We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wee place ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent wee place ”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here few times we have stayed in the executive suite cause i like my comfoft as in the big bed. We did stay normal one night but upgraded next day for rest of our stay. Wee guy at front desk just lovely and friendly and helpful. Other staff friendly also. I love it here and would not stay any where else down this neck of the woods. Love super king bed cause it like mine at home. Didnt get breakfast think tad expensive and price went up hubby dont eat cooked breakfast so did it one stay. But all in all if looking nice quiet stay here is your place. Also parking out front and restaurant so happy days close to town centre if pop in car ....

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    116
    54
    20
    25
See reviews for
120
154
8
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just back from a 2 night break at this hotel. Booking was simple by telephone DNA lovely girl ,Jill on reception was very helpful. Went as two couples in a superior room and 2 single pensioners, one needed a disabled room and this was large, beautifully decorated and well designed for her needs. The rooms were very tastefully decorated and clean.

We arrived for the Sunday Carvery which was excellent. On Sunday night the World Cup final was on in the bar and the hotel had organised a BBQ, we met the owners that night and Ramona, one of the managers and they all were very friendly. This was followed by. Disco.

This hotel is a brilliant base for touring around the Antrim Coast , Donegall, Letterkeny and Derry itself. Breakfast on the following two mornings were excellent and our 4 course A La Carte meal included in the deal was lovely too.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short break, it's comfortable, friendly, good food , good value and well presented.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We just stayed one night in the hotel, found it very easy to get to, and it was all very enjoyable. The room was good everything there you could need. We ate in the hotel in the evening and also for breakfast, food was very good as were the staff. Couldn't find fault anywhere!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann888000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, comfortable beds and the added bonus of great leisure facilities including an indoor pool! The restaurant is also very good and you have all the facilities you need under one roof. Restaurant, bar, spacious and relaxing reception area, leisure facilities, friendly people! What more could we ask for?

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank salbal54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had our wedding in the white horse on the 26th June 2014, myself and my husband would like to thank them for an amazing day. Our day went without a hitch. Our guests are still talking about the amazing day and food they had. The staff were always at the end of the phone or email especially Emma. Also Heidi who was there on the day to keep things ticking over nicely,she was great. Us and our guest were made feel so welcome and treated with respect. We truly couldn't fault the service we received. We thank all the staff that made our day special. Thanks Ciara and David Holden x

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derrybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I can say that this is a very comfortable hotel to stay in. The reception staff are efficient and friendly. The hotel is very clean with good sized rooms. The bar and restaurant staff are very helpful and the food is of a very good standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had a really wonderful stay at the White Horse Hotel in Londonderry for our Wedding Anniversary. Thank you so much to Keith for our upgrade to the Donneybrewer Suite which made our stay extra special. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant "68 Clooney". Choices of food on the menu was really good and very good value. Had excellent advice with regard to our choice of wine which by the way we really enjoyed too. Thank you so very much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcanthop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your review. It is always good to get positive feedback and I will pass it on to all the staff. It was a pleasure to have you back to celebrate your anniversary and many more to come
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
4.6 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,992 reviews
4.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
5.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
537 reviews
2.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 12 in Derry
517 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Address: 68 Clooney Road, Derry BT47 3PA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Family Hotel in Derry
#8 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#8 Romantic Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining warmth and elegance with modern facilities, the White Horse Hotel is the ideal venue whether you travel for business or for pleasure. This 4 Star BEST WESTERN PLUS property is located on the main route from Derry-Londonderry to the famous Giants Causeway This ensures our guests are perfectly positioned to experience both the vibrancy of the historic Walled City and the stunning natural beauty of the North Coast. We are the most closely located hotel for the City of Derry Airport which is just 1km away.With just fifty-eight guest bedrooms we place an emphasis on personal service & a friendly attention to detail. Our hotel facilities include a Bar, Restaurant, Leisure center (with pool steam room,sauna and extensive gym) and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derry
Derry Best Western
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing