We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dining at the White Horse Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dining at the White Horse Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Myself and my family regularly dine at the White Horse Hotel restaurant. And in all the years we have dined there we have never ever had a meal which was not excellent. The staff there are definitely a great asset to the hotel. everyone is so helpful and genuinely pleased to help. I would not hesitate to recommend the White Horse Restaurant to anyone wishing to have a nice meal in good surroundings with excellent food and at very reasonable prices. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    113
    49
    19
    22
See reviews for
112
146
8
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed in the hotel last week was greeted by Tyler at reception who was very pleasant, the rooms are of a very good standard and would recommend to all my family and friends. After a quick hot shower we went for dinner in the tastefully designed restaurant. We were greeted by the lovely Mary she was so accomidating from when we entered even when we sat by the roaring fire she couldnt do enough for us !! We sat by the fire till 12am talking with the Manager Heidi who was great !! My only regret is not staying here sooner !! see u all soon

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is our 4th trip to the White Horse Hotel and by far our best. We took my mum and dad as it was mums 80th birthday in October. I cant thank the staff enough for making us all so welcome. From us arriving to us all leaving we were greeted with a smile . The afternoon tea is highly recommended , our food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff were polite and nothing was too much bother for them. Breakfast was 5 star as usual and the staff on breakfast are 5 star also , was sorry to hear Albert had retired. :(. Rooms were super and clean . I would highly recommend this hotel.... Thank you also for my mums 80th card and the plates of treats ,also to the receptionist who helped with anything we needed , sorry I didn't get your name.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Booked in here by the lovely Tyler, with the usual warm welcome. That continued from all the Staff who happily attended to our requests with a smile. Super clean rooms with all the trimmings and that could be said about all areas in the Hotel. A lovely selection at breakfast, and equally good evening meal-not forgetting the amazing afternoon tea, set-up and served by Mary. Heidi kept the welcoming fire going rounding up another fantastic stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bell9692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Many thanks to Matt and Heidi and the entire staff of The Best Western White Horse Hotel for their 5* service last Friday night. Our school is celebrating 50 years and we couldn't have faulted the service, the food and the setting for our anniversary buffet and disco. What a great venue and equally what a great staff - well done!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very good hotel. First rate rooms, excellent food from room service or restaurant. The staff are very welcoming and responsive to requests. Situated only ten minutes drive from the airport, useful for the start or end of journey, or as a sound base for travelling

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend in Derry/ Londonderry,we were travelling with a group of young people with a disability ,the hotel was everything that we wanted ,fantastic swimming pool complex which our group took full advantage of,superb restaurant ,but the stars of the show have got to be the staff who went out of there way to make our stay as comfortable as it could possibly be ,nothing was too much trouble for them,from the domestics to front of house staff they were fabulous,if we are ever in that area again we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the white horse,well done .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 32jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
4.6 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
4.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
5.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
Address: 68 Clooney Road, Derry BT47 3PA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Family Hotel in Derry
#8 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#8 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining warmth and elegance with modern facilities, the White Horse Hotel is the ideal venue whether you travel for business or for pleasure. This 4 Star BEST WESTERN PLUS property is located on the main route from Derry-Londonderry to the famous Giants Causeway This ensures our guests are perfectly positioned to experience both the vibrancy of the historic Walled City and the stunning natural beauty of the North Coast. We are the most closely located hotel for the City of Derry Airport which is just 1km away.With just fifty-eight guest bedrooms we place an emphasis on personal service & a friendly attention to detail. Our hotel facilities include a Bar, Restaurant, Leisure center (with pool steam room,sauna and extensive gym) and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derry
Derry Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing