We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food so disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of 68 Clooney

68 Clooney
Ranked #50 of 186 Restaurants in Derry
Cuisines: British, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 68 Clooney Restaurant” is the perfect location for lunch or dinner, business or pleasure. The philosophy behind the food on offer is simplicity; it is fresh local produce prepared with a modern twist. The Head Chef Noel Ward and his highly qualified team have developed an imaginative and exciting menu which uses only the finest local ingredients, ensuring that each dish is packed full of flavour and the dishes speak for themselves.The quality of the food offering has recently been recognized through the Northern Ireland Hotel Federation’s Hotel & Guest House Restaurant Awards, with ’68 Clooney’ being awarded the coveted first prize. The rationale behind Noel’s award winning menu is based on seasonality and aims to showcase the quality of our local produce and deliver on the ‘real local food’ experience. The award winning menu is now available to sample at “68 Clooney”.
Castlederg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“food so disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our meal was so disappointing with dry chicken and too much jue on the beef my plate was practically swimming. The starter was the best course with good old favourite soup on the menu. The trio of dessert was nothing special with a lemon sauce thing in a cup (I've no idea) a small biscuit base thing with what looked and tasted like angels delight on top. The third was a very dry chocolate cake which could easily have been a few days old. Overall presentation was what we paid for and it was far too expensive for such poor quality of food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank claire w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at 68 Clooney, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Claire,
Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for your experience. I have checked out your comments and no complaints were made to my staff on the night. I do wish you had of brought your issues to our attention so we would of had a chance to change your dish or explain the desserts to you. The 4 course menu for £18.95 gives a wide range of dishes at a competitive price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    9
    10
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus uK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal - top quality highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a perfect meal here on Saturday night. Attentive staff, excellent food. Mum said it was the best fish she has had anywhere in a long time. My steak would have melted in your mouth.

It's not the cheapest restaurant and it is refreshing to see not all Derry restaurants are jumping on the 20% off bandwagon like so many in the City have! 68 Clooney charge a fair price for the meal we got - yes it is not the cheapest restaurant but the quality was second to none.

Highly recommend this to anyone who wants excellent quality food in a relaxing setting. We WILL be back sooner rather than later!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank skinkaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

68 Clooney has become the jewel in the crown in relation to a hotel that has a brilliant restaurant in its own right. Six of us dined and six of us fully satisfied. My wife and I had the sirloin steak and it was the best steak I have had in a long time. Great food, excellent service even though they had two large parties to attend to as well. Finished off with a beautiful pint of Guinness by the fire. To be recommended.....

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseHotel, General Manager at 68 Clooney, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review and kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you all again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Great choice with a good menu choice. Portions are medium size but after a starter and a main course I felt full. I did notice that the price had gone up slightly and not menu offers, but very nice food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank wrightyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect end to a hectic morning of competition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Carvery lunch was well cooked and ample. Service was very good. Good selection of starters and desserts. Lovely piano music. Great atmosphere.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 68 Clooney also viewed

 

Been to 68 Clooney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing