We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nightmare from start to finish”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of BT48 Apartotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BT48 Apartotel
Ranked #11 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Derry
York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“nightmare from start to finish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for one night Derry was busy that weekend and didn't have much choice , on the surface things seemed ok , but when we went to prepare to go out there was no hot water despite having put the heater on. which we were not told about we had to discover this ourselves. we were running late as we had to wait for the water so my son would have a quick bath while we had shower. however the shower stopped working when we ran the bath, I mean absolutely stopped . the sink in the bathroom was hanging of the wall , There were stains all over the sofa ! the carpets were filthy, underneath us there was an apartment with a hot tub & bar , we thought we were lucky on returning as all was quiet, however this didn't last as we were woken in the early hours with 2 couples drinking, music full blast, shouting mostly foul language this went on until 8 am! at least it blocked out the traffic noise and other night revellers! If you are young and don't mind any of this then this is ok for you .
otherwise avoid at all costs

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank sunbatherYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    30
    19
    12
    26
See reviews for
31
27
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

What we were hoping was going to be a great family weekend for our first time in Ireland was ruined by this property. We were made to feel very welcome by the manager on site on check in which was a misleading start. We left our bags in the rooms quickly as we were rushing out to meet others. When we arrived back, first thought was the bathroom was dirty. After looking around a little realised sofas and table were dusty, found a condom wrapper between the sofa cushions, and realised the kitchen door handle (fire door) was broken hence being propped open. Visited another apartment that my Mum was staying in with her husband and my younger brother, the pots had all been left in dishwasher from the previous users, they had had no hot water, and the bath water turned the shower off completely. Cupboards were full of random junk, including a used tub of paint and a stains all over the carpets. Luckily we were only staying one night, however to make the most of the facilities we had paid for, we had decided to cook breakfast for everyone in the third apartment we had. The tray in the oven was dirty, so full of dried fat it was touching the grill tray, the oven hob had no markings on so you couldn't tell which worked which ring or how high they were on, the grill didn't work, the kitchen bin was as much use as a chocolate fire guard so we ended up with rubbish all over the floor, and we had no hot water in this apartment either. The noise from the nightclub opposite continues well on until 3am where the locals then hang around the two takeaway spots for the night. My grandad did leave early that morning, thankfully, as we later witnessed some guy rolling a joint on the staircase and then walked through the smell all the way back up to collect our bags! No-one around on check-out on Sunday but no where to leave the keys, all just left lying around on the floor. After speaking with the owner he did refund us for one of our three rooms after arguing that I was just complaining and that it is up to his cleaners to make sure the rooms are kept clean not him and when I said about what I found on the sofa his response was 'yes but you were moved from that room'. Yes I was but not the point. It gave me no confidence in the cleanliness of the rooms and for us to be paying what was a lot of money for nothing other than what turned to be just somewhere to sleep when the noise from outside stopped. Never again and would strongly recommend you search elsewhere. This owner obviously has too much money to care about the hygiene and consideration for paying customers. After working in hospitality for over 10 years this is definitely my worst experience of accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JG_York21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Derry hotels

Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed in two bedroom apartment for our sons graduation. We found check in very good with lovely welcome and the staff were very nice. The apartment was very comfortable and very clean with all the amenities you would need. We only had breakfast in the apartment, as eating out Derry/Londonderry is excellent, despite it being City of Culture and the Graduations going on, we were able to get into a couple of restaurants without booking. It was very warm so we had to open the windows at night, so a little bit noisy with the traffic, but not a major problem, would not put me off staying again.
Plenty of private parking, and an easy stroll into the town centre. Our view was partly the river and a little street with lovely little pictures painted in the windows, also a little balcony which was very welcome. Would definitely stay here again, if ever up this way.

Room Tip: Try to get apartment overlooking the front - river etc - probably a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mounty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms were really clean, the living room/dining room area was huge had everything we could need, including a wide screen TV with Sky, the kitchen wall seemed a bit damp, something that didn't really bother us as we were only there one night! Didn't hear any noise from other rooms although i'm assuming any complaints I have read of that nature are from an older crowd our group was aged 23-28. The weather was really hot that weekend so we were glad of the balcony that stretched right around our rooms as this meant we could sleep with out balcony doors open (as we were on the 6th floor) Even with those doors open, I still have no major complaints about noise coming from the nightclub across the road, I slept like a baby! The bar across the road was lovely as were the locals, Id say this place is ideal for a group of 6 like ours who are up for a bit of Craic.... after all who goes away for the weekend to go to bed early and complain about the people across the road in the night club having fun! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grilledcheeses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Derry was buzzing this weekend and most accommodation was full when we went to book. So we settled for BT48 and what a mistake it was. Not very clean and VERY noisy. It is on the main road and there is a night club across the street with revelers till the wee small hours. Inside the building, the doors slam loudly and on Saturday night, it seemed to be full of young people whose mothers had forgotten to tell them that you don't talk, much less yell, scream, laugh and run, in hotel corridors. In the morning, there was an issue around dodging the chunder. It was very hot when we were there but the windows don't open and it was quite uncomfortable. When we arrived, we found the building unattended and had to phone and wait for someone to let us in. So all in all, our worst experience in Ireland and one that I would warn against. The only positive was its location: a pleasant fifteen minute stroll to the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SydneyHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Pros: fast Internet, kitchen, spacious, living area and dining table, close to town and good restaurants,

Cons: Internet went out a lot, key cards sometimes would not work, bathroom shower was not very clean, lots of noise from the traffic!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenzieAndDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

This hotel has potential to be good but the owners dont seem to care much for it. There are cheap blinds in the bedrooms which dont block out the light at all. The landings were dirty with light bulbs broken and not replaced. There was no local information and there was a £10 charge for WiFi access. Would not recommend overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Niamh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.5 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
1.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.7 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BT48 Apartotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BT48 Apartotel

Property: BT48 Apartotel
Address: Atlantic Quay 112 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7NR, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — BT48 Apartotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your BT48 Apartotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BT48 Apartotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing