We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merchant's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merchant's House
Ranked #16 of 47 Derry B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had the garden level family room which was large, bright, and very comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent. You can't beat the location for visiting the city center. Everyone was so kind to my kiddos and were very friendly.

Room Tip: The front garden family room was big. You can not get WiFi down here, but it is available upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgid7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    22
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
34
36
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville AL USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

great location, great breakfast and very nice people. Our room was on the first floor with a very small but functional bathroom. Breakfast was very nice. The owner gave us a map and directions to various locations in the city. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geodan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakville
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here only one night. The decor needs improving. I like shabby chic but this was more shabby than chic! The mattresses were a bit hard. They need better linens and pillows. Bathrooms need upgrading as well. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank likestoeat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
396 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 526 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Peter and Joan are superber hosts. They are clever and witty and offer a lovely stay in a convenient part of Derry. Contrary to what one famous travel writer suggests, not every room has a fireplace. Ours lacked the fireplace but offered a pleasant view of the garden, a far better option in the summer. Peter offered excellent recommendations on places to eat and sites to see. Our room was well-furnished, clean and had a very comfortable bed. The bathroom, though small, was efficient and provided plenty of hot water. The sitting room is comfortable and the breakfasts bountiful. To cap it off, Marie is a gem, providing perfect breakfasts and a lovely smile and greeting each morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Despite the fact that our fabulous hosts say they dont read Trip Advisor, Im writing a review anyway as this lovely hotel is a bit of a gem. Right in the city centre, its give you easy access to all the main restaurants, bars and sights. The rooms are small but very comfortable and clean. The main attraction for us ( a party of 4 women) was the amazing sitting room which guests have full use of during their stay. It was just like being at home - except in a very grand home from another era, perhaps when servants used to bring you GnT's before dinner. Small dining room with one big main dining table which meant we met lots of travellers from all over the world at breakfast.Home-made yoghurt with rhubarb was incredible. Dont hestiate - if you want something thats a million light years away from the bog standard multi-chain hotel, go for it.

Room Tip: We had rooms 2 + 3 which were at the back and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmccadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montevideo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

B&B is very nice old style house; Booked through phone and was greeting immediatedly by owner as I got there late on a sunday. Room is well furnished and confortable; Unfortunatedly the shower did not worked well, alternating in between burning hot to icy cold; Breakfast was great, shared in a very nice and big table with others from all over the world.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fvelaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The staff especially Marie-Therese were so nice and friendly. Marie-Therese was also very helpful in giving us directions. The room was really old fashioned but in a great way. The breakfast was lovely with the lovely home-made natural yoghurt being the highlight. Overall the b and b is in a great location, is very comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The family room was great. Downstairs and private but big enough for a family or four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amahzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
0.4 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#11 of 47 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant's House

Property: Merchant's House
Address: 16 Queen Street, Derry BT48 7EQ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Merchant`s House Hotel Derry
Merchant's House Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing