We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay and great food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stay and great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have stayed in the Whitehorse hotel on numerous occasions , we took my mum and dad to celebrate her 80th . Great hotel and great food .. Breakfast is highly recommended and the breakfast staff .. Takes us 2 1/2 hours to get there but it's worth the travel .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    109
    49
    19
    22
See reviews for
110
143
8
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed at the White Horse Hotel for 1 night as we were visiting Stroke City the day. Hotel is a little out of town for those who like to be near the buzz of the city at night - but it suited us. I did notice a bus stop across the road from the hotel so it may have a service to and from the city. The closed car showroom just outside the hotel does not help first impressions but don't let that put you off. The rooms were very serviceable - not huge but enough to be comfortable. We ate in the pub and the food was very good. The pub itself is very quiet and this is pretty much what the hotel is like - quiet and "local". Breakfast was fresh.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank TwoHappyTravellers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
120 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel is not centrally located , approx 5 miles from the city but has comfortable rooms. it looked not so well organised as we were a group that arrived at 4pm and all rooms were not still ready for check in. Then the hotel has no lift so if you have heavy luggage, request a room in the basement. The food was OK but nothing special except the homemade lemonade. Staff at the reception helpful as well as in the dining room but needed to be little more quick to serve us. Not bad in general but next time would rather prefer another hotel, at least more centrally located.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DANOS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

A fantastic all round experience.

We stayed in the newer part of the hotel and didn't know really what to expect on booking but we were pleasantly surprised!

The room was unbelievably spacious with all modern fittings that you would expect including an iron and trouser press and an iPod Dock.

The instant hot water from the moment the tap turned in the bathroom was also welcomed.

It really was the finer touches from the hotel that made it special, on the second day of our three night stay we returned to the room to find cookies had been left for us from the pastry chef.

Helpful desk staff at both the poolside and main reception made us feel very much at home. The pool itself was clean and equipped with baby pool, sauna, steam room and a jacuzzi section.

As for the restaurant, I would highly recommend you eat there as often as possible. Competitively priced good that is delicious and served with a smile.

The only fault we could point out was the lack of a lift but it didn't affect us in a huge way.

All thing considered we would stay here again no problem :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank awmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokhav Yair
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This may have been one of the best hotels on our 8 day tour in Ireland. Location, although not central, is relatively very good and permits easy exploration of the city. The personnel is friendly and polite, rooms are clean, the bathroom modern and well functioning, breakfast was more than satisfactory. Unfortunately, time did not allow us to enjoy the nice pool & gim.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yehuda70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for weekend food excellent and staff very helpful nothing was too much trouble pool was great grandchildren loved it we will be back definately worth a visit if you haven't been you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Having had to book this hotel quite suddenly (others were full) I was apprehensive as to what to expect. I was however totally impressed with my stay. From the pleasant greeting when arriving to the food in the restaurants (highly recommend Lamb 3 ways followed by the chocolate melt ) to the leisure staff (who dismantled the sauna to find my wifes' diamond necklace) this hotel is fantastic. I have already recommended it to friends and will be staying there again when in the area. Well done White Horse Hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
4.5 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
4.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
2.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
Address: 68 Clooney Road, Derry BT47 3PA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Family Hotel in Derry
#8 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#8 Romantic Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining warmth and elegance with modern facilities, the White Horse Hotel is the ideal venue whether you travel for business or for pleasure. This 4 Star BEST WESTERN PLUS property is located on the main route from Derry-Londonderry to the famous Giants Causeway This ensures our guests are perfectly positioned to experience both the vibrancy of the historic Walled City and the stunning natural beauty of the North Coast. We are the most closely located hotel for the City of Derry Airport which is just 1km away.With just fifty-eight guest bedrooms we place an emphasis on personal service & a friendly attention to detail. Our hotel facilities include a Bar, Restaurant, Leisure center (with pool steam room,sauna and extensive gym) and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derry
Derry Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing