We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arkle House B and B
Ranked #11 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Sally and Terry Cassidys Arkle house in Derry. Well hidden away in its own little grounds and you`ll find that if you choose to stay here then you`ll get a true taste of what good old fashioned Bed and Breakfast hospitality is all about. Its simply a case of "our house is your house" here and we were immediately part of the family.
The whole house is spotless and decked out in the traditional style that only years in the business can bring to a hotel....its simply home from home.
A taxi into town is £3.50 and will arrive within minutes so no problems there.
Terry also runs a pub called "Glen bar" in the city and he boasts "The best pint of Guinness in Northern Ireland" .....we had to agree once we had sampled the goods....he also worked for Guinness for 20 years so it`s no idle boast.
Full Irish Breakfast is included and it definitely hit the pleasure spot.....Top marks Sally.
So first time at Arkle and definitely not the last. Thanks very much to the Cassidys.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cumbriafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at Arkle house before , we had no hesitation in choosing it again recently, when we unfortunately had to travel to Derry for a funeral!
Sally & Terry went out of their way as usual to ensure that our stay was as comfortable & hassle
free as possible! Even preparing a packed lunch on our departure day which was very acceptable! Many thanks Sally!
Rooms very comfortable & their Full Irish breakfasts have to be the best we've ever tasted!
I grew up in Derry & left over fifty years ago! My memories are of a dull, grey,damp & very depressing city with no future!!
Returning to the same place couldn't be more different!
What a transformation! It is now one of the most vibrant cultural
cities where the inhabitants are very optimistic for the future!
It's like someone has at last switched on a very bright light!
We shall endeavour to return as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I arrived for a one night stay on business but really too early - this was no problem for the Cassidys who own and run Arkle House! Sally Cassidy even made me a sandwich lunch which saved me having to find a restaurant - although this is not something they normally do. The house is a Victorian gentleman's residence which is only a short taxi ride ( £3.50) from the centre of Derry but feels as if it is in the heart of the country. The house has been lovingly preserved and appropriately furnished to a high standard with an en-suite in each lovely bedroom. The beautiful tree-fringed grounds are well-kept and have secure parking. The full Irish breakfast was comparable with the best hotels and it was noticeable how relaxed other visitors were at breakfast - the family atmosphere made for informality. The Cassidys could not do enough for me! I have seldom slept as peacefully as in this house which is so welcoming and efficiently managed. I have already told my friends about it and wish the Cassidys continued success in running Arkle House !

Room Tip: From what I saw any room is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here whilst doing some business in derry. Such a lovely place, its a true hidden gem. We arrived a bit early but this was no issue and we where made to feel at home straight away. The room was modern and clean, the breakfast was amazing with everything from cereals through to fruit as well as a lovely full irish breakfast. The B&B is a little way out of town but its a 30 minute walk or a £3-4 taxi ride in, theres also a good pub across the road which does good food for a decent price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooksy119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We had long weekend in Derry in May, but due to the Radio One Big Weekend all the hotels were full. We were pleased that they were! Sally, owner of the Arkle B&B, allowed us to check in at 8.30am and immediately ushered into the dining room for a full irish breakfast. Sally's breakfast are excellent with fresh fruit,cereals, as well as any combination of cooked breakfast you would like...all cooked to order.

The room was clean and spacious, with new towels provided every day. A guest kitchen has tea and coffee and facilities to cook if you need them. Wi-Fi throughout.

It's a little out of town, but everyone in Derry uses cabs and its only £3.50 into the centre of town.

Well done Sally.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trebor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Absolutely fabulous experience, although we had a minor booking issue before we got there this was dealt with efficiently and effectively. Owners were so helpful and friendly. The rooms were big and airy with lovely decor with everything you need and an ensuite. The whole house and grounds are very well kept and impressive. Location is also excellent, central to the city but just a few minutes from centre so is accessible but quite in evening. Breakfast was delightful, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuffyduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Loved this house! Had two rooms which included a full kitchen upstairs! Great value. Owners were even nicer, my family had a great time talking wood-working. The breakfast was very nice. Dinner recommendations were much appreciated also.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttergirlUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.7 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
2.7 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.4 mi away
Groarty House & Manor B&B
1.7 mi away
Abbey Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkle House B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkle House B and B

Address: 2 Coshquin Road, Derry BT48 0ND, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: £46 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arkle House B and B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arkle House described in the original brochure as a "Gentleman's residence", was built around 1900. The property has been recently refurbished, with great care taken to maintain the original charm and ambiance of this lovely old building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Arkle House B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkle House B And B Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing