyway, but I imagine they would be very awkward to view. The bathroom (room 20) would greatly benefit from some bleach and elbow grease - particularly the shower. Bathroom mirror light not working.
The sauna & steam room were lovely. Sauna needs a timer. Both were very comfortbale and very much appreciated after a day at Giant's Causeway!
Despite the guest information provided in the room listing a breakfast menu, when I requested a menu at breakfast, I was informed that only the buffet was available.
Staff were always friendly and helpful. The (set) evening menu was delicious a great sized generous portions. Would highly recommend the restaurant. Compliments to the chef and team.
The exterior could do with a good clean / paint and some repairs are clearly needed, in particular the porch structure and the older window frames. Some areas of the garden seemed quite unkempt but overall very pretty inviting grounds.
I have travelled extensively and this was quite a disappointing experience. Overall, more like a very good three star hotel rather than a four star hotel. Would not recommend in a hurry. Price charged was a promotional rate - would have been very annoyed if we had paid full price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcferran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    143
    59
    32
    20
See reviews for
138
386
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
USA/Europe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

What a delightful hotel! The room was huge, and wonderfully comfortable. The house itself is absolutely gorgeous, and the grounds are well worth a stroll. The restaurant is superb, with first-class service that starts first in the drawing room, where they bring you a beverage, and then they escort you into the dining room when your starters are ready. It's all so lovely and elegant, I absolutely loved it.

The staff is terrific - friendly, warm, welcoming, and professional.

I highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing, first-class holiday stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadtoad50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

In May 2009 I came to Beech Hill House Hotel with a group of active-retired people from Dublin. The hotel, which is an old house retaining the best of its history while discretely modernised, is quiet and set in gardens with an extensive beech wood – bluebells were in flower when we were there. From the moment we walked through the door, we were greeted with warmth but also with efficiency – our keys were waiting for us, each labelled with the guest’s name, bags were brought quickly to bedrooms. The bedrooms themselves were wonderful – each different. Some of the group were treated to four-poster beds, some to suites, some to free-standing baths. Access to some of the bedrooms is via a lift. The dining-room looks out over an old water-wheel in the garden and the food served lived up to the location. For me the best thing about Beech Hill House (and there were many delights) was the management – the hotel is family-owned and the hospitality to which we were treated was exceptional. One of our members was a little ill during the visit and was quickly cosseted back to health by the staff who provided everything that could be wished for, including hot water bottles. This is the sort of hotel that those tired and stressed from city living long for. Although the location is very quiet in the small village of Ardmore, there is easy access to the wonderful historical Derry City.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseMaryDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2009

On researching my family history I found out that this hotel was possibly the home of my great great great grandmother. So we checked the website and was so surprised that the cost of a 2 night break including a wonderful 5 course gourmet meal and full Irish Breakfast on both days, so we booked right away. We were doing family research in the Londonderry area, so fitted great in our family research and fantastic value for money.

When we arrived at the hotel we were warmly welcomed and it certainly lived up to all it's descriptions on the web site. All the staff were very friendly and approachable and very helpful concerning the research of my family connection to Beech Hill. We were given all copies of the history of the family to take away.

I would highly recommend the hotel to all travellers being for business or pleasure visting the Derry area especially the food served in the restaurant, the breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigbowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2009

We chose the Beech Hill for our wedding reception and had the best weekend ever!!!
The hotel and grounds were beautiful with staff who were very polite and more than helpful from when we booked the weekend untill we checked out.
Our wedding party occupied approx. 20 rooms with everyone who stayed informing us that their room was both beautiful and comfortable.
The food over the whole weekend was of a very high quality and we especially enjoyed the freshly baked bread and scones.
The owners Patsy and Seamus were always on hand and very accomodating.
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for anything from a relaxing break away to a large wedding reception.
We will definately be back soon!!!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

The hotel is an older building with a modern extension (incl a fitness room) in extensive grounds some 2 miles outside Derry in the countryside on the eastern side of the city. It is definitely a country house complete with very comfortable public rooms, two fires burning in the large lounge and with public and bedrooms furnished with antique style furniture. Wifi is availble throughout the premises. The food is really excellently prepared and presented, with a good range of fish and meat, and a comprehensive (and again excellent) wine list. Bedrooms vary one from another but are large, very well furnished and include at least one with a four poster bed. The staff cannot do enough for you and are extremely attentive and helpful - in a friendly and professional manner. We have visited twice for short breaks (summer 2008 and April 2009) and would certainly return. There are facilities for business meetings and non-residents can also visit the restaurant. I would very much recommend the Beech Hill if you wish to stay outside of Derry. The city is accessible by car or taxi, but it is nice to come back to a home away from home. Thoroughly recommended, particularly for a quiet break, for older visitors, young (romantic) couples, business people, but not for the party crowd.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajpdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co down
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

just back from our second stay at this beautiful hotel. We were received with a warm welcome.The food and staff were great. A big thanks to them all. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dottydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
565 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
2.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,237 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
3.6 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Property: Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing