We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Nightingale House

Nightingale House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nightingale House
Ranked #21 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This was a brief but comfortable stay. The room was very comfortable and the addition of a bath robe gave a home from home feel. The breakfast catered for all tastes and diets and there was plenty to eat. We will definitely be going back and will recommend to all family and friends visiting the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austinLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Nightingale House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

Rang Isobel at 10.50pm as daughter had been called for knee op that evening and it was no problem accomadating me. I was so impressed with this place, its better than a 5* hotel
The rooms are fantastic, The breakfast is amazin, fresh chopped fruit, yogarts, Fantastic cerial, cerial bars, whole fruit, full cooked breakfast to perfection.
First nt got twin room and I didnt know if I had to stay another nt, nothing was any trouble, found out at 4pm that I needed to stay another nt and she moved me into a fab double room.
Had the most fantastic sleep.Next morning she packed the most amazing breakfast for me to bring into hospital for my daughter,
Nightingale House was a super find, I will def go back, hopefully lesure the next time
If you are wondering wether to stay here or not, wonder no more, you wont find any better.
Isobel is a star, she goes way beyond the call of duty. You wont regret stayin here

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Nightingale House was a refreshing change from staying in bigger mainstream places. Isabel is so funny and was very warm the moment we walked through the door. I hadn't laughed so much since arriving in Ireland. The room was gorgeous with all her special touches. The breakfast was huge and didn't leave you hungry. Isabel even got up early for us to make breakfast. Ask Isabel about places to see in Derry if you haven't made plans as she's a wealth of knowledge about the history of the town. I'd recommend staying here and would again myself if we are ever back in Derry. Thanks Isabel for a great stay (:

Room Tip: Ask for the bedroom at the front of the house.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have been to stay in Derry on many occasions but this was our first time at Nightingale House. It wont be the last. This B&B is up there with the best Derry has to offer. From the spotlessly clean bathrooms to the feather duvets and pillows, this was home comfort without the work. Isobel is a great hostess and couldnt do enough for her guests. My husband forgot his glasses and she had them in the post and back to us the next day. Weel done Isobel and thanks for an unforgettable stay.

Room Tip: We had the big room at the front. Great view and very comfortable bed.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sportyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Our host was wonderful, and made sure everything was perfect for our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigsmartass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights at The Nightingale and we will definitely stay again on our next visit to Derry! The house was fantastic-such style! The bedroom was extremely comfortable and again redolent of Isobel's great taste in interior decor! As for Isobel, what a character! She made us feel so welcome, even supplying a bottle of wine while we chatted and laughed with her- we loved the parrot story!! Breakfast was great and the ambience of this guest house combined with Isobel's warmth and personality made our stay a memorable experience!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walshec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Our hostess met us with a large smile and the option of tea and a little something to eat, but we had just had dinner. We sat for a chat and just had the best time, played with her cute dog and just felt at home! Her home is decorated in just such taste, WOW! LA decorators would be jealous! We loved the fireplace that hangs on the wall, might have to go out and get one! Breakfast was delicious, porridge so creamy! With so many toppings to choose from. Her eggs to perfection. I would not hesitate telling anyone to go here! Thank you for a lovely time!

Room Tip: We had the room that said Dream over the bed and Elvis in the bathroom! I am sure they are all lovel...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
2.9 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
623 reviews
2.1 mi away
Number 8 Guesthouse
Number 8 Guesthouse
#1 of 44 in Derry
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#3 of 44 in Derry
68 reviews
3.6 mi away
Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nightingale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nightingale House

Address: 6 Larcom Drive, Derry BT48 8PP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: £51 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nightingale House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nightingale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nightingale House Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing