We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, definitely not 5 star! Needs improvement”
Review of BT48 Apartotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BT48 Apartotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Derry
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not great, definitely not 5 star! Needs improvement”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Booked in for 3 nights as my partner and I were getting married in Derry. Initially the apartment seemed nice, clean and modern. The first night, I stayed with my sister, this was a Friday night and because we had been given a roadside apartment-it was extremely noisy! The road is very busy outside and there are two nightclubs across the road which continue until the small hours. The apartments could do with better sound insulation on the roadside. We discovered that quite a few of the bulbs weren't working in the lights which was annoying. The kitchen table was extremely unstable, the curtain pole in the living room area was hanging off, the shower leaked quite badly as there was no seal on the shower screen. On the 2nd night, I was staying with my husband and 2 year old child, we had had a long day so went to sleep quickly after returning late. On the 3rd night, a combination of the stifling heat in the apartment and noise meant that we couldn't get our daughter to go to sleep so decided to return home without staying overnight. This was very disappointing. Had to return the next morning to check out.

If staying here, ask for a riverside apartment, the one we stayed in was just not worth the money we paid. More of a 'party base' than a luxury apartment for couples/families

All that being said, the man at reception was very friendly when we checked in and out and it was good to have parking space in the multi storey car park.

Room Tip: Stay in a riverside apartment as the view is great and would hopefully be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare29T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    31
    19
    12
    26
See reviews for
31
28
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for a hen party. The apartments were clean, well equipped, all mod cons including a dish washer and the beds were super comfy. I was a bit concerned in case there was a lot of noise from the other apartments but we heard nothing. The location was really excellent too we were central to city centre, tourist attractions and pubs and restaurants. The gentleman at receptionist was really kind and helpful. I would highly recommend and would definately choose again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topazrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location, next to the river with some nice bars and restaurants nearby. Our room was spacious and comfortable and much nicer than we had been expecting. The manager was very accommodating as we changed our plans last minute and he went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. I would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and this work out perfectly, Situated next to the river and short walk to the centre of the city, no need for taxis or buses… all the facilities were modern and working fully, it was clean and tidy.

Will definitely be back as even if you’re staying for one night this is great value. Very helpful staff as well on reception

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I WOULD JUST LIKE TO SHARE THE FABULOUS NEWS THAT OUR ENTIRE PARTY OF LADIES AND MEN WHO TOOK PART IN LAST YEARS CHARITY RUN HAVE BEEN BARRED FROM "THE APARTOTEL"...let me tell you WHY

The reason is because 3 people (out of 58 of us) gave them a bad review on the 'Tripadvisor' website, professionalism? I THINK NOT

Now let me elaborate...Every person in our party for this Charity run (which lasted 2 days, hence required an overnight stay) had already acquired booking references for 'The Apartotel' in Derry. As you can imagine we were all overjoyed at having some hospitality waiting for us after a long ride and were looking forward to a comfortable bed.
HOWEVER! On arrival we were told that THEY had made the mistake of overbooking our rooms and they didn't have enough space to accommodate all of us.
On hearing this we thought, being bikers and well used to 'roughing it up' we would accommodate as many people as possible among the rooms they had left and didn't create ANY fuss...in fact we were still ALL very thankful for the rooms we had and couldn't have been more civil!

During all of this, a few individuals were left hanging around the reception for a lengthy time while this was being sorted out, so by around 9pm some finally had spots on sofa-beds (which were broken), at which point the hunt for some bedding began.
After all the initial hoo-ha it would have been expected that the staff should be quite attentive in this matter, but actually the ladies received QUITE the opposite. The staff were less than helpful as by the time they returned from their late dinner reservations the sofa-bed was STILL in a state of disrepair and NO bedding whatsoever was left. To top it all off, when they brought this matter up with the staff, the response was EXTREMELY RUDE!!

IF ANY OF YOU WOULD LIKE TO SEE THESE SPECIFIC COMPLAINTS STRAIGHT FROM THE HORSES MOUTH, JUST HAVE A WEE NOSEY ON THE LINK BELOW

Now disregarding the awful experiences from these particular people, some of us were quite willing to return this year, ENSURING THAT THE BOOKINGS WERE MADE CORRECTLY..and as we were nothing but accommodating last year to fit extra people into our own rooms which we had booked and paid for we assumed like anyone else, that there would be no problems.

I personally booked my hotel room on Saturday (5th), and this morning (10th) received a phone call from the Manager telling me that they were cancelling ALL of the bookings made by any of the Charity bikers this year. and that NONE of us were welcome back...
...All because of these 3 bad reviews.

Now I'm a man that isn't hard to please, but if i make a booking, arrive on time, don't disturb other guests, don't abuse staff, leave the room as i found it (possibly cleaner!!) and PAID IN FULL FOR THIS EXPERIENCE, i don't feel i should be penalized for a few bad reviews which didn't come from me, YET the people who wrote them had EVERY RIGHT TO DO SO!!

I mean, if I were to go into a pub and ask for a vodka, and i was presented with a whiskey...i tell them this is not what i ordered but i would just have to take it because it's too late to change it now! THEN tell someone that i had a bad experience in that particular place. SHOULD MYSELF AND MY ENTIRE COMPANY FROM THAT NIGHT BE BARRED?!

Room Tip: yeah, go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Derry hotels

Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

At first glance when you arrive here it seems really nice but after a while you do notice various issues.....here are the positive and negative points about the place (I stayed in a 6th floor penthouse 1 bedroom apartment).

Postives:
- Large Balcony Area
- Spacious
- Furnishings are of a high standard
- Great self catering facilities
- Free wifi, there is a point on each floor and it's fast, though the 6th floor one stopped working

Negatives:
- Heating and Hot Water not fully explained
- Impressive looking shower with side jets no good due to lack of water pressure
- Car park area slightly confusing
- Towels are too small, 4 star plus places should have large bath sheets not small bath towels.
- Various aspects in poor state of repair....blind controls in bedroom hanging out....sink cracked....inner door to bedroom balcony cannot be secured shut......random selection of lightbulbs not all working....switches that seemingly do nothing.....various niggles that if rectified would add an extra point to the review.
- There is quite a bit of road noise in the bedroom of #21 and any bedroom that is on the road side I would imagine.

Other things to note.....they supply a couple of dishwasher tablets, lots of crockery and cutlery, tea biscuits coffee etc

The Queen size bed is in fact two single mattresses plonked on a divan base which is slightly too small for them.

The shampoo and shower gels smell suspiciously the same.....

Shame the stereo doesn't have a USB or Jack input.

I think it would make a great base for a longer trip but for a single overnight stay it's probably better going for a hotel.

Room Tip: Penthouse offers stunning views of the Foyle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheCorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Positives -
Big spacious apartment
Very clean and warm
Free parking in multistory behind
Tv, dvd player and stereo provided
Probably more suitable to couples or people who intend on staying a longer period eg 1 week
Pleasant place to stay


Negatives -
The reception times are very limited. It closes at 5pm which is a bit of a restriction. someone will meet you when you call when you arrive but its a bit eerie to be met by no one initially.
The bathroom was small relative to the size of the rest of the apartment. It does the job but a little small
The couches are insanely uncomfortable, cant sit anymore than 5 minutes on it without putting your back out
Very little in the way of restaurants around the hotel
Not the hotels fault but bar across the road had a very loud disco in it till 1.30am and you can hear everything.

Id recommend this hotel but only if you were staying a good period.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnnybravo1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.5 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,011 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
562 reviews
1.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 13 in Derry
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Derry
Travelodge Derry
#12 of 13 in Derry
461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BT48 Apartotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BT48 Apartotel

Property: BT48 Apartotel
Address: Atlantic Quay 112 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7NR, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — BT48 Apartotel 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your BT48 Apartotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BT48 Apartotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing