We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like the plague”
Review of BT48 Apartotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BT48 Apartotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Derry
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plague”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Derry was buzzing this weekend and most accommodation was full when we went to book. So we settled for BT48 and what a mistake it was. Not very clean and VERY noisy. It is on the main road and there is a night club across the street with revelers till the wee small hours. Inside the building, the doors slam loudly and on Saturday night, it seemed to be full of young people whose mothers had forgotten to tell them that you don't talk, much less yell, scream, laugh and run, in hotel corridors. In the morning, there was an issue around dodging the chunder. It was very hot when we were there but the windows don't open and it was quite uncomfortable. When we arrived, we found the building unattended and had to phone and wait for someone to let us in. So all in all, our worst experience in Ireland and one that I would warn against. The only positive was its location: a pleasant fifteen minute stroll to the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SydneyHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    30
    19
    12
    26
See reviews for
31
28
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Pros: fast Internet, kitchen, spacious, living area and dining table, close to town and good restaurants,

Cons: Internet went out a lot, key cards sometimes would not work, bathroom shower was not very clean, lots of noise from the traffic!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenzieAndDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This hotel has potential to be good but the owners dont seem to care much for it. There are cheap blinds in the bedrooms which dont block out the light at all. The landings were dirty with light bulbs broken and not replaced. There was no local information and there was a £10 charge for WiFi access. Would not recommend overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Niamh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Derry hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We booked the 3 bedroom apartotel at BT48 Apartotel Derry..This apartotel had a 5 star rating but I would like to know where this came from. The apartment was a good size with comfortable beds. It is on a busy road and it looks like the windows are double glazed but I kept looking for an open window because of the road noise. Location is good with some river views. Walking distance into the heart of Derry. On the downside the apartment needed a good clean. The blinds all had mildew on them as well as the walls. There was no instruction or information manual available..
Overall it was ok but I was glad we only stayed one night.

Room Tip: Don't expect a five star hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

BT48 was ok for a short stay - I was allocated an apartment facing Strand Road but the outside noise was deafening!Below my windows, an extremely busy 4-lane main road, and across the street, 3 nightclubs all ending around same time, spilling drunken clubbers onto the streets, creating all sorts of mayhem. I stayed a Thurs & Fri and both nights, Police were called after 2am to disperse the crowds. So glad I wasn't there on a Sat pm. I got no sleep on my first night there (only a few hours between club noise disapating and morning traffic starting), and only slept on second night thanks to an urgent purchase of earplugs from local chemist. Also, in June, it was so warm indoors, that it was uncomfortable with the windows closed, and yet opening them meant that the road noise was so loud it was almost impossible to hold a conversation, or listen to tv without volume up full - thats how bad it was! I honestly think some maintenance is needed on the sealant of their double glazing, because the difference in traffic noise between windows closed and open was minimal. This is unfortunate because these self catering apartments are well placed, only a short walk along the waterfront to the city centre, and offer great value for money. Another major plus point is the free on-site parking. The accomodation itself was well appointed though my living room was dowdy and dark, with stained upholstery, and in need of updating. However, the bedroom was very clean and my bed comfortable. The accom was generally well appointed with dishwasher, fridge freezer, freeview tv and hifi, all included. I only gave service a rating of 2/5 because there really was no service aside from taking my money on arrival and accepting keycard as I left. My rooms were not cleaned whilst I was there, despite my being there from Thursday to Saturday. I am really having problems trying to understand why the word 'hotel' is even in the title. BT48 are self catering apartments with a rarely manned reception desk. I would only stay here again as a last resort.

Room Tip: Insist on accomodation facing Lough Foyle. If they can't accomodate your request, go elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRETT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Just had one night stay during jazz festival, very good location overlooking the Foyle. Was upgraded to a penthouse as it was not being used. Nicely furnished apt, clean and comfortable. Signs of wear on wooden floor and furniture, but generally very good.

Room Tip: Penthouse has excellent views of the rivet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarebradraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NornIron
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Me and my partner have visited the city alot over the years and tried various hotels etc. and this is hands down best value for money hotel in Londonderry, great room with a great view and balcony. Rooms were modern and very nice, very clean, great location etc. highly recommend. We will be staying here again definately!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.5 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
1.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.7 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BT48 Apartotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BT48 Apartotel

Property: BT48 Apartotel
Address: Atlantic Quay 112 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7NR, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — BT48 Apartotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BT48 Apartotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BT48 Apartotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing