We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Isabelle!”
Review of Nightingale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nightingale House
Ranked #18 of 43 Derry B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I love Isabelle!”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I had a fabulous stay with a lovely lady in a lovely, cosy, comfortable room. If only I could have put Isabelle in a suitcase and brought her home! She is such a delight, as is her heart-filled home. Nothing is ever too much trouble for her. Perfect host in beautiful setting. Easy ride to downtown Derry. Isabelle, you're welcome in my Ottawa home anytime, although it's not as nice as yours.

Room Tip: I had the room in the front and really like it. Big, bright and lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed in the nightingale with my daughter it was a very pleasant stay spotless warm quiet and isobel couldn't do enough for you I would defiantly go back it had everything you needed thanks Isobel from jackie and Lauren

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Isobel is a wonderful host and has some great stories to tell, the rooms were wonderfully decorated and were very clean. The breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. Nightingale is in a wonderful location overlooking the city. Could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Take your pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here 10-12 August 2012!! What can we say over & above our expectations. Isobel gave us a warm welcome & made us feel very much at home in her beautiful modern B&B. Plenty of selection for breakfast to suit all. Room was comfy cosy and catered for all our needs. Not forgetting to mention Star. Thank you very much Isobel will definitely be recommending you to all our friends and family!! Hope to see you again very soon!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Just back from a wonderful week staying with Isobel at her B&B nothing to much for her she felt like a very good friend than a host. Her breakfast was outstanding nothing was too much trouble and the free entertainment from her beloved parrot was outstanding cant wait to go back and stay again keep up the good work Isobel your exquisite touches in your rooms are without doubt out of this world felt like being at home and once again you really made out stay a fantastic experience be back soon

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jclarkson62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Best B & B in Ireland. Three nights of bliss, thought I was at home it was so welcoming. Isobel Duffy runs a tight ship and was like an old friend minutes after we arrived. Everything was top quality, and the bird show ouside the dining room window every morning was an extra treat! We will be back, no question.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annahilt, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Isobel is without doubt the very best hostess I have ever met & the standard of our first impression was maintained through out our visit.
We're regular visitors to the area & we'll never have to worry about where to stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.6 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Number 8 Guesthouse
Number 8 Guesthouse
#1 of 43 in Derry
277 reviews
2.9 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Abbey Bed and Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Serendipity House
Serendipity House
#6 of 43 in Derry
288 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#4 of 43 in Derry
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nightingale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nightingale House

Property: Nightingale House
Address: 6 Larcom Drive, Derry BT48 8PP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Nightingale House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Nightingale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nightingale House Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing