We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better”
Review of Laburnum Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laburnum Lodge
Ranked #26 of 46 Derry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is a B&B to beat all B&Bs! We and other family members have stayed there on a number of occasions and the high standard and outstanding welcome remain the same.
The house is comfortable, homely and immaculately clean. Breakfast is great, served to your specification!

Teresa and Donal make you feel very special. Why would you go anywhere else?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TERESA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

Everything about this B&B is just great - the rooms have everything you could want, they are perfectly clean, with ensuite bathrooms . The hosts (Donal and Teresa) make you welcome and they really mean it when they say make yourself at home - you can come and go any time of day or night and there is safe car parking in their quiet street. The breakfasts were wonderful with a wide choice including lots of fruit, great porridge, perfect scrambled eggs, fantastic Irish tea, delicious wheaten (soda) bread and interesting conversation. There are paths and green spaces nearby if you want to walk or run while you are there and it is not far from the centre of Derry (a couple of miles), but also near the Foyle Bridge so well placed for trips into to the towns and beaches of County Derry or in the other direction to beautiful rural Donegal.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed good. Ask the hosts - they will tell you straight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABATBFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

After our recent trip to Ireland, my husband and I voted Donal and Theresa Mackay the "Best B & B Hosts in Ireland." They are warm, friendly, funny, and full of helpful information. Laburnum Lodge is their home, not far from the center of Derry, but it does work best if you have a car to get to and from town. It is quiet, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, and the hosts always came in to chat with the guests after serving us. We adored them!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeacherWendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night and it was perfect. The rooms are lovely and clean. The two people that run the B&B are soooo helpful and really lovely. Brefast in the morning was lovely and we met other people from Australia and Switserland and so breakfast was full of interesting converstion. I will stay here again. It is pretty close to the city centre, a 5 min drive and we were in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCR304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The owners were the type of people you wish were neighbors. Great location to see Northern Ireland. Great background on the history and promise of Northern Ireland, that fascinated 3 generations of guests. Best porridge ever - don't miss it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We found Laburnum Lodge quite easily by following signs to the Foyle Bridge which is quite close. We were welcomed by Teresa and Donal with a lovely pot of tea, and shown the guest sitting-room/breakfast roomc. In here were facilities to make hot drinks at any time. Our room had a double and single bed, and a fairly spacious en-suite. It was clean and comfortable, but without tea and coffee making facilities, so what I did miss was an early morning cup of tea. I felt uncomfortable about venturing downstairs for one in my pyjamas! Breakfast was very nice. The City centre of Derry is, we estimate, about two and a half miles away, but an easy drive for a stranger to the City. Teresa very helpfully provided us with a map and instructions about how to get there, and the easiest place to park. It was also straight forward to go to the Giant's Causeway- by going over the nearby Foyle Bridge, and onwards.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atraveller613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here on a work trip and it was recommended to us by our Client. We felt very welcome and the owners are very friendly, making it a very homely experience. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the breakfast was lovely. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.3 mi away
Abbey Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#2 of 46 in Derry
91 reviews
2.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
2.4 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
773 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laburnum Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laburnum Lodge

Address: 9 Rockfield | Madam's Bank Road, Derry BT48 8AU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laburnum Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 300m from the Foyle Bridge and only 5 min drive from City Centre. A large guest lounge with open turf fire and access to outdoor decking area. Tea/coffee making facilities and free PC internet access. All rooms also have free wireless internet access. Private on site parking. Ideal base for touring Donegal/Causeway Coast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laburnum Lodge Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing