We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed Overnight - Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stayed Overnight - Excellent”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed for a single night and the service was excellent.
Upon arrival the lady at the front desk had everything prepared and all that was required was a signature and our key card.

The room was spacious and clean. The bed was lovely and comfortable with good pillows.
The bathroom was snug but had everything you needed and the water was warm.

We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel and the food and service were impeccable.
Would definitely recommend it and would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McG20141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    127
    58
    21
    26
See reviews for
123
168
9
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed overnight on Saturday 26 April 2014 on a Bed and Breakfast basis
Was booked in by Tyler who was very efficient and informative.
The room was fine and the cookies a nice touch.
Had dinner in the restaurant which although was very busy was well organised by the restaurant manager and the staff were very attentive.The food was excellent.
Finished the night in the bar with good entertainment supplied by Tony Vegas
Overall a pleasant experience

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed for a week and to be honest I could stomach it for that long as it was close to where i was working. The pillows are solid, although I did ask for feather pillows. The bathroom is really small and cramped and there was a distinct lack of hot water everyday. The food served in both the bar and restaurant is superb and really cheap too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Copta_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review after your recent stay. Please accept my apoloies for any inconvenience caused. Generally if customers are staying as long as you did we would upgrade them to a larger room. Unfortunately due to the shift patterns of your company it was necessary to keep you in a quite part of the hotel. I am glad you mentioned our food as we offer a wide range to suit all budgets and all fresh local produce.
Thank you again and if you are staying again we will ensure you are upgraded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed recently for a function and was really happy with the bedroom and service that I received.
From the complimentary drink on check in to the well appointed bedroom, to the friendly service and fantastic meal at the function.

I'll definitely return soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarchyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review after your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and the function you attended. We do enjoy adding the little extra touch's like the welcome drink and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was good for a wee break, we went for two nights. Lovely rooms. Pool was a bit dated but ok. Didn't try the food but it was packed when we arrived. Only issue is that its a good 10/15minute drive for Londonderry centre which was annoying. But overall happy with our stay

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chantellew55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus uK
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Been a while since we stayed here if I am being honest. Since our last visit the Hotel has had a major facelift and the rooms have been refurbished. The hotel has also been upgraded to a 4**** status.

The staff were always the best and continue to be the best. We see the biggest improvement in the state of the rooms. We are just in a standard room this time but they are very impressive compared to how they were before.

Impressed so far with the service. Some improvements:

- Rooms refurbushed. New furniture and bed linen and cushions etc. Fresh flowers in the room.

- Bathrooms refurbished

- There was a home made cookie in a little bak with a note 'Hand Baked for you by our Pastry Chef Gillian'- nice touch

- It is the Easter Weekend and there was a Cadbury Easter Egg in a box waiting for us

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinkaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Sir,
Firstly welcome back and thank you for your kind comments. We do appreciate it when customers appreciate the smaller touches. I hope you enjoy the rest of your stay.
Happy Easter
ps don't tell anyone but there will be more chocolate eggs at breakfast, check under your cup .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Myself and two friends stayed here on Sunday the 13th of April for a night away. The rooms are pretty below average just because there old. Plenty of space though considering there was three in a room. The shower was cornered off properly so the whole bathroom was soaked. Good water pressure though. The pillows where very hard and uncomfortable. Upon arrival reception where very pleasant, all the staff where very nice. We had a treatment (massage) the beautican was very nice too. Dinner was good, although restaurant was very quiet and had no atmosphere. This hotel is based in eglinton, so it's around £8 in a taxi to town. This didn't bother us because we just wanted a night away. I thought this hotel would have been more lively on a Sunday night but it was very quiet and not much happening. Overall it was a good stay and good value for what we paid. Unfortunately I don't think I'd come back unless the hotel had a revamp. On a positive note, staff overall where very helpful and make the hotel 4 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC_8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your review and your comments. I am surprised that you found the hotel quite as we had live music/free buffet and a photobooth in the bar that night as a thank you to our staff and customers. We had over 50 people dancing the night away until 2am and it was a great night. To be honest most Sundays nights are quite but this one certainly was not. I actually spoke to 1 of your party when you returned from town and said there was music in the bar but was told you wanted an early night. I do agree we are not in city centre and to help this we now offer a free taxi into town so we hope o welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
4.6 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,048 reviews
4.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
5.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
592 reviews
2.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
534 reviews
3.9 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Address: 68 Clooney Road, Derry BT47 3PA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Family Hotel in Derry
#8 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#8 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining warmth and elegance with modern facilities, the White Horse Hotel is the ideal venue whether you travel for business or for pleasure. This 4 Star BEST WESTERN PLUS property is located on the main route from Derry-Londonderry to the famous Giants Causeway This ensures our guests are perfectly positioned to experience both the vibrancy of the historic Walled City and the stunning natural beauty of the North Coast. We are the most closely located hotel for the City of Derry Airport which is just 1km away. With just fifty-eight guest bedrooms we place an emphasis on personal service & a friendly attention to detail. Our hotel facilities include a Bar, Restaurant, Leisure center (with pool steam room,sauna and extensive gym) and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derry
Derry Best Western
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing